Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Taco Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    189 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 189

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2011

      I'll be using this instead of buying the packets of taco seasoning from now on. Mixed, it makes 1.5 ounces which is the weight of a packet of seasoning. However, I expect that most of what comes in the store-bought packets contains mostly fillers and little spice. I used about 1 TBSP. of this seasoning for 1 pound of ground beef, and I found it perfect in that ratio. Another great recipe - thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      I tried this recipe last night and it is a definite keeper, like everything from Kittencal. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for kick and 1 teaspoon of cornstarch to help the seasoning stick to the meat. It was perfect. One good tip: to make the flavor more robust (so you can use less seasoning) add the seasoning to the meat when it is about halfway browned. Cook until the meat is fully browned, stirring frequently. Drain off any excess grease and then add one cup of water and cook until the water has evaporated. By using this method, you allow the heat to liven up the spices before diluting them with the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      Very good! I knew there had to be a recipe out there for taco seasoning that was tasty. I used the Pace brand packets for years and, for whatever reason, I haven't been able to find them anywhere in my county for months. I have been unable to find another brand that tasted good and, and since tacos have been a favorite meal at our house for years, I was very disappointed! I am so glad you posted this recipe. I only use 1 tablespoon chili powder - I get mine from the health food store and it's quite potent (especially for my children). I use an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce with a half a can of water to make it saucier, and I use 1/2 tsp. sea salt instead of the seasoned salt. This recipe with 1 pound ground turkey meat makes great tacos!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      What can I say?... Store-bought taco seasoning doesn't even compare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      Fantastic, I use this instead of buying taco seasoning packets. I use the recipe as written for about 1 lb ground elk or venison meat. I love being able to make tacos last minute with spices I always have on hand. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      I made this to use in Mexi Ground Beef Chili Macaroni Casserole, a double batch. I used the larger amounts of garlic powder and cumin, and no cayenne. It certainly looked like the packaged stuff, and I always have all of these ingredients on hand. It might not necessarily be less expensive, but it is certainly healthier (lacking all of the unpronounceable chemicals). I will certainly use this often. (November 10, 2011) Edit: After using this in the recipe, I think 3 tsp. of cumin per batch is too much. It was harsh, or bitter, or some word that escapes me at the moment. Next time I will only use 2 tsp. And I will also try to curb my addiction to the word "certainly." LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      I love this! I made the suggested amount for one packet and only used part of it because I like my food mild. It was just the right amount!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Thank you SO much for this recipe. I use this every time I need a packet. My son has a reaction to the bought stuff and I can adjust this to suit us. Another winner and staple from you. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      great taco mix, thanks for sharing your recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      Found I was out of my usual packaged taco seasoning and tried Kittencal's recipe. Works just great! Since I usually have the ingredients on hand, I will ALWAYS have taco seasoning. It tastes just fine in other dishes such as Mexican lasagne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      I use it instead of store bought

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      Awesome! The first time I made my husband tacos with this he told me never to buy a store bought taco seasoning ever again! I triple the recipe (or more) so I always have some in the cabinet. Thanks, Kittencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      Really good taco seasoning. It subs perfectly for a taco seasoning packet from the market. It comes together fast and easy with no preservatives. This recipe has more flavor than one I have rated previously so when I need more depth of flavor I will go to this. Kids and adults ate it in a rice, bean and meat casserole. We doubled the ingredients for two lbs of beef. Yum. Thanks for posting kittencal. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      I never buy the packets anymore- this is our go to recipe for taco seasoning! Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Fantastic, as always, Kittencal! I have been using this for years now, but always forget to review. I use about 3/4 c. water with the entire spice mix for about 1 lb. ground beef. It is fairly strong this way, but by 2 year old loves it. We are wimps and use no cayenne, and I use only 2 t. cumin because I'm not a huge fan. I bring the mix to a boil with the beef, then let it cook down. This is an excellent way to control sodium, and great for people allergic to MSG. No more packets in this house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Discovered late this evening that I didn't have a packet of taco seasoning for the crock-pot taco soup I am making tomorrow morning for tomorrow evening's dinner. I love that you can find any recipe on food.com, even for spice blends. I have made several Kittencal recipes that are super yummy, so I trust that this taco seasoning mix will work perfectly as a substitution for a store-bought packet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      This is great. Packaged stuff is expensive and this is way more convenient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Really excellent. Much better (and cheaper) than store-bought, which more than likely contains MSG....an additive that should not even be allowed in food. This is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      This is wonderful and tastes better than the one that you buy in the store. I like the way that the flavor can be controlled to whatever strength you like without wasting it. I made a triple batch and I have it in a spice container all marked ready to use the next time. It only costs pennies to make. I like that. Thanks Kitten for the super duper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      I have used this twice now in taco soup and it is great. I made the soup for a friend and she told me it was better than hers and that I must do something different. I told her I made my own seasoning mix and didn't use a packet. I also made tacos with this, too, and they were delicious but a little too salty. Next time I plan to cut the seasoning salt down to 1/2 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Taco Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.0
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    40%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 272.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites