Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Tuna Salad Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Tuna Salad Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2010

      This is very good! I substituted diced dill pickles for the sweet pickle relish (personal preference) and added a 2nd chopped green onion as well as a chopped up boiled egg. I also added another 1/4 cup light mayo as the first go-round was still a little too dry. This is really easy to make "to taste", but I will caution those who come after me to use the 2-3 tbsp fresh lemon juice warily. I used 2 tbsp thinking I was going light, but in the end I wish I'd only used maybe 1 tbsp of the juice and then tasted it before proceeding. You can always add more of any ingredient but you cannot take anything back! I will taste test this again after it sits in the fridge overnight. :) Thanks Kittencal!
      7/31/10 Edited to add: Sitting overnight did the trick with this tuna salad. I couldn't gobble it down fast enough the next day. :) YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Very good, I used a tsp of dijon instead of dried mustard and my home made refrigerator bread and butter pickles chopped up instead of relish. One thing I have always done with tuna from the can is drain it over night in the fridge , I just dump it in a fine mesh drainer I have in a bowl cover with saran and place in fridge this allows the flakiness of the tuna to be maintained.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      I always try Kittencal's recipes when they show up and my family is never disappointed! I know our tastes so I usually tweak the first time unless I am thoroughly unfamiliar with the ingredients and so this one I used one big can of chunk light tuna in water, 2 green onions, no pickle relish (don't like sweet with my tuna), plain pepper rather than lemon pepper and since we had no tabasco in house I just put in a good healthy spoonful of horseradish. I also added 2 tablespoons of flat-leaf parsley and took the advice to let it sit overnight. HOLY BUCKETS IS THIS STUFF DELICIOUS! I've made it two days in a row, sent it with hubby for lunch, had it for lunch and dinner and now lunch again and I polished it off with half a box of Roasted Garlic Triscuits. WOW!!! for the sake of my waistline I will have to limit myself to one batch a week because I cannot be trusted to make more!!! THANK YOU KITCALKITCH!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      I've been making a similar version of tuna salad for 50 years or so, but always like to try new things. The addition of fresh lemon, squeezing out the excess moisture from the tuna and letting it sit overnight were the three aspects that made all the difference in the world from ordinary to outstanding. As always, Kittencal, you're the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Delicious! Followed recipe exactly no revisions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Def the best tuna salad I have ever tasted! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe. I encourage anyone that likes tuna salad to try this. It raises the bar on how good you can make a tuna salad sandwich!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Best Tuna Salad We've ever had! This is now a weekly menu item at our home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Very good tuna salad sandwich. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Tasty! I will certainly be making this tuna salad again. Thanks for sharing, Kittencalskitchen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      This is a keeper, I loved it! Mixed exactly as directed, no substitutions, I served this on traditional sandwiches and the kids devoured it all, and I also found that it makes a fantastic pickled jalapeno stuffing! The peppers were a huge hit at my last party, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      Wonderful!!! Love the lemon pepper! And I added a boiled egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      This combo of ingredients is perfect for tuna salad. I used less mayo, but I put a dollop of roasted garlic mayo to kick it up.<br/>I had some red and yellow bell pepper that I finely diced to throw in for extra vitamins and color (beneficial for the little ones too). Really great, I love tuna salad on celery sticks after the gym.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Good but need to cut back the mayo a bit for our taste......just a bit too wet/mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      I really like this recipe. I also substituted dill pickles for the relish, simply because I did not have any on hand. This is now my favorite Tuna Salad recipe and the only one that I will use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      I'm basing this review solely on my hubby's opinion (I do not eat seafood). He really truly loved these. I didn't change anything, except I did not put tomato on it (didn't have one). I toasted the bread for him, because he likes it that way. I guess that's all I can say about these sandwiches... they were a hit with him. Thank you for posting. (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      This recipe is incredible! I didn't change a thing, absolutely wonderful, so much depth to the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      This is the BEST recipe for tuna salad...I was seaching and most call for hard boiled eggs.Not a fan of eggs mixed with tuna!!! I followed recipe minus the hot sauce and mustard. This is very tasty and simple to make. Thanks Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Awesome!!! I add skinned, diced tomatoes on top. Great on Milton's multi-grain "thin" bread, on celery or crackers. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

    • on November 29, 2011

      Pretty good tuna. I would make it again. I used white onion this time. 2 tablespoons of lemon juice was plenty, if not a bit too much. I'm thinking my tuna was in 6 oz cans instead of 7 oz so that's probably why it seemed a little soggy to me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Tuna Salad Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.7
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    29%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1230.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 56.7 g
    113%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat mayonnaise

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites