Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option)

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2012

      Ive made this many times now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly & it was good. The 2nd time I omitted the tomato juice & used 3 cans of crushed tomatoes, then used a stick blender to puree it. It was utterly delicious! I now only make it with the crushed tomatoes (never with the juice) but I often add courgette - equally delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This is so wonderful. Everyone who thought tomato soup was the stuff that came from a can were so wrong. All of my family, some who swore that they hated it because of the canned variety, now know that they love tomato soup. Thank you so much Kittencal. When I see your name, I know it's a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Loved this soup! I made a batch for my parents, who are both sick with some kind of virus, and had enough for dinner for my family that night. It tastes so much fresher and healthier than canned soup. Served with green salad and grilled cheese for a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This was good. It didn't turn out very creamy and reminded me of eating marinara, but it had really good flavor. I didn't add any additional V-8 and it was thick. The family liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Great recipe, again, Kittencal! I used Sunburst tomatoes and V8 and it came out great. I'd recommend pureeing the onion and garlic to take some of the chunkiness out of the soup, but that's just a preference. I'm going to try basil in place of oregano next time so it has a little less of a "marinara" taste the other reviewers noted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Very good--a lovely blend of complementing flavors. I used V-8's vegetable juice, skipped the flour and thought this soup was the perfect consistency. A home run, as usual, Kittencal! I served with the crouton recipe you recommend in your recipe, also delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Reviews from my family were all over the place ... Anywhere from "I'm not a big tomao soup fan" to 3, 4, and 5 stars. I used V-8 instead of tomao juice, and half milk/half Half & Half. I'll try again using tomato juice and see if that pleases the family. Personally, I thought it was very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Very good tomato dish, however I kinda felt like I was eating pasta sauce for soup LOL I think with a small can of tomato paste this could be a very decent marinara Kitten! Froze the leftovers for other uses. Gonna try it as pizza sauce this week too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      I love this soup! I am dairy sensitive so I use light coconut milk in my recipes that call for milk or cream. About half the calories as whole milk, thick and creamy and it a recipe like this, you cannot detect any coconut flavor. (Thai makes a wonderful organic lite coconut milk that you can buy in the Asian aisle in most supermarkets.)<br/>Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Very good! Thick and delicious. I don't know why anyone would voluntarily eat canned soup when this is so easy to prepare. I used 3 cups regular tomato juice and crushed tomatoes with basil because that's what I had on hand. Puréed with a hand blender. Just noticed Kitten's note about V-8 and will try that as well. Will make this again today, the second time in a week, which is unusual for me. Hopefully I'll have some left for individual containers for the freezer. My boys love tomato soup with grilled cheese and enjoyed this very much. I also made some quick microwave croutons and tossed a few on top with some Parmesan cheese for me. Very yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      Ok, I love tomatoes. Well, I realized I loved them after having my first home grown one about 5 years ago. I wanted to love tomato soup but I didn't (yes only had canned). My bf wanted tomato soup and i thought "duh, homemade"! So I looked it up on food.com and WOW! Yeah this was insane! My 10yo loved it too! We had it with grilled ham and cheese on our first cold night of the year. Only thing I did different was I added the last of my grape tomatoes I had to pull of because of the freeze. I think I added about 10. Don't think that was enough to change the flavor t but I will try more tomatoes and less juice next time after reading JustGemsOfNZ's comments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      AWESOME!! Followed the directions exactly and I used V-8. EVERYONE LOVED THIS!! My daughter asked for the recipe and said she doesn't even like tomato soup! I used a hand blender to puree the onion and garlic. I thought it was just the right consistency. Highly recommend the garlic croutons to go with it! Thank you Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      I made this last week and found myself craving the leftovers! I thought the flavor was absolutely perfect. The only adjustment I plan to make is not using the flour to thicken it. I used half and half instead of milk, so between that and the thickness of the tomatoes and juice I believe it will have the right consistency. The only complaint was from my husband regarding the thickness. I'm so happy to have such a wonderful recipe that is so much better tasting and a lot less expensive than the canned!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      Nice hearty soup. I would recommend adding more peeled tomatoes for better texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Very good! I omitted the red pepper and then added some half and half at the end to make it a little more creamy. Next time I will puree the batch for a smooth soup. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Excellent! I used chicken broth instead of milk and added a little thyme. Perfect soup for a cold night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      I'm not going to rate this because I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed tomatoes (and then pureed it when done). However, I did not care for the flavor of this soup. It was just very strong and too sweet. I was just looking for a more creamy recipe. Maybe if I added more milk that would have helped. I also used a vegetable juice from Trader Joe's and maybe that's the flavor I don't like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

    • on January 27, 2012

      Loved it! Added a little extra milk and basil, then served with freshly grated parmesan cheese and homemade bread croutons. Also as a bonus, I used it the next day for pizza sauce and it was fabulous. Definitely this will be one of my go-to recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      This was tasty and easy to throw together. I appreciated that it used staple pantry ingredients and I had everything on hand to prepare this soup and serve it up with a grilled cheese sandwich for a fun supper. I liked the consistency and thickness of the soup (was pretty substantial for tomato soup, and quite filling). It was a tad sweet for my taste as prepared -- I shouldn't have added any sugar. I tossed in a couple of splashes of tabasco sauce to balance the sweetness with a little kick and it worked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option)

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.1
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    42%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 575.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites