Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option)

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2012

      This was tasty and easy to throw together. I appreciated that it used staple pantry ingredients and I had everything on hand to prepare this soup and serve it up with a grilled cheese sandwich for a fun supper. I liked the consistency and thickness of the soup (was pretty substantial for tomato soup, and quite filling). It was a tad sweet for my taste as prepared -- I shouldn't have added any sugar. I tossed in a couple of splashes of tabasco sauce to balance the sweetness with a little kick and it worked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Let me begin by saying that (believe it or not) tomato soup has been my Achilles heel. I was starting to loose hope when I tried this recipe and then... tasted it and wow, a punch of very well balanced flavor hit my mouth. I can't express my gratitude enough. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Tis soup was very good. Next time I will cut the oregano in half and puree the soup. A pinch of crushed red peppers is plenty. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Excellent! Goes great with some grilled cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Very good! Made it with canned tomatoes from my garden. The best tomato soup I've had. Beats canned hands down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Very good. I made a batch last night (2nd batch this week) and reheated it in a crockpot for a lunchtime potluck today. It went over extremely well - it was the favorite food of the day - and the soup kept it's consistency. I didn't bother with the croutons (although they sound good) - I just made the soup and served it with grated parm. This is a very filling soup, btw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was delicious! Both of my girls loved it and it couldn't be easier to make. It will be a frequent meal in our house. I made a grilled cheese (provolone and baby swiss) sandwich to go with it and put in grilled onions and tomato slices as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      This soup is excellent! My entire family (including 3 children under 5) eats this with relish. It's pretty adaptable in terms of using ingredients that I have on hand (milk, 1/2 & 1/2, heavy whipping cream and diced tomatos, crushed tomatoes, fresh tomatoes) We've made it several times. Sometimes with fresh basil and Parmesan cheese. Other times with extra spicy red pepper and bread. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Perfect soup exactly what I wanted. I am very picky about tomato and have been trying several different recipes. I made exactly as written - I did add some parmesan - which topped it off nicely. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      This is absolutely the BEST tomato soup I have EVER had!! No way would I eat canned tomato soup...I have made this countless times and it is never disappointing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Yumm! I omitted the oregano and added fresh basil during the last 10 min. of cooking-verrrry good! We all loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      My husband loves tomatoe soup and said this is defintely better than the canned soup!!!! I didn't add any additional V8 after it simmered, so it was a thicker soup, but delicious. So if you want a thicker soup, leave it as it is. Either way, it's very easy to make and I highly recommend this recipe. Thanks Kitten!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Record snowfall here in MD. I'm grateful for my mum-in-law's handknit sweater, my power, and Kittencal's tomato soup recipe! Have had the primary ingredients stashed for weeks but no time nor inclination to make it. I sure am glad, because it will hit the spot today! Still has 30 min left to simmer, but samplings indicate it will be absolutely WONDERFUL. I will be uploading a picture. THANKS for another terrific recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Made this tonight, and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Yummy, healthy, and easy to fix. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      very yummy! thank you so much for this recipe! for anyone else who attempts to do things from scratch: i used a quart of home canned tomatoes. i drained the juice, and to make up the difference, and i used homemade spaghetti sauce, watered down a bit. i actually really appreciated that part because it added extra flavour. i also added a little dill (i use dill in nearly everything i make--i love it!) next time i'll try honey instead of the sugar (i was all out today) i did find my soup a little thinner than most people had commented, but i think that was due to my changes with the home canned tomatoes. oh! because i just canned quarters of tomatoes, i used my hand blender (the one handed thing, not like the ones you'd use for baking) to mix my soup... WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I thought this one was a little too much like eating spaghetti sauce. I thinned out my soup with the tomato sauce, but it was still like eating thinned out tomato sauce. Perhaps I will leave out the oregano next time....and try the V8, but sadly I don't think a next time will be any time soon....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Delicious! I used fat free milk and added some pureed roasted red pepper. The flavor was really yummy. If you're used to canned soup, this will knock your socks off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Another delicious winner of a recipe! I used 30 ounces of tomato juice.. only used 1 tsp. of oregano and in place of the salt I used a chicken bouillon cube. I should have doubled this recipe. Oh.. another note: I used my hand blender just a little bit on the crushed tomatoes because I like my soup creamy.. but with enough tomato bits to let me know I'm not eating canned soup. Bring on those cold Winter days!! I've got some good soup to warm me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      A hit in my household! I followed the recipe exactly, using rice milk and omitting the red pepper flakes, and my children gobbled it up. My 13 month old was practically diving onto her spoon to eat this! I simmered it throughout the day, adding 4 cups water 1 hour before serving to help stretch the quantity and thin it down a little and it was still packed with flavor! A definite keeper recipe, thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Made this recently, after another RZ friend made it, and it was a huge hit! I followed the recipe to the letter, and it turned out fantastic. Leftovers the next day were just as good, if not better, after the flavors had time to mingle. :) The taste reminds me of my favorite Muir Glen Creamy Tomato soup - I will never buy another can of it, ha ha! Thanks for a great "keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option)

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.1
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    42%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 575.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites