Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kool-Aid Play Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kool-Aid Play Dough

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2002

      I used this recipe for years when I taught pre-school, with one addition--add 4 teaspoons cream of tartar with the other dry ingredients. Excellent texture--better than store-bought and the kids love the smell from the kool-aid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2002

      It was a yucky, cold, rainy day today and my three year old was driving me crazy. I pulled out this recipe and made it with her. This is so easy and my daughter had much more fun playing with this. Not to mention this smells sooo much better. My daughter already wants to make another batch. I need to keep this recope handy, it's a life saver. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2002

      What a lifesaver! My kids love to play with playdough but I can't stand the smell. This was fun to make and even made the house smell good. Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      This is a great recipe! I whipped this up in my Kitchen Aid mixer in no time flat. It wasn't until it cooled down that it had the consistency of the play-do we grew up with. This is alot more fun than using food coloring. Thanks so much...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      Absolutely fabulous! My two boys love playing with it. (They are 3 and 1 1/2). Easy to make and inexpensive. Much better texture and odour than that store-bought stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This recipe was perfect! I made 6 different colors in half batches because I was afraid a full batch would be too much of one color. The only color that didn't work was the blue. I could not find blue or green drink mix so I thought trying it out with food coloring would work...it didn't(came out as one really sticky, icky mess). BUT I did add yellow food coloring to the lemonade batch because it looked blah and it came out great. Clean-up from making it was super-easy as it just washes right off! The smell is heavenly, too! Another plus...it cost me around $5 for all the ingredients! My daughter likes to make things from playdough and let them dry to keep, so getting her more to play with will be so much cheaper now! My hands still smell of the grape batch...best recipe I've ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      This provided hours of fun my kids and they loved the smell. Will definitely keep this recipe on hand for those rainy days!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      Had my nieces with me this weekend and thought I would have them make this for fun. It turned out great. I am glad I was able to use up my kool-aid because my children won't drink it. LOL I did add the cream of tarter as suggested by one reviewer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      This is "FUN"!! I love the colour(made this using Black Cherry Kool-aid) and texture of this once it cools down. Smells good, too! The kids I gave it to had a ball! Thank you for the recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I absolutely love this recipe. It's easy and the clean up is easy as well. It seems that every flavor we used turned out a slightly sticky dough except for the blue lemonade that the kids wouldn't drink. I haven't decided if it was because the blue lemonade was name brand or if it was the only lemonade kind we used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      this was a great help =) one rainy day had to find something for my 4 daughters to be occupied with =)=)=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      this recipe was great, all the other ones called for cream of tarter which i didnt have and i didnt have vinegar so i tried this one. came out great little sticky so at the end when i couldnt use the spoon any more i put a little more salt on top and a little more flour and that did the job! ! no problems! right in the plastic ziploc it went! cant wait to see the expression on my sons face!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This was so easy to make and the kid loves it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Wow- I needed something for my toddler to do, so I looked up this recipe and he has now been occupied for 30 minutes straight! I only had one packet of kool-aid on hand (berry blue to be exact), but it was just fine! Just turned a light blue color and smelled lightly fruity. Thanks so much for such a quick recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Great easy recipe. We had everything in the pantry except Kool-Aid. So much fun, great Mathmatical Concepts lesson!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Thanks for a great recipe. I had this made in five minutes. So simple...the kids will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Awesome playdough! Great texture, pleasent smell, lots of fun. Incredibly simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly, adding 4 tsp of cream of tartar as suggested by another review. It was a cinch and only took about 10 minutes. I did use bleached flour, and I also tripled the recipe. I heated the water to a whistling boil in my tea kettle and that worked perfectly. All the water got soaked up and it kneaded all the lumps out. Such fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Great fun! I've made this several times with my son. He loves watching the colors pop when you add the water. A few hints: Use BLEACHED white flour for the best colors. Make sure your water is really boiling or it won't "cook" right and it won't absorb the water correctly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I decided to make this in my KA and since I read one review that said the dough was too sticky, I have had this problem in the past so I slowly added the hot water and found that it only needed one cup... It did turn out great, my kids are enjoying it right now, just wondering if the recipe has a typo... Update...got really gooey after it sat for a week or so, it was good when I needed it, but wasn't good to keep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kool-Aid Play Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (981 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1498.1
     
    Calories from Fat 394
    26%
    Total Fat 43.8 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56607.1 mg
    2358%
    Total Carbohydrate 238.4 g
    79%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 32.2 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites