64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh kitten this salad was AMAZING!!! We fell in love with it!!!
We don't eat beef so subbed kidney beans and skipped the avocado.
Used your taco seasoning mix and your catalina dressing.
I have already made this so many times in the past few days and have requests for more!
Thanks kitten I know I can always look up to your recipes for the best ones!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's December 20, 2010

I made a vegetarian version with pinto beans instead of beef. I used half the listed amount of taco seasoning and thought it perfect. Thanks for sharing another great one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS September 17, 2010

Love Taco Salad and this is a good one. Made for Name that Ingredient.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 15, 2014

My family always enjoys this taco salad. I just want to thank you for being so generous with your recipes. I know yours are always a great place to start when I'm looking for something. And we LOVE your recipe for Catalina dressing, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seven Wonders August 17, 2010

We made this as written-ish. I didn't want to heat up the kitchen, so I subbed 1 can of black beans for the beef. I was wonderful! I put the beans (drained and rinsed) in a microwave-safe bowl, sprinkled it with the taco seasoning and microwaved it for a minute or so. A wonderful twist on a great salad. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 August 07, 2010

Yum! I don't even like french dressing but you made me a convert! The combination of all the flavors was perfect! Thanks a million....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender July 12, 2010

This is good. Because of dietary restrictions. I had to omit somethings that I would have like to have left in. So do not want to mention as I am sure it is much better with the things I left out. Do not like French Dressing so used zippy italian. Do not feel bad giving it a 4 star as my 5 stars are for exceptional things and there are hardly any of those that I have found just yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady July 06, 2010

Yummmmmmy. I made this to go with sandwiches, but us girls ended up eating mostly the salad. Great flavor. Thanks Kittencal for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 13, 2010

I thought that the flavor of the taco salad was good, but needed a little something else. My DH grew up eating taco salad that had a creamier base and he liked that kind better. We really did like the ratio between the meat and lettuce...it was the perfect balance. I am going to make this again but perhaps change the dressing a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. November 11, 2009
Kittencal's Taco Salad for a Crowd