8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another winner Kittencal! Tweaked this ever so slightly..used golden Italian salad dressing on the warm potatoes instead of wine vinegar. Also used light mayo and Balkan yogurt instead of sour cream, which makes it a little lighter, but still flavorful.. I feel I must say something about "peeling" the red potatoes as was stated in the original recipe..totally unnecessary, and omits nutrients. Otherwise a great baseline!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dodieinparksville June 13, 2013

Isn't the "starter" recipe the one we always remember? Aside from my personal preference for Kittencal's recipes, I like this one for the techniques -- adding vinegar to the water and to the cooling potatoes before combining them with other ingredients. We made extra dressing to add after the salad had been chilled thoroughly, since it often absorbs the dressing and is less moist when served than when it starts to chill. Paired it with Kitten's New York Reuben and a kosher dill for a smashing St. Patrick's Day dinner. Hat's off to you Kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryToo March 18, 2011

Kittencal does it again! Only sub I made was red onion instead of green. Thanks for the awesome recipe! Was a hit at the barbecue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia September 24, 2010

Another one of Kittencal's winning recipes! This was a homerun! I omitted the eggs (just because I was out) and added sliced green olives and bacon. This was outstanding the next day once the flavors blended together! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve May 01, 2009

I just pulled this recipe up so I could make it AGAIN! I was sure I had written a review previously. How did I overlook it!! I found this to be a perfect potato salad -- just the way it is. I made it exactly as written and loved it. To me it's just the way a potato salad should be. The ingredients and flavors all blend together -- nothing overwhelms another ingredient. It just goes to show that simple ingredients can produce a wonderful, luscious salad. I'm so glad I found this recipe as we head into the summer months. Thanks, Carol for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie July 03, 2007

This was so good, I just loved the creamyness of the salad. I added a little more garlic powder to the salad, and a little less Dijon mustard. I only put in 3 hard boiled eggs, because I thought anymore than that would be too much for the recipe. I also added an extra stalk of celery. Very, very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef June 29, 2007

I'm ready for a picnic!! How about you? The dressing on this potato salad is just perfect! I used 3 hard boiled eggs, which I diced with my patented pastry blended method ; ), used Vidalia onion as a quick substitute for the green, used 3/4 cup of the mayo and sour cream (I ended up using only 3/4 of the dressing as we do not like our potato salad creamy). The only added ingredient I put in was about 1/3 cup of sweet pickle relish. Perfect as always, Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 02, 2007

I realize that this is intended to be a base "starter" recipe, but I love it just the way it is. It's got all the things in it that I expect in a classic picnic potato salad. Great with some bbq chicken. I remember that my grandmother used to use the vinegar in the boiling water and then drizzle the cooked potatoes with vinegar, too. I'll make this again. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* April 01, 2007
Kittencal's Potato Salad With Eggs