Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Knoephla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Knoephla Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2012

      I hate to leave a bad review but I simple don't agree with this recipe being great. I'm from ND and lived here all my life. Hubby and I have German ancestry and I myself have German form Russian ancestry, but honestly Kroll's makes the worst Knoepla soup I have ever had. It was a cup or barley warm water with 3 dumplings and 4 potatoes chuncks with a splash of chicken broth and black pepper. Most of the people I know agree Kroll's makes the worst soup. Not only that, the Kroll ladies are from ND and regardless of their own heritage they are protraying GERMAN LADIES ! NOT NORWEGIAN!. Knoephla soup translates to potato dumpling soup ("Kartoffelknodelsuppe" according to my german language cookbook). As for this recipe I don't like it. Too much of a watery/broth soup and not enough creaminess. Personally, I would omit the bay leaves, reduce the water by half and double the amount of cream and half the amount of knoephla dough and just make the dough and using a spoon and table knife scoop up the dough and then with the knife cut off some amounts and drop straight into the soup (helps to thicken it) bring (soup not water) to a boil to cook the dumplings then simmer for 4hrs and serve. As for the garlic...personal call on that but most don't call for it. I was looking for to see how many recipes state to add ham to this soup as I have only seen one recipe with it added and all the rest don't. I will stick to my recipe that is a combo of the german cookbook, my hubby's family recipe and my family recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      I just spent weeks in North Dakota and this was the best take away. I was out of sour cream so used Kraft Cooking cream cheese, and it was perfect. Also added chicken like Krolls. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I am born and raised North Dakotan and Krolls diner has one of the best Knoephla soups besides my mothers. This one is pretty good, i just go by my own taste buds and add little more chicken boubillion, evaporated milk and pepper. Do what your taste buds enjoy, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      I sautéed diced chicken breast in butter, with the celery and onions, before adding the water and potatoes and spices. Because I used my natural chicken broth, I did not use much chicken bouillon. However, then I needed to add more salt. I used only 2 cups of water with the potatoes, chicken, celery and butter. After the potatoes were cooked, I added 2 cups of milk, and a package of gnocchi, (you can also use a bag of small frozen dumplings found in some grocery stores to hasten the process). Once everything was cooked through,(but not boiling), I added the cream. I agree that if all the water that this recipe calls for would have been added, this recipe would be much too watery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      I agree with a previous poster that this is a good BASE recipe, I added more cream and chicken broth and cook for at least 3 hours so the flour in the Knoephla has time to thicken the soup. I also add but if an Everything Spice ( there are several version I am sure but it basicly a mixture of many spices that I add to just about everything !)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      VERY GOOD SOUP. I did make a slight change though. I switched the amount of chicken broth and water around so it was 4 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Also, I didn't get the dumplings right, so next time I am going to use my fluffy dumplings I use in my homemade chicken dumpling soup. But for those minor changes, it is by far the yummiest Knoephla soup I've ever had and I often stopped by Krolls to eat the knoephla. I am not sure about the first reviewer saying it was "watery" - I didn't have that problem. It thickened up very nicely - was thick and creamy goodness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      You won't find many places outside ND that serve knoephla so it might seem that it'd be pretty consistent across restaurants, but in fact the major difference you'll find is the amount of cream that's used...IMO less is a little better (like this recipe) but it's a really tasty soup either way. I'm from Mandan and it's completely untrue that the locals say that Kroll's makes the worst knoephla soup; Kroll's has countless loyal patrons that go there religiously just for the soup. It's been a local favorite for decades and their knoephla is a "must try" if you're traveling through ND.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      My husband has been talking about Knoephla soup since we met (8 years ago)...so being a good wife, I finally looked up a recipe! He says this compares to Krolls in Fargo! I am now addicted as well.
      I just made it for the 2nd time, and the tweeks I made were to add carrots and I used 1-1/4 cup of milk in the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Yummm So Good!

      I Just moved back to North Dakota after a year in New York. I always made this when I needed i little bit of home. I usually add a little more celery than this calls for and about an equal amount of chopped carrots... and if I'm feeling like it that day I will also add a little chicken. Also using a pizza cutter to cut the knoephla dumplings is quick and easy. But really this is a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Wonderful! Fantastic! Great! Yummy!

      Loved this soup! I'd never heard of this soup until a friend of mine shared on her FB page that she was making it for supper. So I googled for a recipe and found this one. I was not disappointed at all.

      Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Knoephla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.9
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    29%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 66.5 mg
    22%
    Sodium 2047.9 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.9 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites