Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits)

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2010

      Great sausage gravy ~ made to use with another recipe, but it was quick to make and tasted quite good. Thanks ~ into the keeper cookbook with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

    • on March 29, 2010

      This was super. I didn't use the onion and used a little cayenne instead of crushed red pepper flakes. I aslo used Cavender's Greek seasoning instead of seasoning salt. I love the recipe and the method. No lumps and it tastes great. You can't ask for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I am now good at making sausage gravy! Previously, I was only good at eating it. Excellent recipe. My only question was that the ingredients had 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons of flour written and the recipe said 1/4 cup and 2 teaspoons. I suspect that I should have used the teaspoons, as two tablespoons made the gravy so thick that I added more milk. But it was still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Sooo good that hubby decided this was THE recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Great recipe! I always use Jimmy Dean sausage roll - the light one. Not only is it a bit better for us but we like the taste much better too. Also used biscuits from the freezer case. DH likes his with cheese so I always add some grated sharp cheddar to taste in our gravy - it really is yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      When I have tried to make sausage gravy all I tasted was milk and flour but with this recipe I had great flavor. I did use the Jimmy Dean sausage in the roll, one small onion and milk instead of half and half. Also made Kitten's Kittencal's Easy Stir and Drop Cheese Biscuits to serve with the sausage gravy and there was not one bit of gravy leftover. Next time I will double the recipe so DH will have enough to finish up the biscuits later in the week. Thank you hon for teaching me a very tasty way to make sausage gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Good gravy, what good gravy this is! It's so good served over hot fluffy biscuits. The little dash of red pepper really adds a spark. I used Irish sausage (with garlic and basil) and milk. Another great one from Kittencal! Made for KK's Chef's Pick Top 25.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Scrumptious! I served it over refrigerated biscuits for my family, and on white rice wrapped in a flour tortilla for myself (the carb-aholic). Even my pickier family members liked it! This is a keeper! :) Next time I may try with faux sausage for my vegetarian sister.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Made for KK's Kittencals Chefs Top 25 Picks. I can understand why this recipe is one of her top 25 as it made up into a wonderful and yummy breakfast. Our family has been longtime fans of biscuits and gravy with our eggs and bacon. This recipe will now become my go to recipe for this as everyone here raved wildly and since making two days ago, has been requested both days thereafter. Even my picky eater DGS gobbled down his biscuit with "Lumpy Sauce" . Thank You Kitz for another fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Great Gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This was excellent. I had never had sausage gravy that was very appealing. This is excellent. Now, if I can learn to make biscuits that are not similar to hockey pucks.... (The saga continues...) ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      simply yummy! easy to make. i never knew I could make tasty gravy. this is definitely a keeper. thank you kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This is exactly how I was taught to make sausage gravy and it's so funny to watch people who have never had good sausage gravy try it for the first time. LOL, you can actually see their eye's light up and a look of pure pleasure wash over their face, hehe. I agree that the secret to good sausage gravy is that the sausage has to be browned properly and also use half-n-half. We love it over home fried potatoes, mashed potatoes, a bowl of grits. fried grits, fried green tomatoes, corn bread and biscuits. If it will sit still on the plate long enough, one of us will pour sausage gravy on it. I also make it with venison sausage and it's wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This was great comfort food for a rainy night! I added some italian seasoning to the sausage as it cooked and a lot of garlic. I used whole milk which thickened very nicely. The bf had seconds and is looking forward to eating it for lunch today- thanks for another great meal Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This is a very well written, easy to follow recipe. I used low fat sausage and the meal lacked flavor because of it. I think you really must use hot sausage. I also noticed the taste of the Worchestershire more than anything else. I only used one teaspoon. I did use the half and half so the sauce was very creamy and rich. The entire dish just seemed to lack the flavor I was looking for. I may try it again but using a hot sausage. For us this was good but not great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      My roommate and I loved this! We're normally night people but making this for breakfast definitely makes the morning more appealing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Delish! We enjoyed breakfast for dinner tonight. I used Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage and still added the pepper flakes. I used about 1/2 cup 2% percent milk and the rest half and half. Thanks Kitten! I think the worcestershire sauce was a nice touch. We will be having this often. Made for The Best of 2008 Cookbook swap and recommended by 2Bleu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I've never attempted biscuits & gravy before- I made this for dinner tonight & it's excellent. Made exactly as written, over sour cream bisquick biscuits....Oh man is this good :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      MMMM-mmmm, this is so delicious and filling and absolute comfort food for cold wintry nights. I used a medium heat bulk sausage from Purnell's. Because of the bit of nip already added I only included about 1/2 t. of the red pepper flakes. Used 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2 and 1 cup skim milk. Perfect outcome. I made my biscuits using Bisquick. A great satisyfing meal for the men here Kitt.~ Made for ZaarStars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits)

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.4
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    64%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 98.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 105.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 19.1 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites