23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are so delicious and one more easy way to eliminate unnecessary additives to our food! I have always hated the way the container of bread crumbs smelled, not appetizing! I used two loaves of whole wheat bread, made them two months ago and still have about half of the gallon size ziploc left. Thank you for so many great recipe ideas!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 May 06, 2010

Kittencal recipes are always the best! I was out of seasoned crumbs and searched Food.com. When I saw Kittencal's recipe popup, I knew it would be good......and it was great! I used plain bread crumbs instead of fresh bread and it worked out wonderfully. Thank you Kittencal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CMarsh6744 September 14, 2010

Alleluia ~~ an easy way to always have breadcrumbs on hand! Plus, I used whole wheat bread to up the nutrient factor. I used these breadcrumbs in Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs and froze the rest. Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SGpratt January 29, 2009

Like StacyW, I save my bread loaf ends and use them for these breadcrumbs. I toast the bread straight from the freezer and it always turns out great. I've never used store-bought crumbs since I found this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noob'sKitchen March 11, 2014

Somehow posted a review to the wrong recipe, so let me try again. I made a much smaller batch, but it turned out great. Everyone commented on the great flavor in the breading on the chicken. .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton August 08, 2012

These are great! They are not even comparable to store-bought seasoned breadcrumbs. We use them in countless things!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apprentice Colleen February 22, 2010

These breadcrumbs are unique because they are made of bread. Honestly, I don't even understand why.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drunk Chef June 30, 2009

What a great way to keep from wasting good bread! I used a whole round loaf of sourdough and it was perfect with the spices. Much better than purchased breadcrumbs. Another winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious March 25, 2009

I gave this recipe 4 stars. I had toasted up a couple of loaves of Target bread that needed to be used up and boy am I glad I did. I ran out of bread crumbs while making meatloaf and needed some fast. So I searched my cookbook and came across this recipe. I cut the recipe in half which made more then plenty of breadcrumbs for my families use. Matter of fact it made so much I was able to use some to refill my 15oz container, make my meatloaf, plus I have a bunch more to use. I choose not to use the pepper. Thanks for a fast & easy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut February 23, 2009

I haven't used store bought breadcrumbs since I came across this recipe. I use all left over bread to make these and always have a batch on hand. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveGoodFood December 25, 2008
Kittencal's Seasoned Dry Italian Breadcrumbs