36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW! This cake was over the top DELICIOUS!!!! Making it was quite an interesting experience though: I followed all of the ingredients to a T, except for exchanging the white vinegar for apple-cider vinegar (with no noticeable difference) and increasing the vanilla by one tsp. The dry ingredients were super lumpy, so I had to sift them all together (mostly due to the brown sugar that I used I think) before adding the wet ingredients. Then, because I wanted a round layer cake, I poured the batter into two 9" round cake pans, expecting to see a beautiful cake in about 30 minutes. I noticed that they were quite full but brushed that aside. But, alas, I opened the oven door about fifteen or twenty minutes into the baking to smell that usually delicious chocolate cake smell and...YUCK! It smelled like burnt barbecue! The cakes were overflowing, causing them to drip and burn onto the bottom of the oven! I hadn't thought the batter would overflow the pans, but they did! I ended up cooking one pan for about 8 minutes longer and the other for about five minutes. Although they tasted so yummy, I recommend if using 8 or 9" rounds to place them on a baking sheet while baking and also make one or two cupcakes, otherwise be prepared for a big burnt mess in your oven and a house that smells like burning barbecue!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skinny-cook July 04, 2009

Horrible, over-flowed the pan and unfortunately the taste didn't make up for the mess. Also, the cinnamon tasted out of place.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrssmith66 May 09, 2013

Very rich and dark, almost bitter due to the darkness, I like dark chocolate though. A great recipe and makes a HUGE cake, a small slice goes a long way! A sweet icing is needed to balance out the taste. thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom January 08, 2012

Another of Kitten's recipes that you just can't beat! Need a chocolate fix? This is it! Quick, easy and oh so wonderful! I served it a bit warm with vanilla ice cream! This is a cake to take for a crowd, have for company, whatever! AWESOME!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
For JT's Grandma July 06, 2012

Very good flavor. Reminds me of my zucchini bread (I use chocolate chips and cinnamon) I can taste the cinnamon in the recipe. DO NOT use for cupcakes like I did. I thought all cake recipes can be used in any pan, this can not. They fall apart coming out of the pan. I made a double batch and now have a cake in the oven and threw out the cupcake mess I have.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kymberie July 26, 2009

Made 30 cupcakes from the batter. Tasted good but only 4 stars because the tops are all flat or sunken in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes October 25, 2014

awesome recipe!! I go for this recipe whenever there is a need for chocolate cake. It is very popular among my friends and relatives. Thanks a lot for this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tina.kalayil September 09, 2014

Love this cake! Turned out so moist and dense and delicious! Every recipe of Kittencal's is the best, I have used several and today I had to make a birthday cake for a friend and knew Kittencal's would not dissapoint!<br/><br/>Yay! Sucess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlesister1968 June 19, 2013

Excellent!! This is my go to chocolate cake recipe!! so moist and rich! easy to throw together! you cant go wrong with this recipe! absolutely wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 02, 2013

I get so many raves on this chocolate cake its ridiculous. I work as a personal chef and have had this cake requested back to back every week since I started LOL. Thank you Kittencal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
exzentriker March 29, 2012
Kittencal's Super Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Cake