Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Tuna Melt Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Tuna Melt Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2011

      I was great! I used canola mayo and American cheese with jalapeno peppers in it. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      The addition of seasoning salt, lemon juice and Swiss makes this a cut above the rest. We had this for lunch today and it will definitely be in heavy rotation.
      Thanks once again, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      I needed something quick for supper after DD's tennis tourney and these fit the bill. I loved the crunch from the celery and the use of green onions gives it that "right" flavor. I used the rye for DH's and my sandwiches but used wheat for DS and DD's and they were perfect. Thank you for sharing this quick and yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Nice recipe again again ;o). Added cottage cheese to the tuna in stead of mayonaise and used lime juice. Tasted great, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Excellent and easy recipe for a tuna melt sandwich! My husband dislikes tomatoes, so I left them out. Instead I got some leafy green lettuce and added it after the cheese melting stage. We also did ours in low-carb tortillas instead of the traditional bread. Best to put the tuna on an oven/microwave safe dish for melting the cheese because the first time we prepared this our tortillas got too stiff and crunchy while in the oven under the broiler. If you do it on a plate first, you can slide the tuna and cheese right onto a fresh, moist tortilla or wrap. Kudos for the use of lemon, too. Not only did it add a little zing to the tuna, to me it reduced the 'tuna-y' smell and if you're breaking up the pieces/draining by hand, you can rub the empty lemons on your hands to remove the scent. Thanks Kittencal for a great basic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Really good Tuna Melt! The lemon juice and lemon pepper really add to the flavor of the tuna. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Great tuna melt - perfect balance of juicy, crunchy & salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      WOW! Fantastic! I grilled on the panini maker and put the tomatoes between the tuna and cheese! Another winner from Kittencal! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Hey I love this I put it on the tiny rye bread and it was so so good....thanks for your pic and making my dorrito's casserole I was so suprised you made it with you loving health food and all...I was wondering what you were serving on the side with it?..It was super pretty, and very colorful my e-mail is Baby_doll_74@hotmail.com thanks again hope to hear from you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Did not feel like cooking for one so just halved this recipe and so happy i did this was quick easy and so good!!!! used fresh home made bread as thats all i had :). will defiantly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      My family loves this recipe. I've made it several times and its always a hit. I may sound werid but after my kids birthday party I was left over with alot of hotdog buns and I subsituted the bread for the buns. My husband says they were extra yummy that day. (lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      This was very good. I used 2 slices of bread for each sandwich. I followed the recipe exactly using whole wheat bread. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      very nice, wanted something simple and new in a tuna, and you gave it to me. My kids loved it, I am pregnant so I had to use only 1 can of tuna to share between 4 sandwiches, so I didnt eat too much :) but it was perfect. Will use this again for sure. And lemon pepper what a kick, would never ha ve thought of that to season a tuna, well it will go in my regular boring sandwiches too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      great recipe for a perfect tuna sandwhich. this will be my go to tuna recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      I love tuna and this is the best tuna melt ever! Definitely craving all of the time. Last time I made it I used the red wine vinegar and I didn't have any green onions so today I'm trying with lemon and I bought the green onions specifically for this purpose. Oh I can not wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I am not a big tuna fan but I have been looking for ways to incorporate it into my diet. This recipe was fantastic. We loved the combination of flavors. Thanks Kittencal- I know I can always trust your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Made this on a thick French Roll and used Provolone cheese instead of Swiss. This is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Another one to easily rate 5 stars!This is now a staple in our home. A quick go-to meal that everyone, kids included, LOVE! However, if you let it sit in the fridge and let the flavors meld it tastes even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      Made this for dinner tonight and the whole fam loved it.. ESP. ME!!! I am on WW's and I entered this on the site to see how many points it was and it was ONLY 4 POINTS per serving.. :) I did use white albacore in water, instead of "tuna" and I only used 2 tbs of shredded low fat mozzarella on all of them, along with whole wheat bread.. I left all the ingredients sizes the same but on WW's I made it for 5 servings because that is what it ended up serving for our family.. FILLING and a way to get full without breaking the bank on POINTS!!!!! Whooo hoooo- a keeper 4 sure!!! Thanks Kittencal.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Really good sandwitch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Tuna Melt Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.9
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    33%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 604.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites