Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners)

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2010

      Very moist and tender, I cooked mine unstuffed, kept it breast side down for 3 of the 4 hours and then flipped it over to brown the breast, basting every 40 min. or so. I put 5 cups of broth in at the beginning and never had to add more..in fact, I ended up with triple what I started with due to the juice from the turkey! Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      this produced a really yummy turkey, but I want to point out that convection ovens should NOT be turned down to 320. I did that, and although the turkey was delicious, it took more than 2 hours longer than expected.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Thank you for this how-to on roasting a turkey. I love turkey, but never learned how to roast one. Somehow my 24-lb. turkey was so moist and tender at 4 1/2 hours that it literally fell apart. This is an easy, non-intimidating recipe for anyone that's afraid of tackling the big bird. Thanks for teaching me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      I have cooked a lot of turkey in my time but never one as good as this! I did it exactly the way it said in the recipe and it was the moistest turkey I ever cooked! You're never to old to learn! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      I absolutely love this technique for roasting our turkey! This year I used your recipe for Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine to brine my turkey and then as you suggested in your description for that recipe I baked it according to this recipe. It was the most delicious, juicy, golden turkey that I have ever made or eaten. I will definitely be making my turkey this way every Thanksgiving from now on. I love how crispy the skin got and that I could actually eat my turkey this year. Usually my turkey ends up to dry and I don't eat it. These two recipes even left the leftovers moist and edible. I now know that my leftover recipes for the next few days are going to be delicious too! Thank you so much Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      This was delicious,everyone loved it,it was quite moist and actually had flavor...must have been the garlic powder! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      This turkey turned out fantastic on my gas grill. It could be the best one I've ever grilled. Here's what I did as my personal variation:<br/>Start with an 18 lb. fresh, natural turkey. Rinse it well, then brine it for 12-14 hours.<br/>Rinse it well after brining, rub with the recipe plus add a tbs. dry rub to the mix. Add a couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary to the bird cavity.<br/>Place into a large, disposable aluminum roasting pan, breast side down. Tie the wings tight to the side of the bird. Add the liquid, cover with foil tent. Maintain a 325 temperature.<br/>Place a smoker box to one side of the grill with your choice of wood chips. Instead of chips I used Maple smoker pucks. I like Peterson Smoker Pucks which you can find on Amazon. <br/>Make sure to baste every 40-50 mins. Rotate the bird 90 degrees after about 3 hours. This helps even out the cooking.<br/>Defiantly use an electric meat thermometer to get the breast meat up to 165.<br/>Keeping the temperature constant was the biggest challenge, as it usually is on any grill. But the result was well worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      First time I have cooked a turkey. I chose this recipe because I know I can always depend on Kittencal! The step-by-step directions were excellent! If this is your first time cooking a turkey this is definitely the recipe for you. Our 12 lb. farm-fresh unstuffed turkey turned out just a tiny bit dry in the breast. I think I got over-eager to see the bird turn golden brown and flipped it breast side up too early. I wasn't patient enough to cook it breast side down as long as I should have. Lesson to remember: Just listen to Kittencal's advice. The majority of the bird was very moist and tender, had good flavor and the skin was golden brown and crispy just the way we like it. Thanks for the recipe! Next year I am going to try her brining recipe as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I had a large bird in my freezer and wanted to do something different to it than I normally do.So I did a search and found this recipe and made this for mine and my SO's dinner on 1/23/13. Since I do not like " STUFFING " in my turkey it was baked breast side down for about 2 1/2 hours,basted every 30 minutes. The foil was removed then it was flipped over to get the breast side browned. I had some MAJOR problems with my oven, It took a lot longer than the suggested roasting time for a 14lb. bird. I had to roast the bird another 3 hours..After roasting the turkey, I had a lot of broth and drippings left so a bit of gravy was made. And as my SO was taking the legs off, it was STILL raw at the joints. But the parts we were able to eat was very moist and juicy. For the sides, Real Homemade Mashed Potatoes, " I Did It My Way" Cornbread Dressing, and baby sweet peas were served. I will make this again,but adjusting the roasting time accordingly. I bet this would be a great way to roast a chicken. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Very good recipe! In my oven I had to cook at 350, even with convection which is usually faster. It didnt brown on the breast side so I flipped it over and cooked it until the breast side browned other than that, the Turkey was great! My husband loved it and kept telling me how delicious it was, and this was my first time roasting a turkey by myself. Thanks again kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Two years ago I tried another receipe on this site and it failed. I was not taking chances this year and knew I could rely on anything by Kittencal. I used her brine first. I roasted an 18lb turkey. It took about 35 minutes longer than anticipated to come to the right temperature. It was juicy and delicious. Everyone raved about it. Thanks for another successful meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      I was pretty paranoid about making a turkey because of hearing my guests critique other turkeys over the years, this step by step got me through it easily and I was able to have a successful dinner with a moist and delicious turkey as a centerpiece. Thanks for the tutorial!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Very concise recipe. I've made this a few times & find that the chicken broth tends to brown/burn in my roaster so next time I'm going to use 1/2 broth & 1/2 water. Thanks for taking the time to share this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      this made the best turkey! everyone loved it & it was so juicy! thanks for this one! i also used her buttermilk brine recipe on the turkey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      I made this for Thanksgiving, It was a big hit. My mother said it was the best Turkey she ever had. Everyone loved it. I will continue using this recipe for future Thanksgiving's and Christmas. Thank you for posting this. It was the best Thanksgiving ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Came out really good! I think next time we'll put the turkey in breast side up at 400 till golden, then flip it over. Ours didn't look as good as some of the pictures posted. Loved how easy it was to prepare. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      You never steer me wrong Kitten! I made this for Thanksgiving. It was my first attempt at a turkey and it was AMAZING. I only needed to cans of chicken stock. My turkey was 16 lbs and it took about 4 hours. It was so moist and delicious. I basted every hour instead of every 40 minutes. Perfect. It was devoured by my guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      The Spouse usually handles the flesh part of our Thanksgiving meals with me handling, well, everything else. :-) This year I took it all over (he's been working really hard this month) and this recipe your brine made for the tastiest bird I have ever had. So tender, so moist. I hate white meat because it's generally too dry and bland compared to dark meat, Using your recipe, I was reaching for whatever meat was closest to me! My first time making a turkey and you made it simple and a success! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Thanks!!!! Feeding a large group this Thanksgiving and no clue how to cook the bird. Just did a trial run today and it turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      My first time making the Thanksgiving turkey (2010) turned out PERFECT thanks to Kittencal. I've tried many of her recipes and I'm NEVER disappointed. I did not stuff my bird, nor brine it. Just followed her recipe to the T and then used Kittencal's turkey gravy recipe. Everyone oohed and aahhhed over the juicy turkey and the fabulous homemade gravy. Better than any we've had before and that's no exaggeration!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners)

    Serving Size: 1 (644 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 953.0
     
    Calories from Fat 477
    50%
    Total Fat 53.0 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 15.7 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 356.9 mg
    118%
    Sodium 1178.7 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 105.7 g
    211%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes