Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kolachki, Kolacky, Kolachy, Kolace, Kolachi, Kolache, Kolachke, Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kolachki, Kolacky, Kolachy, Kolace, Kolachi, Kolache, Kolachke,

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2008

      This is a keeper. Much easier to work with then some other kolachy doughs I've tried. Very flakey and light. I made the apricot filling and love it! I also tried the cream cheese filling completely out of curiousity (only planned on making a couple to try, ended up sending my friend to the store for more cream cheese at 1am lol) We call the cream cheese filled ones "smiles" because they puff up and show the white filling but it doesn't run out at all! Delicious. I also made poppyseed but used store bought filling...which ran everywhere...next time I'll try your recipe. I couldn't get the hang of making these from squares so I cut circles and folded over. Half recipe gave me about 5 1/2 dozen. I'll dfinately be useing this again, and trying the rest of your fillings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      These are fantastic. I have used this recipe for a few years, but lost it, so was very happy to see it posted. Thanks! I like adding pineapple and golden raisins to the walnut mixture. It adds a wonderful bit of sweetness and texture to them. If you don't want to roll into small pieces, it also works making one large roll, though you may need more filling that way. That's how I usually make it. I just don't have the patience to roll them into small pieces. I have to admit, I didn't think to do it as listed here. I'll have to try it. Either way, these are wonderful. A long holiday tradition in my family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I am new to making Kolacky. I eat them often but first time making them. As a newbie, I did not realize the dough would be so sticky when making it. Before refrigation, the dough is sticker than a chocolate chip dough. I thought there is no way I can roll this out and added another 1/2c to 3/4c flour and it was still sticky. In the morning when I went to roll out the dough, duh! the butter and cream cheese hardened and it was very hard. I left it out for about 5 minutes just to make it a little more pliable. Once you start with the dough, you really have to work fast. Once it starts to soften again it gets very sticky and tacky again. btw I did use powdered sugar on the surface to help with sticking. Since I had already added extra flour I was afraid I would lose intergety with it. I used the bohemian brand apriot and raspberry filling and dusted with powdered sugar. These were great despite my errors. I did need to cook for the full 20 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      I've been searching for this recipe FOREVER! Thx for posting! They are JUST like the bakery from where I grew up and they won't give up the recipe. My sister mailed me some and they are identical!!Now she doesn't have to send them anymore. These weren't as hard as I thought. I'm not great at rolling things out either. I made the nut (my fave) and will make nut & cream cheese this weekend. I flipped mine too..if you do not they may get too brown on the bottom. Follow the time saving tip mentioned!! And to make it easier..use a pizza cutter..you'll get a cleaner cut when cutting into the smaller pieces. Store in a cookie tin and they will be nice & moist. My husband took them to work and they went fast. Some even knew what they were. You're really missing out if you do not try this recipe. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      I make basically the same recipe,and this is a Family favorite for many generations.You will want to make this for the holidays! The walnut,and apricot,and raspberry are the best flavor fillings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      I agree absolutely you can not eat just one! This wonderful Kolacky recipe is an old favorite the only difference I do now, is I went from making the pillows to making stars for Christmas to make it more festive. However, I use the same fillings or if I am in a hurry, I use Baker brand filling, prune, apricot, raspberry and cherry. The nut I still have to make. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      These are wonderful! This is the recipe I use all the time for Kolacky, but I never tried this method of filling. This way is much easier than cutting out squares or circles, dabbing filling on and pinching closed. I made these with jarred Baker brand nut filling. Cherry, poppy and raspberry are also excellent. I only left my kolacky in for 10 minutes and I didn't flip them. They were delicately brown on the bottom and pale on top. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      She's gone now, but these cookies take me back to my Hungarian grandma's house where, as a child, many hours were spent in the kitchen making cookies, cakes and our ethnic foods. The cookies are wonderful, and thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      How nice to find these recipes. I have a friend and neighbor who kept telling me about her Polish grandmother making these for her birthday. But, of course, through all the years, the recipe got lost. Still, the memory of the cookies remained. So as today is my friend's birthday, I made this recipe for her with four different fillings. Not only did she have tears in her eyes, as they are totally like the ones her dear old GM used to make, but I also enjoyed them myself tremendously. I used store-bought fillings, - but only due to time constrictions. Thank you ever so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!! You have made several people really happy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kolachki, Kolacky, Kolachy, Kolace, Kolachi, Kolache, Kolachke,

    Serving Size: 1 (6385 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1515.9
     
    Calories from Fat 920
    60%
    Total Fat 102.3 g
    157%
    Saturated Fat 49.8 g
    249%
    Cholesterol 230.4 mg
    76%
    Sodium 723.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 137.7 g
    45%
    Dietary Fiber 12.7 g
    50%
    Sugars 54.5 g
    218%
    Protein 22.8 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites