Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Red Enchilada or Taco Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Red Enchilada or Taco Sauce

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2009

      Mine was salty, but that was probably my own fault. I added Jalapino and Anahiem peppers and will probably lessen cumin next time, but only because I'm not a big fan of cumin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Another winner from Kittencal! Even the picky 9-year-old loved it. (She did say it was spicy though I only added 1/4 tsp red pepper. I'll just leave it out next time.) I'm glad I took your advice and made a double batch. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      I used the whole teaspoon of chile flakes and it was way too spicy. I added a whole 6 oz. can of tomato paste and a 14 oz. can of refried beans to cut the heat. Then I used it with leftover pork, corn tortillas, chopped onion, and cheese for some delicious enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Not worth making again, definably has an "off" taste, maybe from the salsa??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

    • on November 30, 2009

      This was really nice.... I was making an all from scratch Mexican dinner for my family... I did add a bit of vinegar and sugar out of preference, I loved its thickness and freezbility. I will be using this again... Thank you Kitten, it was great with your cottage cheese cheddar enchiladas... The family absolutely RAVED!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This certainly had some spice to it! (I may have to cut back a little next time) It was definitely a cut above canned store sauces. I love that I had all of the ingredients hanging around. I used it for Chef #37779's Slow Cooked Shredded Beef Tacos . I can't wait to try it with some other recipes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Made as directed using max amounts of spice measurements and minus the sour cream. Used in Chef #233583 's Whole Latta Enchilada Soup. This sauce had wonderful color and spice. Will make again for actual enchiladas. Made for Saucy Senoritas Family Favorites ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Very good! Thank you Kittencal! Your recipes are always ones I know I can trust! I used this for http://www.recipezaar.com/Slow-Cooked-Shredded-Beef-Tacos-34255. It was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Delicious and so easy to make! I was out of onions so I used onion powder instead. I didn't add the seasoning salt or sour cream either. After simmering the ingredients together, I poured everything into a glass measuring cup and refrigerated overnight. The flavors do get better the longer it sits and it was so easy to pour the sauce on Easy Shredded Beef or Pork Enchiladas, Easy Shredded Beef or Pork Enchiladas. A definited keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Awesome sauce from scratch! I don't plan to go back to canned ever again, especially since I can make this in large batches and freeze it.When I make enchiladas I use sauce in both the filling mixture and poured over top, and with doubling this recipe I had just enough left for people to add more at the table to taste. I would warn people who are wary of spiciness to cut down on the red pepper flakes. I used 1 and 1/4 teaspoons in my double batch and it was still quite spicy. Although, this was without using the optional sour cream which would have cut the heat a bit. Also, I didn't have any salsa on hand, so I substituted canned diced tomatoes and a large handful of chopped fresh cilantro. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Best enchilada sauce I will never buy canned again...., kitten you amaze me your recipes are not complicated yet they produce the best results possible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Fantastic!! This simmered down to a nice thick sauce. didn't use the sour cream, but i didn't feel it was lacking anything. I'm going to make this in bulk to have on hand. I was really pleased with this - thanks once again Kittencal. You're officially my favourite 'Zaarress'!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This is delcious! I didn't have any onion on hand so I just added some onion powder instead. I love how you can really change the spices depending on how mild or hot you like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      GREAT! It has a good flavor and is nice and thick. I used the water option and no sour cream. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Kittencal, this one's a keeper! You're 2 for 2 in my book. The sauce was tasty, spicy and smokey. I might try to blend it all up next time for a smoother texture, that's the only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Easy and good, thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Another great recipe kitten... used on tacos and boy were they good. Nothing like the canned sauces.. dh said this is the only one he wants from now on and I agree.. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Kittencal, you are a goddess!!! I've been making enchilada sauce for years. The recipe I worked with, though, required two days of attention. Your recipe produces an even better sauce - and is easy to whip up on the fly. I've just tasted it and it is marvelous!!!! For the recipes I'm using it for this time (OAMC beef burritos and enchilada pie - both of which are being create with highly-spiced beef), I've diluted it (post taste, of course) by adding additional tomato puree and beef broth. It's still incredible. I'm going to be making this in huge batches this summer when romas are in season.THANK YOU!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      First time making enchilada sauce - can't compare to anything else - but loved it!! Didn't add the sour cream but will try it next time!! Made to use in your Easy Beef Enchiladas. Thanks Kit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Red Enchilada or Taco Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.7
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    78%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 9.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 488.6 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites