13 Reviews

For anyone interested in doing research on this recipe (I always do - too many bad recipes found online), the correct spelling of this dish is, "Yangnyum Dak", the correct spelling of the Korean red pepper paste is, "gochujang". Gochujang is a pretty enterprising adventure in cooking and is much easier bought in the markets as suggested because it is a fermented product. Hope this helps any of you researching your recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathrynmarshall December 14, 2015

Just delicious! I cut back on the sugar and I'm glad I did. It was on the border of being too sweet for my taste. DH really liked it and wants to try this marinade with beef next time. I think this would be wonderful over pasta too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley52 February 26, 2015

This is really delicious! However, I don't know about the rest of you, but mine looked absolutely nothing like the picture. It turned out a lot more brown-colored. And it really wasn't spicy at all..I think next time I'll replace the ketchup with more gochujang. Either way, it was a big hit at a potluck I went to, and I'll most likely make it again with a few alterations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saejinkwak April 06, 2012

Forgot to mark it 5 stars.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edwards1991 January 25, 2011

Oh, my gosh! This chicken is soooo good! I was able to let the chicken marinate for about 5 hours before cooking. It was a little sweet, tangy and spicy, too. It was super easy to make, too. I garnished with some chopped cilantro. Thanx for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* May 16, 2010

Delicious!! Better than the restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave of Tucson October 11, 2008

Fantastic dish! My picky 7 year-old went back for thirds! At first I thought chili paste or chili garlic paste would be a good sub for kochujang but they're totally different. I found kochujang at the Asian market in a little red tub, Wang brand, that says hot pepper paste, fermented. If it says "kochujang" on the box, then it's in Korean! Made as directed, marinated for a couple of hours, and threw the chicken and all marinade in a hot skillet. Let cook until chicken was done and liquid was evaporated. Chicken was very tender and absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe! Can't wait to try your pork recipe next!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama April 29, 2008

As written this was too sweet for me but I give it five stars because its delectable otherwise and its easy to take out sugar. Great job.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Transylmania January 11, 2008

Not exactly Teriyaki-tasting, but tasty nonetheless. Preparation was a breeze. We will be making this often. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids April 10, 2007
Korean Chicken Teriyaki-Yangnyom Tak