Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kona Inn Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kona Inn Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2010

      This is almost exactly like the one I use (my grandma's) - except I put in 3 T. sour cream or sour milk right before adding the bananas. (Make sure those bananas are super ripe too!) Makes it even better!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      I've tried many recipes for banana bread and I never really found one that had all the elements I was looking for; until now. I made the Kona Inn recipe today and feel it's the best recipe I've found. It's moist, flavorful, and my kitchen smells wonderful while the bread is baking. The only change I made was to use marjarine instead of shortening, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar which I cut back to a total of 1 cup, and I added 1 tsp. cinammon for a little more flavor. Try it...you won't be sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      I have used this kona inn recipe for 25 years and love it more all the time...I have changed it up for my own liking as follows: add 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa to the butter and sugar mix, add 1/2 c. finely chopped walnuts and either 1/2 c choc chips or 1/2 small marshmellows. This recipe is GREAT as is, but a really good one for trying what you love! I have also added blueberries at the end for something different. My fav is the cocoa/nut/choc chips AND marshmellows!!! One last thing...I bake it in several smaller loaf pans or even muffin pans to retain moisture while inside gets done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Delicious! Nothing better than banana bread with a cup of coffee and it makes your house smell wonderful while it's baking. The only change I made was to sub applesauce for some of the sugar. Will definitely make this quick bread again! Made for the Sweet December tag, December, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      This is the best recipe ever. i love to make them . Easy and delicious thank you KZHANSEN. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Yummy bread. I'm not much of a baker so this was easy enough for me. lol. Loved everything about it and it sure didn't last very long. Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2012 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I followed it exactly except added a 1/2 tsp vanilla. I do believe I've found the banana bread recipe from now on. It was so easy to put together and I had to cook mine about 55 minutes. YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      This was yummy - I only had 1 1/2 bananas so made a half recipe and baked in muffin tins for 30 minutes - made 10 banana muffins

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I've made this recipe for years. This is my fav. banana bread recipe. I've tried lots of others but I always come back to this one. My mom brought the same recipe home with her from a trip to hawaii when I was a little girl... and we've been enjoying it ever since. Most of the time I fix it in my bread machine, just dump in the wet ingredients first, then the dry, set it to quick bread and let it do the work for you. I sometimes replace 1/2 the butter with applesauce and usually use at least 1/4-1/3 of a cup less sugar than called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      This is good but it's more work to make and more expensive (using butter vs oil) than other banana bread recipes I have tried that are just as good. It has a slighter sweeter, less oily aftertaste than your average banana bread using oil. It also has a darker crust and is less crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      EXTREMELY moist! It needed about 55-60 minutes to cook all the way through and as suggested, I covered the top with foil during the last 10-15 minutes to keep it from browning too much. It's a little more sweet than I prefer and my bananas were really ripe so I may cut the sugar to 1/2 next time and see how it turns out. I also replaced 1/2 cup of AP flour with Spelt flour which has a nice nutty flavor. The batter was so wet it seemed like it needed more flour, but I resisted the urge to add more and it turned out perfect! Great banana flavor & great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is such a great banana bread recipe. It was very moist and delicous. I agree with another reviewer that I would cover the bread with foil towards the end...the top was gettting dark before the middle was completely done. Overall a super recipe that I'm sure I'll be making again :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Excellent Banana Bread. I decided to give a 5 for taste but mine was completely done on the outside but once I cooled it was not done in the middle. But, that was my fault as I should have tested it even though it looked completely baked. Next time I will cover with foil after 45 minutes but continue to bake another 10. The only thing I did different than the recipe was grease my loaf pan. Very good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Without a doubt, THE best banana bread I have ever made and eaten. I'll never use another recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Very good. I had some ripe bananas to use up so decided to try this recipe. This was so good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Next time I would grease my loaf pan as I did have problems getting mine out of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is my grandmother's banana bread recipe, simple and good. No vanilla, no chiocolate chips, no nothing. Great consistancy. I was going to put my granmother's recipe here, and I found it instead. No need to look further to any other banana bread recipe than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Your right kzbhansen! The best banana bread ever! Going to try it with walnuts next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Wonderful banana bread, one of the best we've had! Almost crunchy on the out side and beautifully moist on the inside with a pure banana taste, thanks for sharing a keeper!! � Oct 19, 2005 Just had to update this, the best banana bread ever, made 2 of these again today to stash away in the freezer for over the holidays. Freezes great!! December 2/07 I make this so often I thought I should update this review , it is our favourite banana loaf!! This time I split it into two small loaves for the freezer as part of my Christmas stash. thanks again. June 19/08 back again to update, our favourite banana loaf - take down to our batchlor son. april 27/09, doubled the recipe and made two, worked perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I've been making this for years, and it is definitely the best banana bread I've ever eaten. I always make 2 loaves, one with nuts and one without, or throw a handful of chocolate chips in one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This is a fine recipe. To give it just a bit more character, I use 1/2 C white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar, packed (light or dark is your choice). Also, I double the recipe (except using only 5 bananas) and bake in a Bundt pan. (I bake in a commercial convection oven at 325F for about 25 minutes.) Can also add 1/2 to 1 C chopped walnuts, macadamias, or almonds per recipe. Suggestion: (1) Cream the sugar and butter in a food processor until the sugar is thoroughly dissolved into the butter. (2) Use a potato ricer/masher to coarsely mask the bananas -- you'll like the result. (3) When folding wet ingredients into dry, mix gently and only enough to incorporate all -- overmixing will break the protein bonds in the batter and your bread will be dense and not rise fully. MAX HERR D'Oily Boid Catering

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kona Inn Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (932 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2614.6
     
    Calories from Fat 938
    35%
    Total Fat 104.2 g
    160%
    Saturated Fat 62.0 g
    310%
    Cholesterol 616.0 mg
    205%
    Sodium 3382.3 mg
    140%
    Total Carbohydrate 400.8 g
    133%
    Dietary Fiber 13.4 g
    53%
    Sugars 243.7 g
    975%
    Protein 33.5 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites