Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits)

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2008

      This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 3/5/08 - This was simple and fast to make. We enjoyed the unique flavor the worcestershire sauce brought to this great southern breakfast dish. We used Tennessee Pride sausage as it is Buddha's favorite brand. This gravy is scrumptious and very filling, with terrific flavor. My MIL had 2 generous helpings which says alot as she normally has more of a nibbler type of appetite no matter how good the dish. Thanks Kit, for sharing this wonderful recipe. ~Bird

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was awesome!!! I had a horrible hankering for sausage gravy and biscuits and this hit the spot perfectly. It was incredibly thick (but I think I just added too much flour) and a bit spicy for me - but my DH found it to be perfect. Thanks for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      A solid 5-star sausage gravy. I made it for a brunch for 14 people so I tripled the recipe with no problem adding 1 tsp pepper flakes. I used whole milk and it was plenty thick. Everyone loved it. Leftovers were doggie-bagged! Great recipe Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Just wanted a lite dinner , this came out perfect, great taste, easy to prepare and concistency couldn't have been better.. didn't have red pepper flakes, substituted a little cayenne pepper. My motto is "if you want a great recipe use kittencal's"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      just what i was looking for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Made this for my family as they were all home this past weekend--first time since Christmas 2007. Wow, I did double the batch and almost didn't have enough. The best gravy recipe I have ever used. Will only use this in the future. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I'm not a gravy person...but my husband (who is very picky about gravy) and I loved it. We didn't time the biscuits and the gravy being done at the same time and so my gravy got a little too thick while waiting on the biscuits...we thinned it with milk and it was perfect. We made half of this recipe and it will be our go to gravy for biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I have never "loved" sawmill gravy before. It isn't something that I would make for myself. If I make it, it is for my husband (who would have the same reaction to sawdust as he would a gourmet meal) . However, I loved this. I mean, I really loved it. My husband had one helping and over the next two days I ate the rest (on toast - don't care for biscuits). I don't usually ever use worshestershire in anything because I hate it but I dared to use 1 tsp in this recipe and I LOVE IT! I also used the whole milk instead of the cream, and sage sausage. Man, if you are going to make biscuits and gravy use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Very good. I've not tried red pepper in gravy before; my husband liked it and I thought it was okay (he loves heat, but I don't, so "okay" is a good thing). I loved the flavor of the gravy itself; it came together easily. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      My all time favorite breakfast !!!! I love to have this before a day of golf!! Somehow I think I will work the calories off but swinging so much !!!!!!!!! Thanks Kitten.Pollyw

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

    • on April 21, 2008

      Fabulous! It's only little tweaks different than my usual version, but this is a delicious improvement. This is almost silly with the pork sausage, but I don't buy milk, so I used soy milk instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I've made it twice now for DH and he LOVES it! We haven't had leftovers yet, and there is just the two of us! I use skim milk, and cut out the red pepper flakes all together. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Wow! What an amazing recipe. You can definitely use milk to cut down on the fat because the flour thickens it up nicely. I used sausage with sage flavor and it was marvelous! This is definitely one that's going in the permanent cookbook. I added more pepper flakes because I like my food spicy but other than that I followed the recipe and it was great. Ten stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Although this is really "not my thing", I made it for my husband (who had been begging for it) and everyone ended up liking it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      delicious Kitty, we loved this, thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This was really, really good. Everyone in my family that tried it really liked it. It was a little thick, so we thinned it a little bit, and did not add the dried pepper flakes. We ate this over freshly-baked bisquits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I made this on 2/29/08 as part as mine and my SO's dinner.And all I can tell you is that it's really very good.I loved the way the red pepper flakes gave it a great little "kick" I served this over Buttermilk Biscuits by MaeEast,along with fried potatoes and it made a great " southern style comfort food "Thank you so much for posting a very good recipe. This will be made again,and "Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This is the first time I hve even had sausage gravy and I was scared to try it. My boyfriend wanted in the orst way so I looked up the recipe and I have to say we both absolutely loved it. It was the perfect consistancy and flavor. Bravo to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      This was great! I made homemade biscuits to go with. I had never made biscuits and gravy before, and I was very impressed with this first attempt. I will be making this gravy often! It was simply wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits)

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.4
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    64%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 98.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 105.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 19.1 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites