10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

"Fiery Cabbage" .... sadly, it was not. We added extra crushed red pepper to the meat marinade and a generous amount to the cabbage and found the cabbage to still be overwhelmingly bland. The marinade was quite tasty, though, and we'll most likely be using that part of the recipe again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 December 22, 2012

I had all the ingredients on hand except the cabbage. I sent hubby to the store. Our local store didn't have it, so he went to the gourmet market. Nine dollars later, I had the cabbage!! I thought "this better be some darn good cabbage". Well, it is!!! We both loved it. I will certainly make it again, but next time I won't be sending DH to the store. Thanks for something different and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 February 14, 2012

I really liked this but I never tire of cabbage. It wasn't that fiery so I think I will spice it up a bit next time. Maybe use your suggestion of serrano peppers. Made for PAC spring 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love April 25, 2010

Loved the Cabbage! Will forsure cook this part again - great flavor and the flank steak turned out wonderful,too. I used Mrs. Dash Steak Grilling Spice and my cast iron grill on top of the stove to cook it and it turned out just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesliecoy April 09, 2010

I am a little torn about this recipe. Despite "boiling" the meat turned out tender, even after only one hour of marinating. It was definitely easy. However, it was extremely salty. I also thought there was not enough cabbage (I didn't weigh my cabbage, though, just eyeballed the amount I had left from another day.) Perhaps, though, this is because I chose not to serve rice. The cabbage was not "fiery" at all, but the meat was a bit spicy. The reason I am torn, though, is that both of my picky kids liked it and the 3 of us ate all 4 servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 11, 2009

This would have been a 5 easily if the preparation on the beef had been different. Because the marinade and beef went into the pan at the same time, the meat actually steam/boiled instead of sauteed. This caused the meat to be quite tough and chewy. I think it would have been better to saute the meat first in a little oil and add the marinade to the cabbage mixture. Otherwise the taste was excellent. This was also an easy dish to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee March 18, 2009

There aren't enough stars in the world to rate this recipe!!!!! Thank you for posting this!!! I didn't get the "fiery" part, but that was OK by me. I did cut back the red pepper flakes, but next time, I will do the full amount. I marinated the meat for 4 hours. I didn't have rice vinegar, or chicken broth, so I subbed white wine and it was perfect. I sometimes prefer white wine to broth anyway, it gives it a little richer taste. I am already thinking of the leftovers sitting in the fridge. HHMMMMM, I wonder if they will make it through the night. So, KPD, it goes without saying that I truly loved this recipe!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin January 13, 2009

AWESOME!!!!! So, so good. I wish I could give you more stars. My husband and I LOVE this recipe!!!! So tasty!!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisemichele December 11, 2008

Outstanding, easy meal. My husband and I both loved this and will make it often-thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjcush January 23, 2007

Wow! I can not believe how tasty this is! The steak was unbelievable! I didn't cube it though, I just broiled it and served the rice and cabbage as a side dish (I used a half head of regular green cabbage). This is definitely my new favorite way to do steak. Thanks for another awesome recipe kpd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle January 17, 2007
Korean Beef on Fiery Cabbage