8 Reviews

This was so good! I did make a couple of changes...I forgot to add garlic, but will add it next time. I left out the cayenne because I was in a hurry and couldn't find it. I think my family would like it in there, though. I also threw in our leftover turkey gravy...It was nice to find a use for it since we don't normally eat leftover gravy. I used Kittencal's no fail pie crust with this and I can't wait to make it again. It's been years since we stopped eating processed food, but I have fond memories of eating frozen pot pies as a kid. This was such a comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 December 03, 2013

Fantastic. I doubled the filling, put it in a 13 X 9 pan, and used only a top crust because I don't like bottom crust on chicken pot pie. It was delicious. I used the Martha Stewart "no fail" pie crust recipe (also found on this site) and rolled out the whole double crust to fit over the top of the 9 X 13 pan. Worked perfectly, and the filling was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondem777 November 09, 2013

My son licked his plate clean.What more can i say.The sauce was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frugalandfun January 15, 2013

I hate pot pie but this was really good. I think the addition of the potatoes did it for me. I used chopped frozen chicken and increased the garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz January 07, 2010

Used leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Mine didn't turn out very pretty but that was my fault because I overfilled my pie plate. Next time I will probably make 2 pies with the filling. But the taste awesome. Definitely the best pot pie I have ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiger7lady December 09, 2009

Another one of Kitten's recipes that gets 10 stars from me! Let me preface this review by stating 1) I don't like pot pie and 2) I was trying to figure out instructions from another recipe when Kitten helped me out and led me to this recipe instead. This recipe is VERY forgiving! I already had 1 cup of carrots, 1 cup of onion, 1 cup of celery and a 1/2 a cup of chopped baby bella's already chopped when I came across this recipe. I tripled the garlic and used fresh thyme. I used 1/2 & 1/2 and omitted the seasoning salt - and I also didn't add the mixed veggies (because I don't like them and figured all the other veggie's I already had cut up would offset them). Just FABULOUS!!! I don't even like pot pies and I had 2 helpings. My husband had about 4 helpings. Unfortunately, my kids didn't eat any of it...but who cares? Oh my this was lovely!!! Something I will definitely make again. I used the leftover turkey meat from Kitten's crock pot turkey breast for this recipe. We are going to bed STUFFED tonight. A MUST try!! Thank you Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl October 24, 2008

Hi Carol....It's been a long time since I visited here for a recipe an glad I did...This pie was a big hit...Why was I surprised....I can't believe that you haven't had more cooks try this....This is just simply wonderful....Thanks again...Lady D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady D September 11, 2007

I made this for supper - what a winner!!! The only thing I did different was to use frozen peas & carrots (it's what I had on hand). I also used more chicken broth. It was great on puffed pastry. Will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GRANNYLKM April 09, 2006
Kittencal's Turkey or Chicken Pot Pie