Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Soft Tender Crescent Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Soft Tender Crescent Rolls

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      My kids LOVED these rolls. I cut the fat just a little bit--used 1/4 c. shortening and 1 T. butter with 1% milk. Also I used 1 c. white whole wheat flour and 2 c. bread flour. I made the batter in my bread machine--it was really sticky and I had to add at least 1/2 c. of flour. The end result was fantastic, though--very soft, fluffy and they smelled, and tasted, fantastic! Thanks for sharing, Kittencals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Excellent Karen! JUST needed more salt to me. By the way, do you think butter Crisco would make it buttery?? I almost added butter extract for taste and color. NO MORE BUYING for me@ 2/2010 I froze about a dozen of these.. they thaw out and rise well and baked wonderfully!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      i doubled this recipe and then divided each batch into 4 sections. i cut each circle into 12 "pie" slices, and wound up with 96 rolls! i baked half of them, and froze the rest before the 2nd rising. that way i just thaw what i want, and then let them rise until doubled, then bake! this was easy, fun, and definitely worth it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      I've tried a lot of crescent roll recipes, and this is my favorite! I confess that I make them in the bread maker on the dough setting. I have also made the dough in the bread machine, refrigerated them, and used them the next day when I needed them (just make sure to weigh down the lid of whatever container you are using, or the dough will expand and pop the lid off). I've also tried this recipe with all butter and half butter, half Crisco, and I have to say that I like the all-butter version better. Absolutely heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      KC, as ever, you do not disappoint. These are fluffy little puffy pieces of Heaven! I had to use all butter, having no shortening in the pantry. Well, yum. My husband absolutely requires a bit of bread with his morning coffee, and these were (and will be, each time I make a batch) a huge slam-dunk hit. And so cute, too...fun to roll into crescent shape. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This a great recipe to have on hand. I have used it as a substitute for refrigerated rolls in a recipe and also as dinner rolls - great for both. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Phot Tag February 2009. Kitten I cannot get enough of these. I have made these two times now and absolutely find them dangerous to my hips. These are simple to make and the reward is a light and fluffy roll that goes great for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snacking. As usual, you have a top notch winner. Picture submitted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Yummy! We don't have Pillsbury Refrigerated Crescent Dinner Rolls in a can in Australia so this is a great recipe to use when the recipe calls for it. I used your recipe for Jalapeno-Chicken Crescent Pinwheels and it really worked well. I kept to the recipe as written but I used egg substitute, I even found Crisco in the US section of a large department store. Thank you Kittencal and have a speedy recovery

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Wow! I saved half a dozen crescent roll recipes to try, and I'll never bother with the other five. This is, by far, the BEST roll recipe I've ever tried. It was easy, and the results were the best I've had in 30 years of baking! Soft, dense, light rolls (yes, I know that sounds contradictory, but it isn't), with a spectacular flavor. I doubled the recipe, and used SAF Instant yeast instead of regular, and had to add a bit more flour since I live in a very damp climate. Hubby says these are the best rolls he's ever had and his mother was a professional baker. This is my new roll recipe from now on! Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      Great recipe! OK, I used the bread machine dough cycle to get me started. This was so easy. I confess to losing track of counting my cups of flour, but I must have guessed right, because these were so terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      These came out perfect, I actually used this as a dough for cinnamon rolls. I have been messing with different dough recipes, trying to get the right one, for the cinnamon rolls, this came out perfect. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      I wanted to make this to use in recipes that call for crescent roll dough, which is not available here. The dough was very easy to make. One recipe yielded four 8-oz pieces and two 7 1/2-oz pieces. I used one portion right away in Breakfast Pizza Squares Breakfast Pizza Squares by Karen From Colorado, and it worked beautifully. After the first rising, I rolled out the dough and lined a buttered pan. I then buttered the surface of the dough, let it rise again, filled it and baked it. It made a very nice, light and flavorful crust. Thank you very much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Soft Tender Crescent Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.5
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    36%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 9.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 84.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes