Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Super Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Super Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2009

      WOW! This cake was over the top DELICIOUS!!!! Making it was quite an interesting experience though: I followed all of the ingredients to a T, except for exchanging the white vinegar for apple-cider vinegar (with no noticeable difference) and increasing the vanilla by one tsp. The dry ingredients were super lumpy, so I had to sift them all together (mostly due to the brown sugar that I used I think) before adding the wet ingredients. Then, because I wanted a round layer cake, I poured the batter into two 9" round cake pans, expecting to see a beautiful cake in about 30 minutes. I noticed that they were quite full but brushed that aside. But, alas, I opened the oven door about fifteen or twenty minutes into the baking to smell that usually delicious chocolate cake smell and...YUCK! It smelled like burnt barbecue! The cakes were overflowing, causing them to drip and burn onto the bottom of the oven! I hadn't thought the batter would overflow the pans, but they did! I ended up cooking one pan for about 8 minutes longer and the other for about five minutes. Although they tasted so yummy, I recommend if using 8 or 9" rounds to place them on a baking sheet while baking and also make one or two cupcakes, otherwise be prepared for a big burnt mess in your oven and a house that smells like burning barbecue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Very rich and dark, almost bitter due to the darkness, I like dark chocolate though. A great recipe and makes a HUGE cake, a small slice goes a long way! A sweet icing is needed to balance out the taste. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      Horrible, over-flowed the pan and unfortunately the taste didn't make up for the mess. Also, the cinnamon tasted out of place.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Another of Kitten's recipes that you just can't beat! Need a chocolate fix? This is it! Quick, easy and oh so wonderful! I served it a bit warm with vanilla ice cream! This is a cake to take for a crowd, have for company, whatever! AWESOME!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Very good flavor. Reminds me of my zucchini bread (I use chocolate chips and cinnamon) I can taste the cinnamon in the recipe. DO NOT use for cupcakes like I did. I thought all cake recipes can be used in any pan, this can not. They fall apart coming out of the pan. I made a double batch and now have a cake in the oven and threw out the cupcake mess I have.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Love this cake! Turned out so moist and dense and delicious! Every recipe of Kittencal's is the best, I have used several and today I had to make a birthday cake for a friend and knew Kittencal's would not dissapoint!<br/><br/>Yay! Sucess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      Excellent!! This is my go to chocolate cake recipe!! so moist and rich! easy to throw together! you cant go wrong with this recipe! absolutely wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      I get so many raves on this chocolate cake its ridiculous. I work as a personal chef and have had this cake requested back to back every week since I started LOL. Thank you Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      This was a very simple and delicious recipe. However, I filled my cupcake pans the usual 2/3s full and they were a tad too overflowing-- the next time I do this recipe I will only fill 1/2 full. Also, make sure you butter the pan significantly (or put down a liner) because the cake is will definitely stick to your pan! Overall, delicious flavor and tasted even better 2 days later (stored properly). Yum! thankyou for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      For such a simple cake -- this was excellent! Everyone loved it and many took multiple slices. This will be my new go-to chocolate cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Super good cake! So easy to mix it all together and not make a big mess. The taste and texture are quite excellent. Thanks as always for sharing your fantastic recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      This tastes so much better than a boxed cake mix. Easy to put together. Th cake rose almost to the top of the 9" x 13" pan. I froze the unfrosted cake for 2 days. I frosted it with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing, medium chocolate flavor. After dethawing and frosting the cake, it still tasted fresh made. Everyone liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      Delicious and Moist. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. I was worried at first because I'm not used the working with thin batter, BUT it was great! The only change is that I put all the batter into a double deep 9" round wilton cake pan and had to increase the baking time to about an hour and 10 minutes. Came out perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      this is the first chocolate cake I have made from scratch. This is a wonderful tasteing and moist cake. I normanly don't like chocolate cake, but this is really good. I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Everyone really enjoyed this. I found it because I am always looking to use up that last bit of coffee in the pot (I am tired of throwing it away - coffee is getting expensive!). This time, the cake turned out a bit spongy. This was my fault. I was using a set of measuring spoons that I never use, and discovered while making this that the 1 tsp. was actually 1/2 T. That is NOT the same thing. I figured it out before I got to the vinegar, but the other leavening was wrong. The cake still got devoured, but I am looking forward to making it again with the correct measurements! I used some leftover Marzetti chocolate fruit dip as kind of a frosting glaze, but the cake doesn't really need icing. It's a great snack/dessert without it, and uses ingredients I always have in the house. I know I will be making this often. I used Baker's Joy to grease the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      So moist, so delicious! I love it. This will be my new choc cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Very good! I loved the fact that it is made in one bowl--that cut down on dishes! And it IS super moist! I made this for my husband's birthday, and he said, "Make sure you keep this recipe!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      really good very moist, tastes like boxed cake. a definate must try i cut the sugar to 1 1/4 c i think its plenty sweet. i didnt even make icing for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Very moist, chocolatey cake! This really hit the spot. I made half the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan. It took about 38 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      WOW OMG this is so insanely good. So good that I am glad I halved the recipe, because I don't think I can exercise self-control with this cake in my vicinity. It is moist and SO easy to make - not much more work than it would take to throw a cake mix together. I forgot to sift everything but it didn't seem to matter. Used a strong espresso for the coffee and the flavor of it comes through so well. Omitted the cinnamon and used 2% milk. Frosted it with your buttercream frosting #Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing and that catapults it to another dimension altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Super Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.4
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    33%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 38.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 359.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    150%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites