Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits)

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2011

      This is very good. I made this after DD requested it for dinner the other night. I was on the lookout for a creamier gravy then mine and this is it. Thank you for sharing, we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Good an yummy. We took the onions down a bit and didn't add the crushed red pepper because my wife has a sensitive stomach. Was still very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Well, this was my first time to make country gravy and I'm so glad I chose this recipe - the reviews helped make my decision. It was delicious! So easy and my son called it "stellar"! A hit with the whole family - my s-i-l can't wait for me to make it for him! Made no changes - used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and a few of the pepper flakes and milk rather than half and half. It was creamy and delicious and perfect amount of zing! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      On a recent trip to the US I had biscuits and gravy one morning at breakfast -- sold! There was a part of me that was feeling a guilty but that part was completely run over by the part that was just loving it! Was having a bit of a longing for that once more and the recipe not only matched but surpassed memory. Thank for posting Kittencal -- as usual your recipe is spot on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      Made it with jimmy dean hot sausage and a little extra black pepper, it was a hit. Made biscuits that were "ok" and it didn't matter, the gravy was awesome! Thanks again, dinner tonight a hit! A special meal, not a once a week kind of thing. Used 1% milk and I can't imagine what it's like with a more rich milk base. Very rich and tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Perfect sausage gravy! Just as good as what you'd get at most restaurants. Will definitely use this recipe again & again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Another winner by Kitten. Made as directed with excellent results. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I attempted to make this recipe the first time and chickened out because I didn't trust the sprinkle flour over the sausage until dissolved. So, I did it again exactly as written and it came out perfect. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2014

      I have never "loved" sawmill gravy before. It isn't something that I would make for myself. If I make it, it is for my husband (who would have the same reaction to sawdust as he would a gourmet meal) . However, I loved this. I mean, I really loved it. My husband had one helping and over the next two days I ate the rest (on toast - don't care for biscuits). I don't usually ever use worshestershire in anything because I hate it but I dared to use 1 tsp in this recipe and I LOVE IT! I also used the whole milk instead of the cream, and sage sausage. Man, if you are going to make biscuits and gravy use this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      This came out absolutely perfect and didn't take forever. Although I did use a full pound of sausage, because who really keeps a quarter pound of sausage in the fridge and actually uses it. Every one gobbled it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      I was making chicken fried steak patties and wanted a sausage gravy topping. This was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Yummy--I substituted scallions, and some cream because I had them---great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      I never made sausage gravy before. My bf & I had gone to Bob Evans recently & had a bad experience with cold, old gravy. My bf said "I bet you could make better". When we were at the store, he threw a roll of sausage in the cart & my fate was sealed. Didn't know which recipe to try first..when in doubt pick a Kittencal recipe. Did not disappoint. The only thing I did differently was add more red pepper flakes. We like spicy. Really good! Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

    • on January 30, 2011

      I added the onions and used Turkey sausage, the seasoning salt and 1% milk. I did not use the chillies. I added 1 tsp of chopped fresh garlic and 1 tsp of chopped fresh ginger and 1/3 cup of no fat sour cream for a bit of extra flavor. Absolutely wonderful!!! I will make it over and over again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

    • on August 16, 2010

      Worthy of lifting the ban on plate-licking! Subbed finely ground white rice flour for the all-purpose flour due to a wheat allergy. Used 2 tsp. onion powder instead of the fresh chopped onion. Even just 1/2 tsp. seasoning salt was too much for our taste; maybe the Banquet/Swift Premium brown & serve patties I used are higher in sodium than the bulk roll called for in the original recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      Excellent for Ozarks biscuits & gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Kitten I've loved your recipes forever, however if you happen to find Tennessee Pride sausage in your area, stock up! This sausage is sooo full of flavor! And if you can't find TN Pride add a few dashes of Louisiana Hot Sauce....melds through the gravy better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      SOOOO yummy! Hubby was grateful for the breakfast after a hard weekend of work. Thanks for the awsome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits)

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.4
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    64%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 98.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 105.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 19.1 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes