Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Salisbury Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Salisbury Steak

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2010

      I finally made this recipe long after I saved it (don't know why but the amount of salt in the onion soup probably scared me - which is silly cuz I've been using the Lipton onions soup meat loaf thing for years, where you put the whole thing in for 1 1/2 lbs). Well, no it's not salty at all, when you use half a package for at LEAST 1 pounds meat (which I do) and make the gravy with the rest of it, and add NO extra salt. I think it also may be a factor in whether you use regular or lean ground meat - a less amount of drained meat will absorb more - l also find it a common error to not realize how much salt is actually hidden in packaged foods that you may realize-they put in fine print. I also use a low-sodium beef stock and flour mixture often and add the can of mushrooms including the juice. Not only so simple, easy and flavourful, it tastes divine. My 13 yr old daughter has claimed this recipe as her favorite and will not be satisfied unless it is made on a regular basis - and over "smushed potatoes" - Boiled with thin skins so soft till you can mash them, but you don't, and add a bunch of salt and pepper and margarine and fresh parsely if you have it.. yum with everything

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      oh my goodness this was so good and i refuse now to eat the frozen kind! i cut it down to 1 lbs ground beef (serves 5), and the onion soup mix packages i had were smaller (1.25 oz) so it worked out perfectly. All the other adjusted measurements when you change the serving size work out well, and i just used 1 tsp garlic powder, and a whole egg. They weren't too mushy to work with or anything. I didn't make the gravy, but just made my own brown gravy to go with. so delicious, this will be a regular in my house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Amazing recipe! The only thing I changed up was like another reviewer I used PaulaG's Onion Seasoning Mix (#89857) because I did not have any onion soup mix in the house. It turned out awesome! My Hubby loooooooved it! Thanks so much for another great recipe! The gravy this made was wonderful, I did not have cream in the house so we used milk instead and it thinned it out wonderfully. I did not let the salisbury steaks simmer as long as they were supposed to(we were hungry) and they were still amazing!!!! :) Yummy and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Yum. Here are the changes I made: used 93% lean beef; added 1 1/2 Tbsp of horseradish to beef (stole idea from another Zaar recipe); added freshly ground flax seed as well as bread crumbs; sliced a whole onion rather than chopped it; replaced 1 can of cream of mushroom soup with 1 can of French Onion soup; thinned the sauce with fat free milk; at the end, I added 2 splashes of dry sherry to the sauce; didn't use the parm. Sounds like I re-created the recipe, but not really. I try and keep things lower fat if possible and boost nutritional value - hence the fat free milk, freshly ground flax seed, and lower fat beef. I like horseradish, that's why I tried adding that. Next time, I think I'll replace the canned French Onion soup with an equal amount of my fresh beef broth - also a Kittencal recipe! - which I just finished making. I made mashed potatoes and it was a total comfort food experience. Thank you once again - Mary

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This was a winner at my house, even with the 12-year-old who was sure he didn't like Salisbury Steak. I scaled the patty ingredients back to use 1 pound of meat (with 1 T onion soup mix), and made a full batch of gravy. 1 pound of meat gave me 5 patties, and the amount of gravy was perfect. Served with mashed potatoes and peas with mushrooms. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      Really delicious! I have never made Salisbury steak, so was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. Made a half recipe and used leftover gravy plus only a quarter of the recipe's gravy. This was tender and delicious. Ate with mashed potatoes smothered in gravy. Used half package total of the Lipton Onion Soup Mix. Thanks for giving something else to make for supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      I made this for my family and they loved it. We served mashed potatoes, corn and biscuits with this. What a comforting meal. I really like how the loaves held up nice an firm. The gravy that goes with this is rich and flavorful. This is a keeper, thanks for sharing with us. I love trying your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      My family loved this. They were fighting over it and there were no left overs at all. I did make a "cheater" way though. I used frozen hamburger patties and fried those on the stove, made the gravy in a pan, then put it in the oven while I made some mashed potatoes. It was so wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!! It's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      This recipe is a family favorite. I made a couple changes, to save time. I add the chopped onions to the meat. And instead of making a gravy, I just use a jar of beef or mushroom gravy. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      I just finished making this recipe for dinner and it turned out great! I made my own gravy but followed the recipe for the burgers. I precooked the burgers in my George Foreman grill to help reduce the amount of grease. I thought the flavor of the burgers tasted great by itself and would not only make the Salisbury Steak again but would also use the recipe the next time I make regular burgers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      I made this recipe exactly as written, it was DELICIOUS! My DH couldn't get enough of it and even my 4 yr old ate all of his. I had to simmer for about 2 hrs because I didn't get my potatoes on to boil on time and they took longer than expected, but it was still wonderful. Served it with smashed potatoes and green beans, a very good meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      Kittencal, you've done it again! I haven't found one posted recipe of yours that didn't sound perfect, and I have never been let down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Absolutely loved this I can't stress how important it is to use a good Worcestershire sauce like Lea & Perrins I discovered the difference in taste last year and there is no going back. The only thing I did differently was thin it more than it called for cranked it up to medium low and put a lid on since I needed to get it done a bit quicker and I had to have mine over rice other than potatoes since I was out but it was fantastic on the rice as well. I only used 1/2 or pkg of onion soup mix between both mixtures to cut the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      WOW!!! This was fantastic! Another keeper from Kittencal. I did use fresh mushrooms{I don't like canned}.I used three cans of mushroom soup for that extra gravy and it was out of this world. Thanks for posting another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      This has a good taste, but the gravy it what makes this dish! This is very easy to make plus you have everything on hand. I used 3 onions rather than the packets, I do not use soup packets for anything. With all the spice available to us plus fresh, why use the packets when you know that fresh is best! I also used 1 cup of beef broth and 1 cup chicken broth, yes I said chicken broth. Everything else I followed as wrote!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      Sorry Kittencal, I usually love your recipes hands-down, but we didn't like this one. I followed the recipe and added the full package of onion soup mix to the burgers and then measured out 1/2 for the sauce and used low-sodium soup, but it was still too salty and too onion-y for DH and I. I haven't had salisbury steaks since childhood, but I loved them then so I thought I would love these. I think I just don't like the taste that the onion soup mix adds to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Once again, I made a Kittencal recipe and once again it was a complete success! I didn't change a thing and my entire family loved it!. This has replaced my usual salisbury steak recipe from now on! Thanks again for another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      pretty good. i used beefy onion mix in the beef to add more beef flavor and used the whole envelope. added extra worcestershire and some salt. in the gravy i used the whole envelope of liption onion BUT I sifted the mix to separate out all that extra onion. after the cream didnt thin enough i used water. we liked this a lot. but next time i think i will sift out the onions in the beef. I did drain off almost all the fat from the pan to before adding onions etc. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Loved it! Didn't use the gravy recipe as I am not a fan of cream of soup gravies. I created my own adapting this recipe and using Argo's Easy Gravy as a base instead of the cream of soup. Used Dry Onion Soup Mix Substitute for the onion soup mix. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Salisbury Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.2
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    51%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 89.8 mg
    29%
    Sodium 604.8 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 20.9 g
    41%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium condensed cream of mushroom soup

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes