Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Rich Homemade Beef Stock (Crock-Pot or Stove Top) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Rich Homemade Beef Stock (Crock-Pot or Stove Top)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2011

      I have used this with both beef and lamb as the meat/bones in this. I agree with several of the other reviewers, as I feel it is a bit bland, but not too bad (hence the 4 stars: 5 for ease, 3 for taste). To compensate for the blandness I have begun to make it with a few changes. I use fresh herbs instead of dried (adding thyme to the parsley called for), add a bit more carrot, add a couple of cloves of garlic or leek (depending on what I have around), and reduce it a bit before use. In general though, I think it is a good recipe and really like the oven browning (it's a great shortcut).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Wow, I always tend to like Kittencal's recipes, so I was shocked when I didn't like this. I did as stated and found the flavor to be really bland. So I played with it a bit, even trying to reduce it for a stronger flavor. It never worked. I have to say that for the amount I got out of it, I can purchase a really great organic beef stock for about $3.00. This just wasn't worth it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      In all my cooking, I have never made beef stock for some reason. I found this method really, really easy. I did leave it for about 24 hours (driving my husband crazy with the delicious smell)and I think every last suggestion of flavour was removed from those bones. After I strained it, I mashed the vegetables into a thick sort of paste and used that and the stock to make a beef and barley soup. I think the vegetables retained alot of flavour and I didn't want to lose that... the soup turned out really well and I will definately make stock using this method again. I might add a bit more seasoning next time. Thanks Kittencal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I have always roasted the bones before making any stock. I like the idea of covering the bones with tomato paste before roasting. I read the reviews before making this stock so I added more onions (unpeeled), celery leaves, 3 unpeeled garlic cloves, 1 celery stalk and 2 large bay leaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      I had heard about browning bones before, but had never tried it! We had Prime Rib one night and I had other bones in my freezer to use up, so I decided to try this recipe! Well worth the effort making your own stock. A good stock is SUPPOSED to be bland...therefore you have control in seasoning your final dish accordingly! I am watching our salt intake and so I like knowing exactly what is going into my dishes! Browning your bones in the oven is the key process. I had my crockpot going for 24 hours and my kitchen has this incredible smell going right now!!! Thanks, Kitten ...I would do this one again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      I have never made Beef Stock, so I decided to try it. Never, ever, would I have imagine buying bones from the grocery store, but I did. This was a very simple recipe to make, so with this being my first time, I followed the directions right down to the letter, using fresh herbs, to get the general idea. I can't begin to tell you about the incredible aroma, it smelled so good, let alone the taste!! I then portioned it to 1/2 cup, 1 cup size in Ziploc bags to freeze and use when needed . Also reserved some to ice cube trays. I was proud of myself for making this, and I believe it was a success, that I can't wait to make it again!! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      I have been making this broth for years and it is the absolute best you can make. I stick to the recipe exactly and cook in the crockpot for 24 hours on low.....liquid gold. My friends are amazed at how good it is and all want the recipe. It makes homemade soups SO much better than using store-bought. You need to look around for the marrow bones in the grocery store. They're not readily available. The butcher in the grocery store will order them for me on special request. I find the marrow bones are crucial to the success of this recipe. Knuckle bones, etc., do not work, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This is absolutely the MOST FANTASTIC stock...EVER!! Thanks for another awesome recipe!! :-) Update 06/12/10...I first made and reviewed this stock last December. I made two Crock Pots full because of the amount of Beef Bones I had. It took me a couple of days but I froze the stock from both crocks in ice cube trays. I've been using them for months in anything that calls for broth/stock. It brings a whole new dimension to even the most simple of recipes and makes the best-ever homemade soup. Still Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      this stock is fabulous! I cooked over stove top and used it to make French Onion Soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Excellent! I was a little afraid it would come out tomato-colored, but all the orange ended up in the fat :) This was easy and the stock has a lovely flavor - Will definitely make it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Wonderful stock recipe. I have been using this recipe for a while now, not sure why I didn't get it reviewed. I love to make large batches of this and freeze so I always have stock on hand. It really does have "deep" flavor. So much better then store bought and not as saltly, just genuine true beef flavor. I want to thank you very much for this very versitile recipe that I will use for years to come. Your the best Kittencal! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This is excellent beef stock! I made as directed also adding vinegar for leach calcium from the bones. I asked the butcher at our local meat market for bones and he gave them to me for free! :) I froze the stock in 2 cup containers. I've used the stock for chili, french onion soup, and vegetable beef soup. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Once again a winner. I never made beef stock before. But because this is a Kittencal recipe, I had a high degree of confidence that it was worth the effort. I got my 'beef marrow bones' from Whole Foods, so I have an added sense that this is so much better for me than canned stock or broth. I bought too many bones (my dogs disagree), so I made one batch in the crock pot and another in a stock pot on the stove. I didn't add the onion til after I removed the bones (at the 20 hour mark) because onions are very bad for dogs, and I wanted the mutts to be able to enjoy the bones as a treat. [They say 'thank you, Auntie Kittencal'.] Once I added the onion, I continued cooking for another 5 or 6 hours. Oh, had extra celery, so added that in the beginning to both the crock and stock pots. Didn't chop the carrots that small - once again, they became dog treats, took them out when I took the bones out. Thanks for inspiring me to try something I normally wouldn't have done. It gives me a lot of pleasure knowing I'm making wholesome, healthier foods than what I'd get when I buy things pre-made at the grocery. - Mary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I ve never made stock before, chicken or beef and I was very skeptical on this as it was cooking. This was fantastic. I dont care for tomato in my soup but this has just a hint from spreading the tomato paste on the bones. Very very easy to make just toss in crock pot and leave it alone. The hardest part is the long wait while its cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This is tops! I did try the method of putting tomato paste on the bones and it worked like a charm. I had some bones with marrow in them as well. I did use some dried celery flakes as well and cilantro flakes. I did not have parsley. I strained the stock and then I mashed the vegies to freeze for later use. I also used some lemon pepper but that was personal taste. Thanks for posting! I have made stock for years but this is the first time to brown the bones with tomato paste and it really brings out the richness and flavor without using a lot of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This is something I've been wanting to do for a long time and I finally got to it.It's as great as all the other reviewer have said.I am making barley soup (using the vegetables that I mashed up)from the stock and froze 2 containers of stock for later. I will make it again this summer and add fresh herbs to the pot.Thanks to posting this one. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This is my first time for making beef stock. I'm impressed! I made it in my new Smart Crockpot. I did roast the bones. I think I put too many bones in as it boiled over. I let it go for the 24 hours and then chilled it. I removed some of the fat. I then pureed the vegetables with some of the broth. I used it as the base for a vegetable soup and everyone loved it. This is my new beef stock recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      This is a fantastic stock. Like so many other reviewers, I have often made chicken stock and vegetable stock but for some reason not beef. Typically when using beef bones, I threw them into the pot of whatever I was making. This is a far superior method. I did brown the bones with the tomato paste before cooking and threw in a couple of ribs of celery. I omitted the salt to reduce the sodium and will add the salt when preparing a dish with the stock. My yield was 6 cups of highly concentrated stock. As for the veggies, I put them in the Vita-Mix along with a touch of water and made a vegetable puree part of which went into the soup I was making the remainder went into the freezer for next time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Another winner from kittencal. I love this recipe, I too don't waste the veggies, I have been known to throw them into my meat sauce for pasta, what the kids don't know won't hurt them. (Not sure of their vitamin content after so much cooking tho - but I get a kick out of knowing the kids are eating veggies!!) Another freebie here...if you ask your butcher for beef bones they usually give them to you for free. He thought it was for my dog the first time I asked him, but I told him what I wanted them for and he has been happyily providing them for me each time I've asked...try it as see if you butcher will do the same ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Rich Homemade Beef Stock (Crock-Pot or Stove Top)

    Serving Size: 1 (529 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 35.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    36%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 762.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef bones with marrow

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites