25 Reviews

Awesome sauce from scratch! I don't plan to go back to canned ever again, especially since I can make this in large batches and freeze it.When I make enchiladas I use sauce in both the filling mixture and poured over top, and with doubling this recipe I had just enough left for people to add more at the table to taste. I would warn people who are wary of spiciness to cut down on the red pepper flakes. I used 1 and 1/4 teaspoons in my double batch and it was still quite spicy. Although, this was without using the optional sour cream which would have cut the heat a bit. Also, I didn't have any salsa on hand, so I substituted canned diced tomatoes and a large handful of chopped fresh cilantro. It turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ErinCate January 12, 2009

Best enchilada sauce I will never buy canned again...., kitten you amaze me your recipes are not complicated yet they produce the best results possible!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pettylvr January 10, 2009

Fantastic!! This simmered down to a nice thick sauce. didn't use the sour cream, but i didn't feel it was lacking anything. I'm going to make this in bulk to have on hand. I was really pleased with this - thanks once again Kittencal. You're officially my favourite 'Zaarress'!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellowpuff January 08, 2009

This is delcious! I didn't have any onion on hand so I just added some onion powder instead. I love how you can really change the spices depending on how mild or hot you like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebellemichelle June 19, 2008

GREAT! It has a good flavor and is nice and thick. I used the water option and no sour cream. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed May 04, 2008

Kittencal, this one's a keeper! You're 2 for 2 in my book. The sauce was tasty, spicy and smokey. I might try to blend it all up next time for a smoother texture, that's the only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASpicyChef April 16, 2008

Easy and good, thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fishywitch April 10, 2008

Another great recipe kitten... used on tacos and boy were they good. Nothing like the canned sauces.. dh said this is the only one he wants from now on and I agree.. thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NITA FORMALLY 294904 SOUTHERN GIRL March 09, 2008

Kittencal, you are a goddess!!! I've been making enchilada sauce for years. The recipe I worked with, though, required two days of attention. Your recipe produces an even better sauce - and is easy to whip up on the fly. I've just tasted it and it is marvelous!!!! For the recipes I'm using it for this time (OAMC beef burritos and enchilada pie - both of which are being create with highly-spiced beef), I've diluted it (post taste, of course) by adding additional tomato puree and beef broth. It's still incredible. I'm going to be making this in huge batches this summer when romas are in season.THANK YOU!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejmatl March 08, 2008

First time making enchilada sauce - can't compare to anything else - but loved it!! Didn't add the sour cream but will try it next time!! Made to use in your Easy Beef Enchiladas. Thanks Kit! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie October 14, 2007
Kittencal's Red Enchilada or Taco Sauce