17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was awesome!!!! By far my favorite recipe for jams. Can't wait to try again with flavored rum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcookin4u February 16, 2012

I made this recipe with what I had. 1 c starawberries, 1 c peaches. I used strawberry/kiwi juice instead of pineapple. I used passionfruit rum. I added a half cup more of sugar. It is awesome. I need to make many more batches of this stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kriSmith August 26, 2011

Absolutely delicious! It is tangy and sweet. I left out the rum and it turned out perfectly! This is definitely a recipe that breaks the mold when it comes to canned jam.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slix October 23, 2012

I really liked this. Flavor is 5 stars. I used a dark spiced rum and it lent a just-right subtle flavor. Complaints are that the fruit has floated to the top and going by the leftovers that I tasted, I think it has more of a "jel" texture than I'm used to. I suppose that is the sacrifice we have to make with such a small amount of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker July 30, 2011

Very unique tasty jam! Definately a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckycol July 01, 2010

Tasty, sour-sweet exotic jam!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedi777 January 31, 2010

I made this Jam ages ago and have forgotten to review it. It's fabulous and not too sweet. I used the jam making setting on my breadmaker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies December 31, 2009

With respect to the last question, dry pectin comes in 1 3/4 ounce packages in the US and liquid pectin comes in 3 ounce packages. Dry it is. This is a wonderful recipe! Gave it away as a Christmas present to all the neighbors and everyone loved it. Making it again because of so many requests. Added a 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut to each batch. Since I used Pomona Pectin I was able to mix up 4 batches at a time. DO NOT however try this with conventional pectins - you are asking for trouble. Hope this helps. Jim in So. Calif.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 565650 Jim December 03, 2009

This recipe sounds great, although I am unsure whether to use liquid pectin or crystals? Could someone pls clarify, I can't wait to try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jvanclieaf August 12, 2008

Very nice flavor, never used the green food coloring. I use pineapple rum and it turned out very nice. There is no need to process in boiling water if the jam is poured into hot jars, they will seal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lybailey August 11, 2008
Kiwi Strawberry Daiquiri Jam