10 Reviews

This was a very yummy dish. So full of flavor. The meatballs were so tender and melt in your mouth I couldn't believe it. The only thing I did different was cut the meatball part in half. We were only 2 of us, so I still had plenty leftovers. I made 17 balls from the mixture. I would of preferred the sauce just a bit thicker but that was my error. I had kept the broth part full recipe and since the meatballs was half recipe it didn't give as much flour off in the broth to of thickened. (it is what I figure anyways)I should of put just a bit of flour slurry in to thicken just a bit. But the flavor was so good. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe BecR

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny May 31, 2010

Hi, I cooked this recipe for friends when we had a European day recently, I made the meatballs and broth the previous day, so quick to poach meatballs the next day, kept them warm in the slow cooker - they were such a hit.....(my husband said they were as good as when his Prussian mother cooked them)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glenysadams August 27, 2012

I made some revisions to the recipe for a couple of reasons. I cut the recipe in thirds, and used ground turkey instead of the blend. To make up for the often dry texture of turkey I added a Tbsp of olive oil and they came out delicious. I also didnt have any sour cream for the sauce so I made it with a 1/2 C of half & half instead. The meal was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sumo chef December 16, 2009

This recipe brought back so many memories when I read it, I had to prepare it the next day. It is excellent and when we sat to dinner that evening, it was like sitting in the little gasthaus next to the butcher shop in the town in Germany where I lived for many years. I will be making this again often. Thanks for the memories and the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
botanica11 January 05, 2007

10Stars!! This is outstanding! I made it for one of my cooking classesd.
This was just the way my mother prepared them. I could not use ground veal since the price is obscene,but used turkey instead. Allm I can say is, that they wanted to lick their plates. Thanks! Koechin

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) May 24, 2012

Made as written minus the veal and all I can say is ~WOW~! The meatballs were so full of flavor, moist and tender and the sauce was simply decadent! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe, it will go into my "Best Of 2012 Cookbook! I served this with Schlabberkappes (Cabbage With Gravy). Made for More Than Sauerkraut & Dumplings in the German Forum."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 April 02, 2012

These were great! I, too, did not have acce$$ to veal, so used half lean ground sirloin (beef) and half ground turkey. Plus, I made a half batch and ran into the same problem as one of the other reviewers. Easy to fix next time... and there will be a next time. This is more work-intensive than my mom's version, but I liked the added lemon zest...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky March 28, 2012

This is great. I followed the recipe to a T.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delenn February 17, 2012

Very tasty, but I'm not sure its tasty enough to warrant the work. DH complained about the overly-soft texture of the meatballs that had been simmered rather than browned. I had to add extra water to the broth as I cooked somewhere between 7 and 9 batches of meatballs (I lost count). Still, the flavor is very rich and intricate and, despite the heartiness of the sour-cream gravy, the capers and lemon kept it from seeming overly-heavy. I'm not sure I'd make it again, but I might use the same seasonings in a meat loaf. Note: Not having ground veal or ground pork available, I used 2lbs of ground chuck and 1 lb of ground turkey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs December 09, 2007

I am not giving this recipe a star rating since I couldn't find two of the ingredients and without them I think the meatballs didn't taste the way they should have. This would have been the first time I have cooked with veal. I didn't realize it was such a hard thing to find. The grocery stores ( And I went to everyone in my area) told me they stopped selling veal because there wasn't enough demand for it. They told me they could order it but I would have to order more than I needed. Couldn't find anchovy paste either just anchovy pesto. I will try this again when I find all the ingredients. Thanks BecR. Bullwinkle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle November 07, 2006
Konigsberger Klopse (German Meatballs in Creamy Caper Sauce)