Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Spinach & Four-Cheese Manicotti (Vegetarian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Spinach & Four-Cheese Manicotti (Vegetarian)

    Average Rating:

    145 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 145

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2009

      Very, very good!! I never cook the shells though, Always raw. I just add about 1/2 cup of water to the sauce and cook it about 20 minutes longer. Much easier to stuff the shells.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Very good manicotti recipe. I usually just throw together my ingredients but decided to follow a recipe this time. It was very easy to make and turned out delicious. I find that when I undercook the manicotti noodles by a minute or two, they are easier to stuff and they soften up fine as they cook. They were still slightly stiff as I stuffed them. I liked the addition of the cream cheese and the spinach. The version I usually make has egg instead of cream cheese. I used a canned marinara sauce this time but next time I plan to make Kittencal's Marinara that looks wonderful. I expect it will make this even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Great recipe!

      I have made this three times. The first time, I followed it as listed. I never made manicotti before, and didn't realize how much work goes into stuffing the things. The second time, I used only half as much spinch, but I used fresh also. Seemed to me to be the perfect amount. The third time, I was lazy and used jumbo shells, and of course its the filling that makes this dish. Filling the shells was alot easier than the manicotti.

      Awesome recipe.

      EDIT: I have now made these over 50 times. I still swear by this recipe. The only tweaks are the ones listed above, and occasionally I add 1/2 pound of hot or mild Italian Sausage. Browning them, and draining the fat. Then I let it cool to room temp., before adding to the mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      Made these for a family dinner - glad I made extra because not only did I end up with 8 people coming over, people keep coming back for more! I made two pans of this. One as directed and one with fat free ricotta, cream cheese, & mozzarella cheese. I get nervous when making things with fat free cheeses many times because they seem to turn out flat & boring...not here! You really couldn't tell at all. I didn't tell the boys that the two trays were any different and wolfed down both in no time flat! -if you're looking to trim a bit off the calories but don't want to do ff everything try swapping out the full fat ricotta for the fat free. You save half the calories (100 cal vs. 45 cal for 1 cup) and it tastes the same & won't mess up the textures. Thanks again Kittencal :) your recipes always turn out unbelievable everytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      So rich, creamy and delicious. I made the filling three days prior to using. On the morning of the day I was serving, I cooked the manicotti just until they were flexible, piped the filling in the manicotti, using a zip-lock bag and that made them easier to fill.I kept them in the fridge until I was ready to bake. They turned out just perfect, really flavorful. I added the optional onion and didn't cook the frozen spinach, but did squeeze out as much water as I could. I'm looking forward to the leftovers and to making them again.Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      So delicious! I added 8 oz. of sliced baby bellas that I sauteed with the onions. I also added extra garlic since we are garlic lovers! Thank you so much for sharing! YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Very yummy! Like something you would get an Italian restaurant. I only had fresh spinach, so I steamed about 4 cups in place of the frozen spinach. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      YUMMY, TASTY, DELICIOUS...!! cant find the words to describe how good this dish was. I followed the exact recipe, pre-cooked the manicotti for 6-8 mn. & it turned out to be great. The cheese,spinach, & garlic flavor combination is just amazing. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      Kittencal, this was so good -- as usual. I must disclose my mistakes, however, so others might avoid them. I didn't have ricotta so I put some cottage cheese in my food processor to smooth out the texture. Then I added the cream cheese to it to blend it in nicely. This worked out fine too. Then I got cocky and thought, "I'll just mix up the whole thing in here." This would have been OK I think up to the spinach part. When I added the spinach in the whole thing turned GREEN! Duh! If I'd stopped at that point and mixed in the spinach with a wooden spoon as you suggested, it would have been fine. But seeing the red sauce, the white noodle, and the green inside looked like a bad Christmas movie. It tasted fine however - delicious. I'll do them again, I'm sure, but I won't make the mistake of using the food processor at that point! (Figures that I made it for a company dinner!!) Ha-ha!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      FANTASTIC!! I made this for my Husband's surprise Birthday dinner (he LOVES this dish) and Kittencal's recipe is ON POINT! Flavorful and melts in your mouth. My little ones scarfed this down as well...even my 8 month old baby. I made this with the homemade sauce that is recommended and it was PERFECT! I didn't change a thing. Kittencal's recipes are the 1st place I go when I need a new recipe. Thank so much for sharing all your wonderful skills with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Wow ...All I can say is WOW!
      This was awesome. So good and easy to make too.
      TO make it easier, I used the no boil lasagna noodles, just soaked them in warm H20 to make them pliable and filled and rolled them up.
      I also added ground beef to my sauce.
      Again so delish. Thanks so much for posting this is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      AMAZING! the filling was amazing, the cream cheese made all the difference! made this with your Parmesan meatball sauce, I SWEAR BY YOUR RECIPES KITTENCAL! =D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I made this tonight for the first time. It was very good. I have replaced all of my other manicotti recipes with this one. I used shells instead of manicotti since shells are easier to work with. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      I have to say this dish was delish! I didnt exactly go by the recipe because I didnt have the manicotti pasta. I planned on using penne pasta and just making it more like a baked ziti. I just stirred the cheese mixture into the penne before layering it in the baking dish. For the pasta sauce I used Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian). It all went very well together and was rich and filling! One more thing I didnt have was the ricotta so I just replaced it with more cream cheese. I normally always in all recipes halve the spinach bc I find that I never like the full amount in recipes. But I think in this, that I would of liked the full amount of spinach. This also would be great with some sort of meat in it if you didnt care it being vegetarian or not. Great recipe! I cant wait to try it in manicotti shells! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      Pretty good. I should've added salt. I had skipped it because I thought with all the cheese there would plenty. I also used my own spaghetti sauce with some meat. Had some extra filling, wondering if I could freeze it alone?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Delicious! I made this exactly as stated. Next time I plan on making extras and freezing them as the recipe is a bit too time consuming for normal night's meal. Thank you for another wonderful recipe, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Awesome! I will never make another manicotti recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written with the exception of undercooking the noodles by a minute so that they were easier to work with when putting the filling in. I also made the filling earlier in the day so it had time to meld together. The cream cheese is what really makes it different and absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      This was definitely great! The spinach filling was sooo good! All I could find was oven- ready canelloni shells. So, they were good b/c they were firm to fill, but their texture wasn't good. I will hunt out manicotti next time. I really liked this, but I didn't love it. Used the marinara recipe too. Thanks for sharing yet another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      This is a Delicious recipe, I have served this many times then I am having large gatherings as the vegetarian option but the meat eaters love it. Thank for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      This turned out really nice,I couldn't get any ricotta so used mascarpone,very rich indeed, will def make again, made with your veg marinara sauce which was amazing,thanks for a lovely recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Spinach & Four-Cheese Manicotti (Vegetarian)

    Serving Size: 1 (2109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.8
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    60%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 64.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 880.7 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    manicotti

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes