Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kiwi Quick Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kiwi Quick Bread

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2007

      Post more recipes! This was delighful. I used very ripe kiwi's and I added 1/4 cup honey to the batter. Its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      This was a great bread! I did make some changes to it however. I used less sugar & added some honey, replaced the butter with coconut oil, added a couple bananas that I had thy were old & used whole wheat flour.. So I guess I made a different bread. But still, if it wasn't for this recipe I wouldn't have found it. It was so moist & delicious! Had to stop myself from eating the whole thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      I likey-likey! Very different/citrusy-tasting, but still yum. I used only 1/3 cup of sugar and used 1 tbs of nu stevia powder. I also used a commerical gluten-free flour (Better Batter). It turned out plenty sweet. My kiwis were (I'm embarrassed to say) 4-5 weeks old, but it made my bread nice and sweet. I used 6 kiwis which yielded ~1 1/2 cups of kiwi puree. However, that was fine, because my GF flour requires additional liquid to be added to recipes.

      I get what the quick bread purists are saying about the texture on the outside; it does have a somewhat thick, dry crust. However, as long as you don't cook your bread for longer than 55 minutes, it's edible. If I knew more about food chemistry, I might try to alter the recipe to get a softer, more traditional, quick bread texture on the outside. However, I still think it was yummy and would make it again. Just upgraded this from 4 stars to 5 stars after I inhaled a second slice. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I used overly ripe kiwi fruit. This was terrific. My friend and I killed a whole loaf with our tea this morning.
      it's a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I had super ripe kiwis and they were perfect for this bread, since kiwis aren't that sweet you need to use really ripe juicy ones. We ate it with a spread of cream cheese. Most delicious. Perfect to go with a cup of tea.<br/>Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I tried this recipe out today as I had a bunch of extra kiwis laying about after the holidays and the bread sounded yummy. While the inside of the bread is wonderfully moist, flavorful, and fantastic... I had some issues with the crust. While I baked low and slow in my WOLF oven at 350 degrees, my crust came out very dark brown (some places burned) and bitter. After letting the bread cool I removed it from my loaf pan (superstone brand) and all the crust started crumbling off. This recipe needs a little adjustment I think to come out as beautiful as the picture above. Maybe an adjustment in ingredients and a lower baking temperature. Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      I buy kiwis in bulk from Costco, this is a great way to use those ones that you have left. I would definitely add the honey to it though, and next time I will make muffins with it. It fell apart coming out of the pan, but oh well only the taste matters. It has an interesting flavor but is not bad, and I don't know what the problem is with the crust because it tasted perfectly normal to me. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Took to a meeting at work, I could have used a second loaf. We found this to be very pleasant with oput coffee. MAke sure to use extra ripen kiwi fruit, it makes a difference in sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Used extra ripe kiwi's a friend gave us. We couldn't eat them all up. Made this awesome tasting bread. Was terrific. Hot from the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I had several over ripe kiwi's and made this bread. It was delicious with our sun tea on the balcony. You do need very ripe kiwi fruit, it's not an overly sweet bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      This is delicious, the key to it being sweet is to use very ripe kiwi's.
      I have made it 3 times now and everyone raves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      After reading all the positive reviews, i am very disappointed with this bread. Maybe it's my kiwis but this bread is too sour. I agreed with the other reviewer that the crust is inedible. I will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Let me start off by saying that I absolutely love kiwi. I bought about 20 kiwis and used my food processor to slice them for drying in my dehydrator. There were a few kiwis that were too soft and got crushed instead of sliced so I was looking for a recipe to use up the kiwi pulp this created. I was so excited to find this recipe but I must say I am pretty disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly but this had a very strange smell when baking and the crust tastes very bizzare and not good. I also had the problem of the bread falling apart even though I greased and floured the pan and let it cool on a wire rack. I am giving this three stars because the inside of the bread was very moist and tasted good if you discard the crust and I was happy to find a way to use up my leftover kiwi pulp. I will probably eat the rest of the loaf (excluding the crust!) but I will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Delicious! Don't make this bread with unripened kiwi's, make sure they are very soft and flavorful and you will get the best flavor from this bread. We have this for weekend breakfast. I've made it 5 times already

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      I bought a big container of kiwi and needed a way to use it up. This was really good. As another noted, needs a little more flavor... not sure what exactly... I may try it again and test out spices or maybe honey???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Nice and pleasant, but felt it needed a little more flavor. I added vanilla extract, but think that next time I will double the kiwi content and possibly add a little cinnamon. Sweet and great texture, but needs a little more for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This was good, be careful not to undercook it. The flavor was a bit weird, and I found myself unable to eat more than a small slice at a time. I did enjoy it, and will make it again some day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      This was really good! Different, but good. I think the trick is to use really ripe kiwi, mine were just sorta ripe and it ended up tasting more like pineapple bread than kiwi bread. I used 6 kiwis (I didn't really measure it though) but I felt more wouldn't have hurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Good bread. Pleasantly soft and very easy to make. Definitely a unique flavor. I probably won't make it again, but that's because I don't love the kiwi flavor. The recipe itself is great. I used it to make several other breads in addition to the kiwi, including a pineapple bread, a pina colada bread, and a pineapple/banana/kiwi bread. Be careful not to undercook. I've had bad luck with recipes that call for such long baking times, so I was wary of this one. When my bread was golden on top and passed the toothpick test, I took it out, even though it could have gone a lot longer according to the recipe. Resulted in a very gummy bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      This is an extremely good sweet- bread, not too sweat and very unique in flavor. I tossed in 1/2 cup chopped pecans. I will make and share with friends during the holiday season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kiwi Quick Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.5
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    37%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 61.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 280.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites