14 Reviews

This is by far my favorite cucumber salad! I use a mandolin set at 1/8 " slice for the cucumber. I recommend using only fresh ground ginger, it is the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird July 24, 2016

Many, many years ago a dear friend gave me this recipe. In her recipe she used clams drained, rinsed and added at the end and placed in the refrigerated for at least two hours. My family enjoyed every mouthful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
walktall January 20, 2016

Very refreshing salad for a snack. I have made it with both fresh and powered ginger, fresh ginger is the best way to go on this!! My 3y/o DD loves this salad and it is easy enough for her to help me!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotstuffrider June 06, 2011

I really like this recipe. When I first made it I thought it was so-so, but after letting it marinate for 5-6 hours the flavours melded together. I thought that I had enough white wine vinegar, but I was a little short of the 1/2 cup, but I don't think that it hurt the recipe. I did use a mandolin to get the slices paper thin and liked seeing the white and green flecks in the bowl. Thanks for posting a refreshing salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee April 23, 2010

OK, so after reading Leggy Peggy's review, I just had to try this. . .and I was not disappointed. LOVED IT! I used my mandolin to get these cut super thin. Love that this recipe doesn't use oil too. Perfection of flavor. The only change I made was to use half sugar and half Splenda which worked great. THANKS for a keeper of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 17, 2010

Wonderful, wonderful salad. I've made this twice in three days, including for a neighbourhood, barbecue lunch. It got rave reviews from everyone. My only change was to add some sprinklings of dried dill weed. Yummo! UPDATE: I am spending a year travelling through Africa on the back of a truck. Our cook group made this salad in Mali where cucumbers were cheap and plentiful. Everyone loved it and I'll be making it again soon. Thanks so much! FURTHER UPDATE: I made this salad in Africa every time cucumbers were nice and plentiful. Always a winner and so easy to make it to serve 28.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 01, 2010

This is very good. I was a bit anxious when I first tasted it because the flavors had not yet melded, so I added some cider vinegar and some celery seed. Both were very good additions. As my pic shows, I also added a few julienned carrots to give the salad a little more color. Next time I make this I will make as is and try to be patient until the next day to try it as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Cecile May 04, 2009

This is a sensational salad when made with super fresh, young cucumber and ginger. I didn't feel it needed anything else added as simplicity is the key here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS January 05, 2009

Yummy! Just what I was craving. I love spicy so I added some fresh sliced jalapenos to give it a little kick. The vinegar made it spicy but not too spicy. It was a nice contrast with the coolness of the cucumbers. I also added some very thinly sliced white onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpaceStormy October 10, 2008

I have been making a variation of this salad for years, since I lived in Hawaii. It is a great use for my excess garden cucumbers. I use seasoned rice vinegar, plus sesame seeds. I'll try adding gingerroot..sounds yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
955090 September 13, 2008
Kiyuri Namasu (Cucumber Salad)