12 Reviews

Very refreshing salad for a snack. I have made it with both fresh and powered ginger, fresh ginger is the best way to go on this!! My 3y/o DD loves this salad and it is easy enough for her to help me!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotstuffrider June 07, 2011

I really like this recipe. When I first made it I thought it was so-so, but after letting it marinate for 5-6 hours the flavours melded together. I thought that I had enough white wine vinegar, but I was a little short of the 1/2 cup, but I don't think that it hurt the recipe. I did use a mandolin to get the slices paper thin and liked seeing the white and green flecks in the bowl. Thanks for posting a refreshing salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee April 23, 2010

OK, so after reading Leggy Peggy's review, I just had to try this. . .and I was not disappointed. LOVED IT! I used my mandolin to get these cut super thin. Love that this recipe doesn't use oil too. Perfection of flavor. The only change I made was to use half sugar and half Splenda which worked great. THANKS for a keeper of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 17, 2010

Wonderful, wonderful salad. I've made this twice in three days, including for a neighbourhood, barbecue lunch. It got rave reviews from everyone. My only change was to add some sprinklings of dried dill weed. Yummo! UPDATE: I am spending a year travelling through Africa on the back of a truck. Our cook group made this salad in Mali where cucumbers were cheap and plentiful. Everyone loved it and I'll be making it again soon. Thanks so much! FURTHER UPDATE: I made this salad in Africa every time cucumbers were nice and plentiful. Always a winner and so easy to make it to serve 28.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 02, 2010

This is very good. I was a bit anxious when I first tasted it because the flavors had not yet melded, so I added some cider vinegar and some celery seed. Both were very good additions. As my pic shows, I also added a few julienned carrots to give the salad a little more color. Next time I make this I will make as is and try to be patient until the next day to try it as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Cecile May 04, 2009

This is a sensational salad when made with super fresh, young cucumber and ginger. I didn't feel it needed anything else added as simplicity is the key here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS January 06, 2009

Yummy! Just what I was craving. I love spicy so I added some fresh sliced jalapenos to give it a little kick. The vinegar made it spicy but not too spicy. It was a nice contrast with the coolness of the cucumbers. I also added some very thinly sliced white onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpaceStormy October 11, 2008

I have been making a variation of this salad for years, since I lived in Hawaii. It is a great use for my excess garden cucumbers. I use seasoned rice vinegar, plus sesame seeds. I'll try adding gingerroot..sounds yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
955090 September 13, 2008

We like the sweet and sour flavor and it gets better the longer it sits. I made some last night and this morning it was even better. Thank you! Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha in Ut June 04, 2008

A very nice salad! I enjoyed the taste of ginger. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 27, 2008
Kiyuri Namasu (Cucumber Salad)