21 Reviews

I would've given this 5 stars if there was a "complete" recipe. I had to assume all of the ingredients would be added all at once in the ziploc bag. I don't cook daily so I also had to figure out that mirin rice wine is known as "sweet cooking rice seasoning". I was a little worried about how it would turn out, but thank you to everyone else that posted their reviews. The reviews convinced me to go out on a limb. It turned out GREAT!! I deviated some from the recipe. I tripled the recipe because I wanted extra sauce to pour over the rice. I used light soy sauce and chopped instead of minced ginger (had a hard time finding minced). I marinated the meat for at least 8 hours and poured the marinade in a separate pot until I finished cooking the meat, then poured it over the meat and let it boil a little. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisha66 June 26, 2011

that is good for testing...5* fot that and thank you guy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefpham November 15, 2012

My husband really loved this. I made it in a pan, so it didn't get pretty like the picture. I might grill it next time. Every bite was eaten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 December 28, 2009

Wonderful and quick recipe. I made this for Little Miss (DD) and Hubby. I didn't eat the beef (as I don't eat red meat) so I can't comment on the flavour, but my family loved it. Used the exact ingredients except didn't make the steam rice, but couldn't follow the instructions as it didn't mention what do to with Soy Sauce, Mirin, Ginger and sesame oil, so I combined them all into step two and marinated the beef with all the ingredient. This recipe took me less then five minutes to prepare. So it's one of those dinners that you could prepare, do your thing and come back in an hour and cook it up within minutes. The beef cooked less then two minutes each side. Served with a green salad. Thank so much for a wonderful recipe Casie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer November 17, 2009

This just didnt really do it for me for 2 reasons. #1 The beef doesn't sear bc it's still wet. #2 There is no sauce, you discard it. I made the mistake of not reading the recipe until I was standing over the ingredients getting ready to throw it together so it was too late to back out. I did end up making a sauce out of the marinade but the meat got overcooked while I was beating it into something my hubby would like. I made stir-fry veggies on the side which I tossed with it. We ate it, but I won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grimm's Restaurant Tales March 11, 2009

This was excellent! Easy to follow. I love beef still rare so I didn't cook my strips 8 minutes. It had an excellent flavor and accompanied w/ rice was perfect. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shandobando October 31, 2008

Easy and delicious. Even the picky 3 year old helped herself to thirds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lille September 10, 2008

This recipe was really good. I hate to leave a rambling review but I made what I think are MINOR changes...first off, I doubled the recipe because I had over a pound of beef. I used rapadura in place of the brown sugar and I did not have mirin so I actually used just 1 tablespoon of rice vinegar instead of doubling. This marinade was delicious. I then sauteed some vegetables, cooked up some noodles, heated up the leftover marinade and tossed it all together to made a delicious vegetable "lo mein" to go along side the beef. Thank you Casie for posting a delicious recipe...I now have another go to meal for a busy weeknight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoJoStar July 21, 2008

I tried this recipe last night...i was searching for a steak recipe...(my husband LOVES steak). The marinade was very easy (I used fresh ginger-all that I had, and a few dashes of powdered ginger). ANYWAY, it was great! Very flavorful and my husband said "i think this is my new favorite meal!" That is ALWAYS a good sign! thanks for sharing! I WILL do this again-may try the marinade on other meats! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacci.chambers June 26, 2008

This is QUITE a remarkable recipe and easy enough to make. I've made it several times now and my mom has requested that I make it for mother's day :) Excellent addition to a recipe book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panda Chef May 03, 2008
Korean Beef BBQ