64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

great, cost effective recipe...i used catalina dressing recipe from zaar

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaksdad March 11, 2009

Delicious. I took this to a super bowl party and everybody loved it! They were all taking home some. Warning - it trully makes a LOT! I used packet taco seasoning but I only had one regular and one hot so I used the hot on the meat and the regular in the salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiger7lady February 01, 2009

Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom to 3 in WI October 12, 2008

My sister served this at a recent party and it was a huge hit. She did a few things a little different, but the results were outstanding! She added 1 can of black beans to the ground beef and taco seasoning mixture. For the taco seasoning, she used a hot and spicy packaged mix which gave the salad a nice bite. Instead of Doritos, she used regular tortillas. And, to make it lighter, she served light Catalina dressing on the side. My only complaint is that the salad was so good there are no leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook August 13, 2008

This was so great! Made it for a Cinco de Mayo dinner at my moms on Sunday. I cut the recipe down by about 3/4. My sister was complaining about starting her 'diet' - so I used fat free catalina, a little less cheese, and only about a cup of crushed doritos. The flavors worked together so well. Beautiful salad too! Colorful! Going to make it again this Friday for a potluck at work! Thanks! Update: EVERYTIME I make this, people ask me for the recipe. So popluar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 June 18, 2008

I made this for a Salad Bar lunch we had at work. Before I could get a taste it was all gone. Everyone asked for the recipe even the men. Next time I'll sample it first. Thank for the great salad

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sha927 March 30, 2008

This is really a great version of taco salad. My family enjoyed it a lot. I omitted the avocado due to personal preference. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 27, 2008

I love this salad!! The first time I had it my Mum made it for my Grandmother's 85th birthday party. Yesterday I made it for a pot-luck party for my daughters skating team --- everyone else must have loved it just as much as me --- it was all gone when I went back to get my dish! Only made two minor changes ... didn't add the avocados (my hubby says they taste like green crayons) and I didn't add the black olives but instead added black beans! Will be making this regularly from now on !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
City_Gurl March 17, 2008

This salad is just delicious! I have made it for everything from potlucks to barbeques and it is always a huge hit. There is just something about the combination of onions, olives, avocado, crunchy chips and dressing that is irresistible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UPmomto4 March 15, 2008
Kittencal's Taco Salad for a Crowd