Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kmart Sub's - a Blast from the Past! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kmart Sub's - a Blast from the Past!

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2009

      Every Saturday morning in 1969 at 7am, all alone at K-Mart 40Hwy and Noland Rd, Independence, MO, wearing my white mini waitress dress, I set out to make Submarine sandwiches. First step:Set up ( 2 ) 8ft long wood tables. Step (2): open and lay out Wonder Bread hoagie buns. Step (3)" dip spatula into white plastic tub of yellow mustard and smear on each bun. Step (4): Grab a bunch of shredded Iceberg lettuce and sprinkle on top of mustard. Step (5): place 3 thin slices of salami on each. Step (6): place 3 thin slices bologna on each. Step (7): place 3 thin slices of deli ham on each. Step (8): use 2 (1/2) slices of American cheese. Step (9): place (3) thin white onion rings. Step (10): only use 3 see through thin sliced tomatoes. Step (11): finish Sub with 3 dill pickle slices. Step (12): Fold and Stuff all 128 Submarines into plastic sacks with twist tie. Take to the cigarette/Submarine counter in the front of the store and place in glass cooler. 3 for $1.00 or when we had green light special get them for 4 for $1.00!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I worked for Kmart in Detroit for a long time doing those subs by the hundreds of thousands! We started with maustars on left, then some shredded lettuce, a slice of each:bologna, cotto salami, spiced luncheon meat(dutch loaf is the closest I can find. 2 strips of american cheese,2 tomato slices,3 dill pickle slices,then a few strips of onions, thin sliced. ENJOY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Great recipe. And a total Blast From The Past. My Dad used to take me to K-Mart quite often in the early to mid 70's and we almost always went to the 'diner' to get the Submarine Sandwich. I don't remember the sliced peppers though, but I do remember that they always had the periscope, which was a green olive stuffed with pimento, of course, on a toothpick and stuck in the center of the sandwich. These were fresh-made to order, but there were sandwiches packed int the cooler under the counter which were pre-made, but those did not have the periscope and my Dad would not buy a sub sandwich without a periscope! LOL He said it was not a real Submarine Sandwich without the periscope...and I agree.

      He was also a connoisseur of gas station sold pre-packed sandwiches. The kind delivered in a wedge pack and sealed up. There is really something wonderful about bread, mayo, mustard, some kind of meat, usually ham, wilted lettuce and soggy American cheese on a day old sandwich. Really. I still try to make sandwiches like these to this day, make them, seal them and put in the fridge at least 8 hours, marvelous!

      But of course, this must be nostalgic more than anything else as we all know fresh food is so much better. But still...?

      And then we would listen to CBS Radio Mystery Theater on the radio in his old boat car from the late 60's on the way home as it just began to get dark. A full tummy, some new clothes, or whatever we bought from K-Mart and a radio show to stimulate the brain, well, it was a fond memory of a time gone for me. Still is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!! These are exactly as I remember them and they brought back so many childhood memories of my parents buying them at kmart and we would go on a picnic. I made these early this morning and wrapped them just as you suggested. I took my boys and husband on a picnic to our local park and there was not a single remnant of a sandwich left! I have searched for this recipe for years and tho I have found some, NONE of them came close. These are exactly as they were. I cannot thank you enough and now my boys will have new memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      I have made so many sub recipes over the years but by far these are the BEST and they really do taste just like the subs Kmart sold in their restaurant. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      My family enjoyed these. Hubby remembers them from childhood. I made a whole bag full and wrapped them up for later. They were school lunches for several days. The cheese turned goopy and they got a little soggy after the first day, but the family loved them anyway! They have already asked me to make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Good ole Kmart sub's, almost forgot about them. Made them for lunch today, yummy! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This was so yummy! I was not lucky enough to have had them at K Mart, but now I'm lucky enough to be able to enjoy them at home! Great picnic sandwich too! Thanks for posting! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Nostalgic is spot on! As a young teen in a home of nine children, I'd surprise my parents and siblings once a month with K-Mart subs. I considered my babysitting $$ well spent. Have made these several times over in the last two months, it's time to post a five-star review for this recipe. THANK YOU for sharing this, my family enjoys eating down memory lane with me. (BTW, great picture, Steve!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Omg I swear if I could hug you I would. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. When I was in the third grade we had to write about our favorite food and mine was kmart submarine sandwiches. lol....well I must say they tasted EXACTLY as I remember. Many thanks and hugs to you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      It does not get more nostalgic than this! I can not believe that I purchased processed cheese or bologna but I did and I have no regrets. I made these last night, wrapped them up, and stuck them in the fridge. I just sunk my teeth into this gem an I am in love.....right down to the soggy lettuce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      5 stars, both for the sandwiches and the memories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Thank you for this post. We enjoyed these subs very much. Just the right amounts of everything. We ate two this evening and are saving the other two for the Super Bowl tomorrow. I made this for "2014 Zaar Cookbook Tag" These were very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2013

      Yes! Thank You Brandess for posting this! I used to get these subs when I was in college in '83 (Yea, that long ago!) I introduced these great subs to my buddies, who thought I was nuts...Lunch from K-Mart? Great memories, great sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Yeah! Thanks to oyu posting this recipe, my 7 yr. old will eat a cold cut sandwich. Nuff said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      YES!!! I don't know how I happened across this recipe to begin with, but when I did I saved it for future use. Well, today was the day that I decided to make these Kmart subs. This sandwich reminded me so much of the subs that I would stop after work to buy for my dinner because they were inexpensive and good to eat. I bought the sub buns this time to be more authentic, next time I think that I'll try a good hamburger bun instead. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

    • on November 23, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kmart Sub's - a Blast from the Past!

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.3
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    66%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 67.9 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1515.4 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    submarine rolls

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites