Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Tuna Melt Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Tuna Melt Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2008

    • on March 10, 2008

    • on March 06, 2008

      What can I say? A great tuna melt. DH, who previously declared that he did not like rye, had to admit that it was the perfect bread for this tuna melt. I used lemon pepper, lemon juice, and the seasoning salt as suggested. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      These were delicious! I didn't have pumpernickel or rye- just stale french bread, lol, but they tasted fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      My first time trying a tuna melt... and for sure not my last time!!! This made a great lunch!! Instead of celery, added some red bell peppers. Thanks Kit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      A Fabulous Tuna Melt! I used a comination of grated Mozarella and Provolone and used sourdough in place of the pumpernickel. Believe it or not I was able to pick this up and eat it without anything slipping off! You definitely won't be disappointed in this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This was a great sandwich. I served mine open faced and did add some dill pickle to it (just a personal preference)I would love to try this again with a different cheese, like provolone. Thanks Kittencal for another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I made this for a guest and she raved on and on about my tuna melt. Kittencal you are something else in that kitchen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Another awesome recipe! Love it. I didn't have celery, but I think that would really make the recipe. I used 2 pieces of bread instead of open-faced. Sooo good! Thanks again Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      This is a keeper. I'm not too fond of tuna, but this recipe makes it enjoyable to eat...maybe even crave! I was out of green onions and swiss so was forced to use provolone cheese and a finely grated vidalia onion as substitutes. Still came out delish. Thanks kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This was wonderful, the whole family loved this. The first batch I made without tomatoes because my family doesn't really like them. However, after tasting mine, I had to make another batch for seconds. I didn't have green onions so I subbed red ones and I only had sharp cheddar cheese and white french bread. Anyway it was wonderful. Thanks KITTENCAL for another great family pleasing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I have made this twice now, my family loves it. I used sliced muenster cheese in place of the swiss. Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      My DH and I absolutely loved this version of a Tuna Melt! Was very yummy and hearty. Didn't change a thing and highly recommend this recipe to anyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      I had to try this on Wednesday night ... I had "collected" enough tuna to make a "school of tins".. I followed the recipe off pat and the outcome was to die for. Thank you, your recipes to me are flawless.. note.. if you follow a recipe as a pattern .. you can't go wrong.. Thank you again, a well deserved 5 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This dish was by far too salty and mushy/watery for me. I liked neither the taste nor the consistency. And the recipe called for too much cheese; it tasted waxy and thick. The best part, I hate to say, was the toast. I had to throw half of my sandwich away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I made this tonight and it was excellent. I used albacore tuna (it's pricey but worth it). The only suggestion I would make is if you like your tomato slices thick, salt them a little first. For Sams who left off tomatoes because they aren't good this time of year, use the little roma italian tomatoes. They are almost always good and I think they look prettier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      This dish was perfect for a quick weekday meal. I used sourdough bread, mozzarella chesse, and omitted the celery. The tomatoes were a great addition to the belt and looked really pretty under the melted cheese. Also, I served these open faced. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Oops Kittencal, I have been meaning to review this and I forgot! I love this! We made it with English Muffins and left out the tomatoes(personal preference) but I can't wait to make them again. Ideal for tuna lovers and maybe this will be the tuna melt that will change their minds. Thank you so much for posting - we thoroughly enjoyed it! Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Very, very delicious! Highly recommended for tuna melt lovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Kit, Sorry it's taken me so long to review this. I halved the recipe and like Uncle Bill, I didn't share. I added a little Miracle Whip (I know, I know), but I wanted a little kick. This is now my own private "treat yourself special" recipe. It's easy and I always have the ingredients on hand. It sure beats the ham and cheese sandwich I throw together, when it's just me. Thanks Sweety

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Tuna Melt Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.9
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    33%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 604.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes