67 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. I made this after DD requested it for dinner the other night. I was on the lookout for a creamier gravy then mine and this is it. Thank you for sharing, we loved it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 20, 2011

Good an yummy. We took the onions down a bit and didn't add the crushed red pepper because my wife has a sensitive stomach. Was still very good though.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Randell44 January 23, 2011

Well, this was my first time to make country gravy and I'm so glad I chose this recipe - the reviews helped make my decision. It was delicious! So easy and my son called it "stellar"! A hit with the whole family - my s-i-l can't wait for me to make it for him! Made no changes - used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and a few of the pepper flakes and milk rather than half and half. It was creamy and delicious and perfect amount of zing! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
youngbloodsuz September 12, 2010

On a recent trip to the US I had biscuits and gravy one morning at breakfast -- sold! There was a part of me that was feeling a guilty but that part was completely run over by the part that was just loving it! Was having a bit of a longing for that once more and the recipe not only matched but surpassed memory. Thank for posting Kittencal -- as usual your recipe is spot on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FEPO October 15, 2012

Made it with jimmy dean hot sausage and a little extra black pepper, it was a hit. Made biscuits that were "ok" and it didn't matter, the gravy was awesome! Thanks again, dinner tonight a hit! A special meal, not a once a week kind of thing. Used 1% milk and I can't imagine what it's like with a more rich milk base. Very rich and tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Top of the Hill December 02, 2011

Perfect sausage gravy! Just as good as what you'd get at most restaurants. Will definitely use this recipe again & again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. February 15, 2011

Another winner by Kitten. Made as directed with excellent results. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo January 16, 2011

I attempted to make this recipe the first time and chickened out because I didn't trust the sprinkle flour over the sausage until dissolved. So, I did it again exactly as written and it came out perfect. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delenn October 12, 2010

FINALLY a sausage gravy that tastes exactly how I remember it tasting as a kid. This recipe is spot on. I used 1 lb of Tennessee Pride mild sausage instead of 3/4 lb because I can't do much with an extra quarter lb. I upped the spices slightly, used just over 2 cups whole milk, and it was mouth watering. Very easy to make, I followed the steps as instructed. I was a little worried about pouring milk over the meat, not sure if that much milk could thicken. But it was thick and creamy and inhaled after about 12 minutes. Keeping this one around!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbangstad February 17, 2015

I have never "loved" sawmill gravy before. It isn't something that I would make for myself. If I make it, it is for my husband (who would have the same reaction to sawdust as he would a gourmet meal) . However, I loved this. I mean, I really loved it. My husband had one helping and over the next two days I ate the rest (on toast - don't care for biscuits). I don't usually ever use worshestershire in anything because I hate it but I dared to use 1 tsp in this recipe and I LOVE IT! I also used the whole milk instead of the cream, and sage sausage. Man, if you are going to make biscuits and gravy use this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMia October 10, 2014
Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits)