161 Reviews

Great recipe, was looking for something to do different with hamburger meat and this was it! After reading reviews about the potatoes not cooking enough, I remembered a recipe I had for potatoes au gratin...so for the first 20-25 minutes I cooked this at 400* degrees covered and then turned it back to 350* degrees covered for the remaining time this recipe called for. It was perfect. This made alot, so had plenty for lunch the next day! Thanks for posting another wonderful recipe Kittencal!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimb1048 January 21, 2011

I made this recipe on 11/4/10 for our dinner. This recipe was made with a few changes due to our tastes and what was on hand.All I had was 14 ounces of ground beef so, I browned that with some onion,a bit of crushed red pepper flakes, some seasoned salt, and used garlic powder instead of the garlic cloves.For the sauce I used 1 1/2 cans of the soup, onions( which I had cooked in some margarine until slightly softened),and used a bit of milk instead of the light cream.Also used a little less sour cream, a bit more of the garlic powder,and instead of parmesan a parmesan/ romano blend was used.To make it a quicker assembly, I mixed the potatoes in with the sauce. I layered the dish as follows, half of the potatoes, sprinkled with half of the shredded cheese, and add all of the meat.Added the remaining potatoes, covered with foil and baked at 375 degrees for 1 hour. After that baking time, added the remaining cheese and baked for an additional 30 minutes. After removing from the oven, I let it "rest" for about 10 minutes. This was a very good " Comfort Food " type dish and I will make this again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 05, 2010

Kitten you did it again! We loved this, will be making it again and again. I sliced the potatoes thin, about 1/8 inch and they cooked just fine. I added a touch more red pepper flakes and added fresh mushrooms and about 1/4 t of Italian seasoning to the meat at the same time as the garlic. I also sprinkled cheese into each layer. Thanks Kitten for another winner!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo February 14, 2011

A recipe! I ommited the entire section for the ground beef and only made au gratin potatoes(my kids wont eat it if I include the beef) and had little time so literally I made the sauce and threw in the cut up potatoes, added half a lb of cheddar cheese(mixed in) and voila. It was incredible! Thanks so much for posting this. The trick for all who have had issues with their potatoes not getting soft enough is to first cut them very fine and second, make sure you use a big 13" by 9" baking dish so they have room to cook.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4twins September 28, 2010

I am relatively new to food.com, but I know that if Kittencals name is in the recipe, it's a must try! I made this tonight for dinner and my husband loved it! I try recipes based solely on the reviews, so I had to come do my part and put in my two cents. I was looking for a new ground beef recipe that was easy and yummy, because my husband and I both are picky eaters. This recipe was great! I'll definitely be making it again.
I left out the green peppers, and used minced onion instead of chopped. I also left the foil on the casserole for the entire 1 1/2 hrs cooking time. I think it helped to prevent the beef from being too dry or browning too much. I think it also helped to cook up the potatoes just right. I am excited to try different variations of this keeper. I bet it would be just as good with chicken instead of beef. Thanks again, Kittencal, for leaving your mark on my dinner table....shhhhh! Nobody has to know!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JYMINI June 12, 2012

This is a keeper. I would have post pictures but entire casserole was eaten so quickly there was no time for pictures. I did not have a couple of things like sour cream, so that was omitted and for cream I used 2% milk, all cheese used was shredded cheddar and oh yeah...no pork so no bacon juice. I'm a cajun girl so Tony Cachere seasoning is a must as season salt...Everything was DELICIOUS. Kittencal I Love Your ideas and have tried a number of your recipes. All very SATISFYING... keep posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dlytefull April 11, 2014

So delicious!!!! Will definitely make again and again! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessicaGuinn01 June 11, 2011

This was a very enjoyable meal. I did nuke the potatoes a bit before mixing them with the sauce to make sure they'd get done. I added grated cheddar cheese to the top for about the last fifteen minutes of cooking. Will definitely be making this again. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katlinn August 24, 2010

As I sit here typing my review I have my second one of these casserole's baking in the oven! I'm anticipating it turning out as good as the first one I made! This is absolutely great! My daughter loved it, which is a plus for me! As other reviewers suggested I microwaved the potatoes first. The flavors blend very well together and I KNOW I will be making this many more times! Thanks Kittencal!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WendyAllyn July 17, 2010

Loved it! This was a winner. I didn't have an onion and I didn't have 2 cans of the cream of chicken, so I substituted French onion soup for both of the missing items. Also, I pre-cooked the potatoes a little before assembling the casserole. Thank you for another great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dadcooks May 24, 2010
Kittencal's Scalloped Potato and Ground Beef Casserole