Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kiyuri Namasu (Cucumber Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kiyuri Namasu (Cucumber Salad)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2011

      Very refreshing salad for a snack. I have made it with both fresh and powered ginger, fresh ginger is the best way to go on this!! My 3y/o DD loves this salad and it is easy enough for her to help me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      I really like this recipe. When I first made it I thought it was so-so, but after letting it marinate for 5-6 hours the flavours melded together. I thought that I had enough white wine vinegar, but I was a little short of the 1/2 cup, but I don't think that it hurt the recipe. I did use a mandolin to get the slices paper thin and liked seeing the white and green flecks in the bowl. Thanks for posting a refreshing salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      OK, so after reading Leggy Peggy's review, I just had to try this. . .and I was not disappointed. LOVED IT! I used my mandolin to get these cut super thin. Love that this recipe doesn't use oil too. Perfection of flavor. The only change I made was to use half sugar and half Splenda which worked great. THANKS for a keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Wonderful, wonderful salad. I've made this twice in three days, including for a neighbourhood, barbecue lunch. It got rave reviews from everyone. My only change was to add some sprinklings of dried dill weed. Yummo! UPDATE: I am spending a year travelling through Africa on the back of a truck. Our cook group made this salad in Mali where cucumbers were cheap and plentiful. Everyone loved it and I'll be making it again soon. Thanks so much! FURTHER UPDATE: I made this salad in Africa every time cucumbers were nice and plentiful. Always a winner and so easy to make it to serve 28.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This is very good. I was a bit anxious when I first tasted it because the flavors had not yet melded, so I added some cider vinegar and some celery seed. Both were very good additions. As my pic shows, I also added a few julienned carrots to give the salad a little more color. Next time I make this I will make as is and try to be patient until the next day to try it as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This is a sensational salad when made with super fresh, young cucumber and ginger. I didn't feel it needed anything else added as simplicity is the key here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Yummy! Just what I was craving. I love spicy so I added some fresh sliced jalapenos to give it a little kick. The vinegar made it spicy but not too spicy. It was a nice contrast with the coolness of the cucumbers. I also added some very thinly sliced white onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      I have been making a variation of this salad for years, since I lived in Hawaii. It is a great use for my excess garden cucumbers. I use seasoned rice vinegar, plus sesame seeds. I'll try adding gingerroot..sounds yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      We like the sweet and sour flavor and it gets better the longer it sits. I made some last night and this morning it was even better. Thank you! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      A very nice salad! I enjoyed the taste of ginger. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      A perfect pairing of sweet and sour! We like this together with a spicy curry. The salad is light and works well to ease hot mouths. I knew that I wanted these ingredients together but didn't know amounts. This recipe is perfect on the amounts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is close to what I make. It is quick, simple, low caloric, light and healthy with a mild sweet taste of wine vinegar. Great served as a side dish or as is when the hunger pangs ensues. I kept some of them for tom..if it lasts. Love it! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kiyuri Namasu (Cucumber Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 24.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    22%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 194.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites