Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Sub/Sandwich Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Sub/Sandwich Buns

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      Fabulous as usual Kitten! Decreased the sugar, increased the salt a touch and added some garlic to the dough! Thanks for the amazing bread! I have been craving some good kaiser rolls! ~*~*~*~*~Update~*~*~*~*~ A friend of mine used to work at Subway and she said that their bread comes in frozen and the way they "flavor" it is by brushing water on the dough and sprinkling with seasonings. I tried that with this dough and I got the same results! I am using this same recipe to mini meatball subs - cutting the bread into "bun size" pieces and using KittenCal's AMAZING meatball recipe. They are a definite hit at work!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Very good! I made some substitutions, I used half and half whole wheat flour and white flour, also used oil instead of Crisco (I'm not a big fan of Trans fats) Silk Soy milk instead of the full fat milk. even with all the changes the buns turned out beautifully, definitely a do again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      These are great! I used half whole wheat bread flour and also had to mix in a little extra (white) flour when kneading. I cut mine into 10 pieces and they were perfect for a sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      We like subs and have them a lot at my house. My DW made these for me and they were so good! We made ours a little longer than the ones posted because we bring our subs to work and I need a 12" roll to fill me up! This recipe will be worn and tattered in no time as often as we make them. Wife put the recipe in her recipe box for safe keeping. Thanks so much for sharing Kitten! Don

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Wow Kittencal, another winning bread recipe. The instructions were so concise and easy to follow and the buns tasted wonderful. I forgot to try the malt powder (and I'd bought it special for this) but I can't imagine it turning out any better. I made them to fill with my crab-cheese spread and they are perfect. I was so proud of them and DH gave the biggest compiment when he rated them TEN stars. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Did not change a thing, these buns are perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I also used my ABM, wet ingredients, then dry, dough cycle and baked in the oven in baguette pans. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Phenomenal bread! Made brisket sandwiches from this tonight and it's heavenly. Easy to work with and shape, and bakes up beautifully. I kept the 3 T sugar, even tho the instructions up the amount, and I thought it was good. Kneaded with the KitchenAid, and the times were spot on. I didn't have malt powder, but didn't miss it since I haven't used it before. Firm on the crust and soft and perfect inside. A keeper recipe again from Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      I do not have a bread machine, did it all by hand. They are awesome!!!!!! Everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Fantastic! I made these exactly by the recipe, but formed the dough into 12 round rolls instead of 6 oval buns. The sandwiches disappeared in a flash and everyone commented on the bread. Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Great buns. They are soft on the inside and have an excellent crust. I made half the recipe and made 4 perfect sized rolls. I used half rye flour and they turnd out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      Such an easy dough to work with and I will be using this recipe often, as we often bring sandwiches to work and these are perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      These are excellent. I cut down the sugar to one tablespoon and put the wet and then the dry ingredients into my bread maker. After 90 minutes on the dough cycle I added a little bit more flour, formed the dough into long rolls and let them rise for another 30 minutes. We enjoyed them this morning for breakfast. A foolproof recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      I used whole wheat flour instead of white and they came out really good! We had them with Hot Layered Hero Sandwich and wow, what a sandwich! These rolls would be great to serve along with spaghetti or lasagna too, or with any entree for that matter. Just open em up and sprinkle on some garlic powder, salt and spread with butter, then bake for a few minutes in the oven, then munga!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      These were easy and tasted very good. I used them as the bread shell for recipe 254611. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Outstanding recipe. DH and I love SOFT sandwich rolls and these fit the bill. Made as directed with my Kitchenaid mixer. I got 8 generous sized buns out of the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      The dough is a dream to work with. I might use the dough for cinnamom buns by adding more sugar. These came out so nice and soft. Delish. I made 8 sub sandwich buns and they were the perfect size. I don't find these too sweet as stated by others. If anything, they are a bit too salty. I would reduce the salt to 1 teaspoon the next time and there will be the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      These were easy to make and soft and tasty but I think they are too sweet to make a sandwich on.... trying to think of a way to make a dessert out of them! Plain with butter very good! I would reduce the sugar next time. I have some in my freezer to try later...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Too cold and wet to run out for sandwich buns, I made these instead. I had to use what was on hand, so butter flavoured crisco and last 1/2 cup of flour was whole wheat, and skim milk instead of whole. They turned out perfectly. I cut into eight portions, and they were a little bit bigger than a typical kaiser type roll. Light and airy. Very easy, very good. I might decrease the sugar slightly next time for sandwiches, but would definitely use as is for dinner rolls (just make more, smaller rolls). Excellent all around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      Great sub/sandwich roll recipe! I used our leftover bun for garlic cheese bread, and it was fabulous! The dough is so supple, and the finished product is slightly sweet - delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Sub/Sandwich Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (1048 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.7
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    22%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 603.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites