97 Reviews

Ive made this many times now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly & it was good. The 2nd time I omitted the tomato juice & used 3 cans of crushed tomatoes, then used a stick blender to puree it. It was utterly delicious! I now only make it with the crushed tomatoes (never with the juice) but I often add courgette - equally delicious!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustGemsOfNZ April 17, 2012

This is so wonderful. Everyone who thought tomato soup was the stuff that came from a can were so wrong. All of my family, some who swore that they hated it because of the canned variety, now know that they love tomato soup. Thank you so much Kittencal. When I see your name, I know it's a good recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hinsan February 15, 2010

Loved this soup! I made a batch for my parents, who are both sick with some kind of virus, and had enough for dinner for my family that night. It tastes so much fresher and healthier than canned soup. Served with green salad and grilled cheese for a complete meal.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B. February 16, 2011

This was good. It didn't turn out very creamy and reminded me of eating marinara, but it had really good flavor. I didn't add any additional V-8 and it was thick. The family liked it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough November 15, 2010

Great recipe, again, Kittencal! I used Sunburst tomatoes and V8 and it came out great. I'd recommend pureeing the onion and garlic to take some of the chunkiness out of the soup, but that's just a preference. I'm going to try basil in place of oregano next time so it has a little less of a "marinara" taste the other reviewers noted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COREprojects February 13, 2012

Very good--a lovely blend of complementing flavors. I used V-8's vegetable juice, skipped the flour and thought this soup was the perfect consistency. A home run, as usual, Kittencal! I served with the crouton recipe you recommend in your recipe, also delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 April 21, 2011

Reviews from my family were all over the place ... Anywhere from "I'm not a big tomao soup fan" to 3, 4, and 5 stars. I used V-8 instead of tomao juice, and half milk/half Half & Half. I'll try again using tomato juice and see if that pleases the family. Personally, I thought it was very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn February 04, 2011

Very good tomato dish, however I kinda felt like I was eating pasta sauce for soup LOL I think with a small can of tomato paste this could be a very decent marinara Kitten! Froze the leftovers for other uses. Gonna try it as pizza sauce this week too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma July 03, 2010

Really good. Rather involved for a quick bowl of comfort, but worth it. I used canned homegrown tomato juice and, I omitted the salt and sugar. I used an entire quart of juice and a 28-oz can of store bought crushed tomatoes. I used the stick blender to smooth it out, but it was still a very thick and textured soup/bisque. Can only be improved by using home grown chopped tomatoes instead of canned. Can't wait to grow more now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cartoonbabe January 12, 2016

Delicious! I never knew you could add dry spices to frying onion and garlic and have them be so fragrant! The only difference I made was to buy canned whole tomatoes (mistake) and then use my immersion blender. This is going in my soup recipe list for winter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sturgeos November 09, 2014
Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option)