45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this recipe for years when I taught pre-school, with one addition--add 4 teaspoons cream of tartar with the other dry ingredients. Excellent texture--better than store-bought and the kids love the smell from the kool-aid.

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 27, 2002

It was a yucky, cold, rainy day today and my three year old was driving me crazy. I pulled out this recipe and made it with her. This is so easy and my daughter had much more fun playing with this. Not to mention this smells sooo much better. My daughter already wants to make another batch. I need to keep this recope handy, it's a life saver. Thanks

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnreq October 18, 2002

What a lifesaver! My kids love to play with playdough but I can't stand the smell. This was fun to make and even made the house smell good. Thanks so much!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W November 12, 2002

This is a great recipe! I whipped this up in my Kitchen Aid mixer in no time flat. It wasn't until it cooled down that it had the consistency of the play-do we grew up with. This is alot more fun than using food coloring. Thanks so much...

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura in Texas March 17, 2003

Absolutely fabulous! My two boys love playing with it. (They are 3 and 1 1/2). Easy to make and inexpensive. Much better texture and odour than that store-bought stuff.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae February 17, 2003

This recipe was perfect! I made 6 different colors in half batches because I was afraid a full batch would be too much of one color. The only color that didn't work was the blue. I could not find blue or green drink mix so I thought trying it out with food coloring would work...it didn't(came out as one really sticky, icky mess). BUT I did add yellow food coloring to the lemonade batch because it looked blah and it came out great. Clean-up from making it was super-easy as it just washes right off! The smell is heavenly, too! Another plus...it cost me around $5 for all the ingredients! My daughter likes to make things from playdough and let them dry to keep, so getting her more to play with will be so much cheaper now! My hands still smell of the grape batch...best recipe I've ever made!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda P. August 28, 2009

This provided hours of fun my kids and they loved the smell. Will definitely keep this recipe on hand for those rainy days!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydney2462 August 19, 2003

Had my nieces with me this weekend and thought I would have them make this for fun. It turned out great. I am glad I was able to use up my kool-aid because my children won't drink it. LOL I did add the cream of tarter as suggested by one reviewer.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M July 20, 2003

This is "FUN"!! I love the colour(made this using Black Cherry Kool-aid) and texture of this once it cools down. Smells good, too! The kids I gave it to had a ball! Thank you for the recipe:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 18, 2003

I absolutely love this recipe. It's easy and the clean up is easy as well. It seems that every flavor we used turned out a slightly sticky dough except for the blue lemonade that the kids wouldn't drink. I haven't decided if it was because the blue lemonade was name brand or if it was the only lemonade kind we used.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadedmirage April 23, 2011
Kool-Aid Play Dough