Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Taco Salad for a Crowd Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Taco Salad for a Crowd

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2007

      I made a half recipe of this for a Mexican Themed dinner party and it was a hit! I've just started to try entertaining friends and family at our house and I found that this was a very low stress main course. I loved that I could do all the prep ahead of time then just toss it together right before we ate. It was a big plus to not have to worry about timing the food to be hot with the arrival of the guests. And we all loved it, even my three-year-old, who ate 2 servings! (a miracle!) I left out the onions and the second packet of taco seasoning with good results. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I made this for a family winter party. We have them after the 1st of the year. (Our family has grown so much that we no longer have Christmas parties together because we are all so busy.) This was the hit of the party, a real crowd pleaser. I made as directed. I just kept everyting in separate containers and threw it all together right before we ate. I did leave out the chips, just served them on the side so that nothing got soggy. Kittencal you have done it again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      I gave this 5 stars. My brother makes this a little different but still very good. He does not use onions or avocados though. His ground beef is also warm. He uses french dressing also. Thanks for posting a really good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      This is a recipe alot like the one that I make. For some reason, I'm not real big on Doritos, as most people are. So, I use Fritos, and it is very tasty. I also usually make guacamole on the side. Thank you for the recipe kittencal!! Love, Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      When I made taco's for the boys, I put a part of the meat aside and made this for me and my DH. I used Homemade Taco Seasoning Packet Replacement Homemade Taco Seasoning Packet Replacement for taco seasoning. I also chose not to put olive in our. They get what they want and me and my DH get what we like. Perfect! I would also make this again for a party for everybody to eat. My type of meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      You were right! Everyone loved this salad at the luncheon I had! I tweaked it a bit - used grilled chicken instead of beef and served guacamole on the side instead of putting avocado in. I also added two cans of black beans and two cans of Mexicorn. It was awesome and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks for making a lot of people very happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      I made this last night and was quite pleased with the results. Its a nice quick summer dinner. I think I should have added some more spice then whats in the recipee, I like taco salad tangy. As well I could have left the catalina out compleatly, but my husband liked it. I will make this again when I need a quick, late night dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      I have made this before as well I use Fritos instead of tortilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Excellent salad! I made as directed except I did not add in the avocado or olives due to personal preference. It still was very tasty. Will be making it again, soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      Half of this recipe was dinner tonight for 5 kids and 3 adults and we wiped the bowl clean. I was hoping everyone would like it since it made a lot. They definitely did. All the flavors blend together nicely. I will make again. Thanks for posting,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      This is so yummy ! My family of 4 devours this with none left over ! Used regular tortilla chips, left out the avacado and used almost a full bottle of catalina. Will be on the once a month menu !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Delicioso... I used less of the onions and much less of the salad dressing. But hey, to each his own! I can't figure out what makes this better than taco salad I used to make, but it really is wonderful. I served this at Book Club with margaritas and every last shred was gone in 30 minutes. Gracias!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      Have had this salad before, but now I can make it too! It was so good..... I left the salad dressing on the side, as some prefer ranch dressing around here and used regular tortilla chips instead of doritos, but it was yummy just the same. Next time I will add kidney beans or black beans and I might just leave the meat out! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      A truly great Taco Salad! I halved the recipe for 10 of us, and it came out, just right. The simple instructions made everything sooo easy. It tasted so good, those that were not part of the family wanted to move in!! Thanks for posting another great recipe, Kittencal. jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      Great Salad - easy to make, filling and everyone loved it - especially my kids! This will be a super summer time dinner when life if so hectic. I used jalapeno pinto beans as mentioned in someone's review and that addition was great. The whole catalina dressing thing just seemed wierd to me but it tastes great and wouldn't change that. The only ingredient that I left out was the raw red onion (not much of a raw onion person) and didn't do avacado because I just forgot to put it in. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      this salad is awesome - my mom has been making it for years and now I'm making it. I found that I didn't like the slightly greasy texture of the cold hamburger, so what I do is substitute kidney beans for the hamburger - very delicious and healthier as well!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      Delicious!!! My husband loved it. Truly a recipe that you can just eyeball the quantity you want to your own preference. Kept them separate and served up individually so all stayed fresh and leftovers were able to be made up like it was just made for the first time. Did place beef in microwave about 20 sec so it was room temperature and not chilled. Daughter Kelly Cant wait to have it again. thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      Love this salad. My family has eaten it for years, and we call it "Mexican Chef Salad", and have added a can of drained jalapeno pintos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      Very easy to make and very good. I used romaine lettuce instead of iceberg, made a low fat cataline dressing to go with this, omitted olives, and added tortilla chips that I had made rather than doritos. Very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      I like to try different taco salads. This was the first time I have had one that added taco seasoning to the salad ingredients. It was very good. I used your taco seasoning recipe as well. Thanks KITTENCAL. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Taco Salad for a Crowd

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.5
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    66%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 41.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 291.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    nacho chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites