Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Slow Cooker Eye of Round Roast With Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Slow Cooker Eye of Round Roast With Gravy

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2011

      I had higher expectations for this roast, especially with all the good reviews. It smelled wonderful all day long. The end product didn't match the aroma however--it looked and tasted like boiled meat, even though I browned as directed. It was tender, but that was about all--no "wow" flavor for us. With today's meat prices, I was very disappointed, and will stick to traditional oven methods or yooper's no-fail "To Die For Crock Pot Roast" recipe, also found on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      Like ladyfingers, I too was a bit disappointed in this roast. I used an eye of round from a grass-fed beef supplier at my local farmer's market, and I am aware that they can be less tender because grass-fed beef has less fat. However I thought after 8 hrs in the crock pot, it would still be fall-apart tender. It was not, and in fact was overcooked. I added pearl onions, baby potatoes, and baby carrots to the crock as well, and they were good. The gravy was tasty but didn't knock me out, yet I can't figure out what I might add to make it more flavorful. Other than the eye of round that I used and adding the veggies, I followed the recipe to the letter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Sorry to say that this was somewhat of a flop. Could be because my buthcher doesn't carry "eye of round roast" so I had to use a rolled rump roast. That was the only change I made. All day I was waiting for that wonderful aroma of a pot roast, it never arrived. I even went outdoors for a few minutes then came back in my house and smelled nothing. The flavor of the meat was the same, very bland & needs salt. Sorry, I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Excellent!!!!
      Did make some minor changes.
      Added 1/2 c of red wine, decreased dry soup mix to 1T. Will increase to 2 T next time.
      My Crock pot cooks very quickly so the
      roast was done in 5 hours.
      Gravy was outstanding on mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      This was good. I only used 1/2 pkg. of dry onion soup, might use less next time. Ate it on rice but I think potatoes would have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This was outstanding! Even my husband who never is fond of crock pot meals, loved it, or I should say loved the gravy! Each item in this is a staple in my house, so it's effortless to throw together. However, I had a 1/2 cup of red wine sitting around and threw that in, as I do with all the meat dishes I prepare! Will be making this more often! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This is a super recipe! Guests raved about the tender beef and delicious gravy. I made this the day before I served it at a Christmas holiday family gathering. I followed the recipe exactly except for eliminating the pepper. Then I sliced it, arranged the slices in a 9x13" glass pan with lid and poured gravy over the slices and refrigerated it. Before the party, I just warmed it in the microwave. On party day, no mess, no fuss! I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I wish I could give this one ten stars! Excellent recipe. I followed it exactly except I added a couple of pounds of fresh, baby carrots. My roast was about 6 lbs. I cooked it for about 6 hours on low before removing. I thickened the gravy with cornstarch and water and served with leftover mashed potatoes, and carrots. I made this on Sunday, while I was making our Sunday dinner. When I got home from work the following day, all we had to do was slice the meat and heat individual plates in the microwave. This one is another great one from Kittencal! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This was excellent! Made it for Christmas Eve and my entire family LOVED it! The meat was so tender! It melts in your mouth! You can cut it with just a fork. The flavor is phenomenal! It was so easy...made preparing for Christmas a little easier! I will definitely make this recipe again! I also used this recipe for the basics of cooking a pork shoulder roast in the crockpot. Did everything the same, but added some merlot and a little extra beef broth to the sauce while the meat was cooking in the crockpot. I didn't have any dry onion soup mix at that time, so I chopped an onion and added some pepper and garlic powder. Once again, it was fabulous! Thanks Kittencal for sharing this "keeper" of a recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      Followed directions and what a disappointment this recipe is!!! If you're accustomed to GOOD food stay away from eye of round, it was barley fit for the dog. It is the driest and most flavorless piece of meat I have EVER eaten! The gravy tasted like cardboard, my husband didn't even like it and he'll eat just about anything. When he says "throw it in the garbage" it's REALLY bad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, using Golden Mushroom Soup. It cooked in the Crock-Pot for 9 hours. To make the gravy, I strained the liquid and then put liquid into a roux, and it was perfect! The meat was super tender, without being mushy. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      My favorite roast is an eye of round and this was a wonderful recipe. I did make a mistake and not use low sodium beef broth so my gravy was a tad salty but still very tasty. Will be making this again and trying the onion mushroom dry soup mix. Thank you so much Kitten for posting this recipe! Made and reviewed for KK's Recipe Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      A very cold day in Minnesota and we need hearty comfort food for dinner. I don't normally do beef in a crockpot because it always turns out overcooked and dry. I found a freezer burnt Beef Bottom Round in the back of my freezer and thought I'd give it a shot so it wouldn't go to waste. I used Campbell's Cream Mushroom and garlic soup and Lipton Garlic herb Soup mix as I didn't have onion. I also used my homemade beef stock which I make salt free. I cooked the whole thing on low for about 4 hours and the meat, although well done and for a very tough cut of meat, came out very tender and juicy. Both dh and I were amazed at the tenderness and the flavour of the gravy. I made a gravy with the sauce by putting in a saucepan and adding cornstarch mixed with my homemade beef stock. The sauce has lots of flavour. I served it with Bev's Carrots & Potatoes Roasted w/ Onion and Garlic. I will definitely make this again. It's a keeper. My thoughts are with you Kittencal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2014

      This was really good! Hubby was nervous - he had never tried eye of round before and was afraid it would be dry. But he enjoyed it enough to go back for seconds. Made the whole house smell wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      I ended up having a Ranch Dip packet instead of the dried soup packet and it worked just fine. Incredibly tender beef and it was worth the extra two minutes to make the easy pan gravy. I served with a toasted Israeli couscous with chopped almond and dried cranberries. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      This roast is very tender and goes well with horseradish and a green salad. I have made it twice and it came out delicious both times. Excellent fall comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      This was really yummyt! I added onions & carrots to the bottom of the crock pot before putting the roast in. I made the gravy by adding some of the cooked onion and cornstarch. Blended it up in the Vitamix. I served the roast with mashed potatoes. Everyone LOVED it!! I'll definitely make this again. Really easy & good comfort food for Fall & Winter. Thanks for the recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This roast comes out great! Tasty, moist, delicious. My kids loved it. Definitely a new favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      this was awesome. best gravy ever. Even my mom was impressed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Slow Cooker Eye of Round Roast With Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (295 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 514.8
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    49%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 154.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 870.8 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 50.5 g
    101%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low sodium beef broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes