Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Seasoned Dry Italian Breadcrumbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Seasoned Dry Italian Breadcrumbs

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      These are so delicious and one more easy way to eliminate unnecessary additives to our food! I have always hated the way the container of bread crumbs smelled, not appetizing! I used two loaves of whole wheat bread, made them two months ago and still have about half of the gallon size ziploc left. Thank you for so many great recipe ideas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Kittencal recipes are always the best! I was out of seasoned crumbs and searched Food.com. When I saw Kittencal's recipe popup, I knew it would be good......and it was great! I used plain bread crumbs instead of fresh bread and it worked out wonderfully. Thank you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Alleluia ~~ an easy way to always have breadcrumbs on hand! Plus, I used whole wheat bread to up the nutrient factor. I used these breadcrumbs in Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs and froze the rest. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Like StacyW, I save my bread loaf ends and use them for these breadcrumbs. I toast the bread straight from the freezer and it always turns out great. I've never used store-bought crumbs since I found this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      Somehow posted a review to the wrong recipe, so let me try again. I made a much smaller batch, but it turned out great. Everyone commented on the great flavor in the breading on the chicken. .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      These are great! They are not even comparable to store-bought seasoned breadcrumbs. We use them in countless things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      These breadcrumbs are unique because they are made of bread. Honestly, I don't even understand why.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      What a great way to keep from wasting good bread! I used a whole round loaf of sourdough and it was perfect with the spices. Much better than purchased breadcrumbs. Another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I gave this recipe 4 stars. I had toasted up a couple of loaves of Target bread that needed to be used up and boy am I glad I did. I ran out of bread crumbs while making meatloaf and needed some fast. So I searched my cookbook and came across this recipe. I cut the recipe in half which made more then plenty of breadcrumbs for my families use. Matter of fact it made so much I was able to use some to refill my 15oz container, make my meatloaf, plus I have a bunch more to use. I choose not to use the pepper. Thanks for a fast & easy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I haven't used store bought breadcrumbs since I came across this recipe. I use all left over bread to make these and always have a batch on hand. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Oops, I didn't realize I had not rated this recipe yet. I use only this recipe for breadcrumbs now. I always save the left over bread and just make it with that. I store it in my fridge, and have fresh breadcrumbs whenever I need them for another recipe. Great money saver, as I would have just thrown out the bread ends anyway. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I breaded chicken fingers with this recipe. Excellent!!! This recipe is so much better than store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Lots of flavor! I used it to make your Layered Mediterranean Mozzarella Eggplant (Aubergine) Bake! Thanks Kitten! :lol:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      These were a lifesaver! I have used them in everything and so much more flavorful than the store bought. I always have some bread going south somewhere and make this stuff up and freeze. I made a double batch and used it all within three months. Try it, you will never go back to the boxed stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Used this in meatballs for spaghetti last Sunday, great flavor. As OP said, I won't use store bought anymore. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Great breadcrumbs, I used them on Kittencals Pork chops. I will freeze the rest and look forward to the next time I use them. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      These breadcrumbs are wonderful! There wasn't a thing missing, all the flavors were there and they were all perfectly balanced. This worked perfectly well with fish and chicken both! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      What a great recipe! I have never tried seasoned breadcrumbs before and I loved them. They really add an extra zing to a recipe. Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Very easy, very nice flavor. I liked the addition of Parmesan cheese in this version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Mmm what tasty crumbs! I've stored mine in the freezer for future use but couldn't help but dive in and eat a handful as is! The aroma from these are devine! I used a wholemeal Pane di Casa loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Seasoned Dry Italian Breadcrumbs

    Serving Size: 1 (679 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 649.2
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    18%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 19.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 1514.2 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 103.2 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites