Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Restaurant-Style Chinese Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Restaurant-Style Chinese Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2012

      better then any store brought brand!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Unbelievably, restaurant quality. I love sweet and Sour and this is right on. Amazing how recipe states what it is then people complain its too sweet. I made this tonight and thought it was easy enough and if it didn't work out I would just make a teriyaki recipe that I had tried before. Had all the ingredients except for pineapple & I was so disappointed so I used Orange Juice and no water to the cornstarch. I also added some orange peel seasoning, 2 T fresh ginger, red pepper flakes and sauce was outstanding. My Chinese restaurant makes a thick wonderful sweet sauce like this and I was in heaven being able to duplicate such a close match. I also put a drop or two of dry sherry. Couldn't have been happier tonight cause I was really wanting chinese. I fried the chicken and added onion and green pepper I seasoned with olive oil, garlic and a little ginger. After I made the fried chicken balls, I mixed them into the thick sauce with the green pepper, onion, and used green onions to top it. Thank you again and for those of you who don't like sweet sauce stay don't use as much. Will be making this at least one a month, also won't have to spend $15.00 on fast food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Hands down, this is my favorite recipe for sweet and sour sauce. Growing up, our family would eat at a little Chinese restaurant in Florida and they made their own sauce and I haven't found any sauce I like as well as theirs...until now. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This sauce is lovely, I have made it twice now and really enjoyed it both times. The first time I made it with the chicken balls and that was really good, the second time I made it with just a chicken stir fry for a healthier option. I used tinned pineapple juice in the sauce and then added the pineapple at the end. It was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This is not at all what I expected. I'm used to a thin, sweet, very red sauce from a Chinese restaurant, and this turned out way too thick I and I cut back on the cornstarch) and more of a brown color than red. I added a few drops of food coloring and it was a better color, but I"m used to a more clear red sauce. Sorry, I will continue my search.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I needed a homemade sweet and sour sauce to use in Big Ol' Mess (Smoked Sausage in Spicy Sweet Sauce) and settled on this one. I started out by using a full cup of pineapple juice and cutting back on the white sugar by a few tablespoons and added a little powdered ginger, but otherwise kept everything the same, at first. When I mixed in the cornstarch, however, I added about a half cup additional water, and even then, the finished sauce was still too thick. The flavor was just what I wanted though, but next time I'm cutting the amount of cornstarch in half or so. I like a very tangy, moderately-sweet sauce with a medium body to it, this was a bit thicker than I prefer, but otherwise delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I have done a lot of recipe searching & decided to try this one first because it had positive reviews. I really wanted to like this sauce, I know the stuff at the restaurants isn't great for you but that taste just hits the spot, but this sauce just didn't. It smelt great, but once tasting it all my fiance and I could taste was baked beans! I think that the larger amount of ketchup then most recipes along with the brown sugar is what is giving me this taste. It's not a bad tasting sauce, but it just isn't the taste that it claims which is why I gave it a lower rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This was great, and no artificial color! It was super fast to put together and tasted better than many restaurants. I served this over Oriental Pork and Shrimp Stuffed Cabbage Rolls--Low Carb. Everyone loved it. Thanks =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Oh my, oh my!!!!! this is exactly the same and better yet that any Chinese restaurant, Kit thank you for yet another outstanding recipe, I simply love this sauce i could just eat it with a spoon and be satisfied, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      Amazing sauce!! Just added a teaspoon or two of chili paste and it was very addicting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I can tell from the ingredients list that this one is going to be great. I'll come back later and give it a full review. Shouldn't this be "Kittencal's Restaurant-Style Chinese Sweet and Sour Sauce?" You've got to put your name on this one, too, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      WOW! This was fantastic! Made this last night for my husband and myself and we stuffed ourselves because it was hard to stop eating! Will use this recipe again and again. It's a keeper! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This sauce is fantastic all four of my children and my Husband loved it. I have used it several times for many different Chinese stir fry's. Thank YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Restaurant-Style Chinese Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (718 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 710.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    53%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 858.1 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 180.5 g
    60%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 167.0 g
    668%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites