Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Scalloped Potato and Ground Beef Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Scalloped Potato and Ground Beef Casserole

    Average Rating:

    157 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 157

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2011

      Great recipe, was looking for something to do different with hamburger meat and this was it! After reading reviews about the potatoes not cooking enough, I remembered a recipe I had for potatoes au gratin...so for the first 20-25 minutes I cooked this at 400* degrees covered and then turned it back to 350* degrees covered for the remaining time this recipe called for. It was perfect. This made alot, so had plenty for lunch the next day! Thanks for posting another wonderful recipe Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      I made this recipe on 11/4/10 for our dinner. This recipe was made with a few changes due to our tastes and what was on hand.All I had was 14 ounces of ground beef so, I browned that with some onion,a bit of crushed red pepper flakes, some seasoned salt, and used garlic powder instead of the garlic cloves.For the sauce I used 1 1/2 cans of the soup, onions( which I had cooked in some margarine until slightly softened),and used a bit of milk instead of the light cream.Also used a little less sour cream, a bit more of the garlic powder,and instead of parmesan a parmesan/ romano blend was used.To make it a quicker assembly, I mixed the potatoes in with the sauce. I layered the dish as follows, half of the potatoes, sprinkled with half of the shredded cheese, and add all of the meat.Added the remaining potatoes, covered with foil and baked at 375 degrees for 1 hour. After that baking time, added the remaining cheese and baked for an additional 30 minutes. After removing from the oven, I let it "rest" for about 10 minutes. This was a very good " Comfort Food " type dish and I will make this again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Kitten you did it again! We loved this, will be making it again and again. I sliced the potatoes thin, about 1/8 inch and they cooked just fine. I added a touch more red pepper flakes and added fresh mushrooms and about 1/4 t of Italian seasoning to the meat at the same time as the garlic. I also sprinkled cheese into each layer. Thanks Kitten for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      A recipe! I ommited the entire section for the ground beef and only made au gratin potatoes(my kids wont eat it if I include the beef) and had little time so literally I made the sauce and threw in the cut up potatoes, added half a lb of cheddar cheese(mixed in) and voila. It was incredible! Thanks so much for posting this. The trick for all who have had issues with their potatoes not getting soft enough is to first cut them very fine and second, make sure you use a big 13" by 9" baking dish so they have room to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      I am relatively new to food.com, but I know that if Kittencals name is in the recipe, it's a must try! I made this tonight for dinner and my husband loved it! I try recipes based solely on the reviews, so I had to come do my part and put in my two cents. I was looking for a new ground beef recipe that was easy and yummy, because my husband and I both are picky eaters. This recipe was great! I'll definitely be making it again.
      I left out the green peppers, and used minced onion instead of chopped. I also left the foil on the casserole for the entire 1 1/2 hrs cooking time. I think it helped to prevent the beef from being too dry or browning too much. I think it also helped to cook up the potatoes just right. I am excited to try different variations of this keeper. I bet it would be just as good with chicken instead of beef. Thanks again, Kittencal, for leaving your mark on my dinner table....shhhhh! Nobody has to know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      This is a keeper. I would have post pictures but entire casserole was eaten so quickly there was no time for pictures. I did not have a couple of things like sour cream, so that was omitted and for cream I used 2% milk, all cheese used was shredded cheddar and oh yeah...no pork so no bacon juice. I'm a cajun girl so Tony Cachere seasoning is a must as season salt...Everything was DELICIOUS. Kittencal I Love Your ideas and have tried a number of your recipes. All very SATISFYING... keep posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      So delicious!!!! Will definitely make again and again! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      This was a very enjoyable meal. I did nuke the potatoes a bit before mixing them with the sauce to make sure they'd get done. I added grated cheddar cheese to the top for about the last fifteen minutes of cooking. Will definitely be making this again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      As I sit here typing my review I have my second one of these casserole's baking in the oven! I'm anticipating it turning out as good as the first one I made! This is absolutely great! My daughter loved it, which is a plus for me! As other reviewers suggested I microwaved the potatoes first. The flavors blend very well together and I KNOW I will be making this many more times! Thanks Kittencal!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Loved it! This was a winner. I didn't have an onion and I didn't have 2 cans of the cream of chicken, so I substituted French onion soup for both of the missing items. Also, I pre-cooked the potatoes a little before assembling the casserole. Thank you for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      i was really disappointed!! it tasted okay, but i was expecting a "wow" casserole. i made it up with some biscuits and it was a very filling meal. our three kids, myself, my husband and two of his friends were able to eat lots and feel full... the quantity is great... but i just wasn't a fan of how it turned out. next time i think i'd stick with regular scalloped potatoes and roast. sorry. :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      Made last night for a dinner part and it went over very well. I made a couple small changes. We have a few vegetarians in our group so I made a dish for them and used quorn ground meat substitute and it turned out good. I also substituted leeks for the onions and in the meat dish I added some ground breakfast sausage. Ran out of chicken soup so I used cream of mushroom. It was all very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      Thank you Kitten, for another yum... After slicing the potatoes, I steamed them for a few minutes, maybe 5, then added them to your recipe. Oh My Goodness... Husband ate 3<br/>helpings, and sat on the couch panting like a full puppy.. I think I will make a recipe box<br/>reserved for Kittencalskitchen.. Hee hee you are making my life so much easier. Annie A

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      Very good meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Turned out very tasty, though I had to sub cream of mushroom for cream of chicken. It was a hit. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      I was totally disappointed. I saw the rating and thought that it would be a sure thing. The twenty minute prep time turned into almost an hour. The potatoes never did cook. (If you have to ladle the sauce mixture between every layer of potato so that it does not become one solid potato again, it should have said so.) The crushed red pepper was WAY too much. Onion in both the sauce and the beef was overbearing. For a three hour dinner with two hungry men in the house, I'm throwing it in the garbage. It's a huge amount of food to waste. It could have been 3 meals. I have never gotten a recipe this bad off of food.com.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Comfort food at its finest. I sliced the potatoes very thin and left the skins on for nutrition. I thought there was a bit too much cheese, so I will leave out the middle layer next time and only use 1 cup on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Not that you need another review on this, but I just had to say thank you again for all your wonderful recipes. My DH does not eat left overs - ever - he ate this two nights in a row and raved how it was even better the 2nd night - truly a first. Thanks so much for sharing your talent with us Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

    • on October 02, 2013

      Really easy recipe - everything I needed was in my pantry or refrigerator. I love recipes like this - I didn't have to run out to the store for one particular ingredient. My entire family hates casseroles, but I keep trying to find one that they'll like. This was definitely a hit!! Even my husband said,"I hate casseroles, but this one was good!". Kittencal never lets me down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Scalloped Potato and Ground Beef Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.8
     
    Calories from Fat 273
    52%
    Total Fat 30.4 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 103.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 835.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    light cream

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites