20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never had one of Kittencal's recipes fail me but this one did; I made it exactly as stated but there was no "spice" to it even though I added extra jalapeno, hot sauce, pepper ... I ended up adding chili powder and it helped but still not enough to make this again. From all the reviews I'm not sure what went wrong for me on this one. On the flip side, one bad result will definitely not keep me from Kittencal's recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker January 01, 2013

I made this for some co-workers with rave reviews. I have made your recipes one by one and I can tell you (just like others have) they are fantastic. It nice to know that even though you don't have to share these recipes you do. You truly are a good person and the world would be a much better place if there were more Kittencals out there.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scswanson2002 January 23, 2011

this was SO good, and did not take long to make! My fiance liked, and commented how you get hit with that heat one after another, will make with less onions next time tho. Definitely a keeper and a must for winter time, thanx kittencal, keep on posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ANewWife September 27, 2010

The whole family loved this. Very rich and filling. I used precooked dark meat chicken and was afraid of the heat so I left out the tobasco sauce. It ended up being too mild. I'll make it again adding more jalepenos and a few seeds! I also added 8 ounces of frozen corn. This is a winter-time keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruthie Redneck May 11, 2010

I really enjoyed this recipe on a cold drizzly day. I tweaked it for my personal preference by using Rotel instead of regular tomatoes, and added 1/4 tsp of jalapeno seeds to my chicken/onion/jalapeno saute to add some heat. I found the creamy consistency perfect, and so fast to make! The sweetness of the corn was a perfect balance to the spicy peppers, and the chicken really made this a hearty meal. I served it with some homemade jalapeno cheddar bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BeeGee October 10, 2014

Yummy! Easy! I added frozen corn too to make it more corny. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngieBee October 25, 2013

Excellent! The whole family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes October 26, 2011

I made this recipe as directed but added more broth because it was a more like a stew. Also added Chipotle pepper sauce. I'm thinking about adding some diced potatoes next time. Truly delicious, well done Kittencal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbartholdson February 20, 2011

I only used 1/4 can of tomatoes... not a big tomato fan no tabasco, used cayenne instead. next time I'll thicken ( hubby likes thicker soups) flavor was great. easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamiej August 29, 2010

i love this soup! it is delicious. i used fresh corn, a can of 10 oz. rotel instead of tomatoes and green chile separate, and used a veggie broth and milk and some leftover bbq'd chicken which i chopped up. What a great recipe, highly recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madk1976 September 10, 2009
Kittencal's Spicy Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder