41 Reviews

Post more recipes! This was delighful. I used very ripe kiwi's and I added 1/4 cup honey to the batter. Its a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deranged_millionaire November 05, 2007

This was a great bread! I did make some changes to it however. I used less sugar & added some honey, replaced the butter with coconut oil, added a couple bananas that I had thy were old & used whole wheat flour.. So I guess I made a different bread. But still, if it wasn't for this recipe I wouldn't have found it. It was so moist & delicious! Had to stop myself from eating the whole thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaintedLadyArt March 17, 2013

I likey-likey! Very different/citrusy-tasting, but still yum. I used only 1/3 cup of sugar and used 1 tbs of nu stevia powder. I also used a commerical gluten-free flour (Better Batter). It turned out plenty sweet. My kiwis were (I'm embarrassed to say) 4-5 weeks old, but it made my bread nice and sweet. I used 6 kiwis which yielded ~1 1/2 cups of kiwi puree. However, that was fine, because my GF flour requires additional liquid to be added to recipes.

I get what the quick bread purists are saying about the texture on the outside; it does have a somewhat thick, dry crust. However, as long as you don't cook your bread for longer than 55 minutes, it's edible. If I knew more about food chemistry, I might try to alter the recipe to get a softer, more traditional, quick bread texture on the outside. However, I still think it was yummy and would make it again. Just upgraded this from 4 stars to 5 stars after I inhaled a second slice. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThinkJen April 15, 2012

I used overly ripe kiwi fruit. This was terrific. My friend and I killed a whole loaf with our tea this morning.
it's a keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BayAreaFreak July 25, 2011

I had super ripe kiwis and they were perfect for this bread, since kiwis aren't that sweet you need to use really ripe juicy ones. We ate it with a spread of cream cheese. Most delicious. Perfect to go with a cup of tea.<br/>Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaylaLovesTheSun April 13, 2014

I tried this recipe out today as I had a bunch of extra kiwis laying about after the holidays and the bread sounded yummy. While the inside of the bread is wonderfully moist, flavorful, and fantastic... I had some issues with the crust. While I baked low and slow in my WOLF oven at 350 degrees, my crust came out very dark brown (some places burned) and bitter. After letting the bread cool I removed it from my loaf pan (superstone brand) and all the crust started crumbling off. This recipe needs a little adjustment I think to come out as beautiful as the picture above. Maybe an adjustment in ingredients and a lower baking temperature. Good luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Homemade Cook January 05, 2014

I buy kiwis in bulk from Costco, this is a great way to use those ones that you have left. I would definitely add the honey to it though, and next time I will make muffins with it. It fell apart coming out of the pan, but oh well only the taste matters. It has an interesting flavor but is not bad, and I don't know what the problem is with the crust because it tasted perfectly normal to me. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
applesaucelove January 28, 2012

Took to a meeting at work, I could have used a second loaf. We found this to be very pleasant with oput coffee. MAke sure to use extra ripen kiwi fruit, it makes a difference in sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkellyKelly June 28, 2011

Used extra ripe kiwi's a friend gave us. We couldn't eat them all up. Made this awesome tasting bread. Was terrific. Hot from the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulBooks June 27, 2011

I had several over ripe kiwi's and made this bread. It was delicious with our sun tea on the balcony. You do need very ripe kiwi fruit, it's not an overly sweet bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlovetate June 21, 2011
Kiwi Quick Bread