104 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh Kittencal, how thankful I (and my family) am for you!! I tried this recipe since your recipes are usually fabulous and it was even better than that!!! I was so glad my crust was so thick so I could dip it in the sauce that was left over. My mother and FIL kept saying how delicious it was and asked if I could put it over spaghetti sometime! I have passed this on to several friends. I didn't change a thing, and why would I?!? THANK YOU again!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrEva April 07, 2011

Yum! I will NEVER use the canned/jarred stuff again! This stuff makes my pizza taste restaurant quality. Hubby ate a few pieces and then told me, "Ohhh ,this is the best." For him, that's quite a compliment! I added about 4 teaspoons of sugar and a teaspoon of salt at the end, it was great. Thanks!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachruiz1 June 03, 2010

I was really hoping for something more with this sauce. It was not what my taste buds were looking for. It was worth a try though since it had so many high reviews; however, I won't be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl December 25, 2011

As Guy would say, "This is MONEY." When you put this recipe together you done it totally right. I had a craving for pizza last night didnt have one ingredient for it. But, didnt want to run all the way to town. Headed over to the Amish store minutes before they closed and found everything I needed. The only thing I didnt do was add sugar. Was sweet enough with the tomatoes I used. Thanks for sharing we all enjoyed it. Will never buy supermarket sauce again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv May 06, 2010

DELICIOUS!!!. I have yet to find a recipe from Kittencal that I haven't loved. I follow the recipe mostly but substituted one of the cans of diced tomatoes with tomato sauce and the diced tomatoes were the Italian style and so I adjusted my herbs. I did puree the tomatoes and wish that I had pureed the whole sauce at the end because I like a very smooth pizza sauce but the flavor was fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doodle_s June 29, 2009

Wonderful sauce. I added some fennel seed to it because it makes it taste more pizza-y to me. Love this recipe. Thanks again Kittencal. If you had a cookbook I would buy it. Wait....do you have a cookbook?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas March 24, 2014

I made this sauce for french bread pizza. Everyone loves it. Very deep rich flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janl_4744140 November 09, 2013

Easy to make. Great consistency. Next time I'll use a bit less Italian seasoning onion and oregano. It was a bit strong for my tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa February 22, 2013

I knew I couldn't go wrong with a Kittencal recipe. I made Amazing White Trash Puff Balls and used this pizza sauce for dipping - yummy combination. I made them for our weekly Mexican Train/Spinners game night. They were a big hit. Best thing is I have lots of leftover sauce so am off to make a pizza.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea February 02, 2013

All I can say is WOW! This is such great pizza sauce! It's the first time I've ever made my own, and can only compare it to my favorite store bought brand, and this recipe is so much better! I followed the recipe exactly, using the highest amount of seasonings suggested. I also added one firmly packed teaspoon of dark brown sugar. I used my stick blender to make is smoother. I don't think I'll ever buy pizza sauce from the store again! Thank you Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary October 28, 2012
Kittencal's Pizza Sauce