Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Tender Microwave Corn (With Husks On) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Tender Microwave Corn (With Husks On)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2012

      Fantastic! I used to steam it in the husk the way they do in the Eastern Shore area but this is even easier and just as tasty! I soak it in water for a short while instead of using damp paper towels. 1.5 to 2 mins on each side. Perfect every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      So happy to see this posted. I've been making my corn this way for the last few years. It was an accidental discovery. I was in a hurry one day and threw some corn in the microwave. It was LOVE at first bite. I don't use the damp paper towels though. And I don't time it because of the varianace in corn types and sizes. When I can smell the fresh husks, then I know they are done. It sure beats heating up the kitchen with the boiling water!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Very easy but the best part is the taste. This is the best way to steam corn that I have found. Thanks for a keeper. Be sure to do only one ear at a time as the recipe mentions or it takes longer to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      I have been doing this for years but didn't turn them or use a paper towel..I must try this..thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      We loved the corn made this way. The corn was so sweet and fresh tasting, I hardly used butter. I think it will be the way we make corn from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Absolutely the greatest. For over 70 years we were boiling. YUK. Thanks so much Corn is just coming in here and we did our first this way. GREAT. Oh, here is a little info for Y'all. You might be a Redneck (like me) if you have ever mailed a recipe suggestions to Chef Boyardee. Hey, it could happen :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      You are a genius! I'll never make sweet corn any other way...and definitely won't miss the boiling water facials!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This is so easy to do and the corn was cooked to perfection. Thanks Kit :) Made for Holiday tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This method works great & is so easy to do and quick to get on the table, this is a keeper for sure. Thanks Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      What a great and easy way to do sweet corn! I had never imagined it could be so quick. The only problem I had was with the paper towels...the ones I had are cheap generic ones and they kept ripping after I got them wet. Thanks for the keeper Kittencal! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Kitten, this is a delicious way to prepare corn on the cob..much easier then traditional method.. I always had a hard time removing the silk,, I will use this method whenever I make corn on cob.. thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      This is my newest way to make corn! My corn came out perfect. I did not add any seasonings or butter. I even ate some corn cold. Thanks Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      So easy, and the corn turned out perfectly tender! I used to make corn and roasted oblano tamales. Thanks for the time-saver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Tender Microwave Corn (With Husks On)

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.7
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    14%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites