Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2008

      Excellent Recipe !!! Thank you for sharing Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Delicious!! This is even better than the restaurant DH and I go to occasionally for our prime rib dinner Saturday nights. DH is kicking himself now because he didn't buy an extra roast (like I told him to do) when they were on sale! The only thing I didn't do is the garlic cloves, I ran out of garlic and really didn't have to time to go and get more. But this roast still turned out excellent. I made this for our Christmas Dinner '07 and invited my brothers over. They both had two pieces and all you heard were moans from them. Oh and DH is on the lookout for another roast (on sale) so that I can make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Fabulous recipe! The best part is the au jus! Do not neglect to make this part of the recipe. Also, remember that the roast continues to cook once it comes out of the oven. I had serious doubts because of the lack of spices, but it all came together perfectly. Thanks for this wonderful recipe that I will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Outstanding!! This was my first time making a prime rib roast, so I was quite nervous about making it but everyone loved it. It took about 30 more minutes to get to the right temp but it was well worth waiting for!! :) Thanks, Kittencal! This recipe made it into our book#179809!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I have made this recipe the last three years for our christmas meal. The family loves it and won;t allow me to make any changes. I follow it exactly as shown and it turns our perfect every time!! I highly recommend trying this one out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Absolutely fabulous! I made exactly as directed for the perfect prime rib roast. Be sure to remove from the oven before the desired completed cooking time as the roast will continue to "cook" during the standing time. Thanks so much, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      great recipe you always have the best fail proof recipes made this for a tag for while you were out ( i know im not yer pal or anything it just seemed like sumthing fun to do) couldnt get a picture before it was gobbled up so i surely will make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      The au jus brougt this to 4 stars. The meat was good but not unusually so. I cooked a 9 1/2 lb roast and found by cooking to the recommended temp (and yes I have a good thermometer) the meat was overcooked -we ended up with a lot of med and only a small amount of med rare : ( The jus was outstanding and rescued my plate of barely pink meat. I will try this again and pull the meat out at 125.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Made thid prime Rib for our Christmas Dinner. It was a big hit. it was so tender and juicy. there wasn't a drop of the au jus left. Thanks Kittencal. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I cooked a 6 lb boneless roast and followed all the directions, reading from start to finish. I aimed for medium rare. The roast actually sat out longer than suggested but it was RARE! I might try this again adjusting internal temp. or go back to a former tried and true.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Made this rib roast for Christmas dinner and it was outstanding! Such a simple thing as to taking the meat out several hours in advance makes all the difference. My 6 pound roast cooked beautifully and was perfectly medium rare, per the cooking times given. I have found the "perfect" prime rib recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      We used this recipe as the basis for our 17 pound prime rib, but my brother just got a new green egg smoker and really wanted to use it. We used the time and temperature provided here and it worked well. We removed the meat from the smoker when the meat thermometer read 115 Degrees, then while it was resting, the temperature went up to 125. It was perfect. Thanks for the detailed instructions on how to season the meat as we did not put more than fresh garlic, cracked pepper and a little sesa salt. It was perfect. I was very worried the smoker was going to ruin our dinner, but everything turned out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Excellent! I made this for Christmas Eve dinner an everyone was raving! Especially DH (aka mr. pickypants) :) I did the pieces of garlic inserted into the meat just before cooking and they turned into wonderful little caramelized bits. Yum. The roast had a nice crust and was tender and juicy all the way through. Wonderfully written recipe. Thank you for putting this up for us! So detailed! Yay. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Wonderful, just wonderful. I had never roasted anything the size of our roast (well over 8 pounds) but I found your instructions clear and concise. Because we have a picky eater in the group, I didn't do the garlic this time but will the next. Followed the jus instructions to the letter and it was also outstanding. We will use this method for our next prime rib dinner, KC. Thanks for posting this. Thanks so much. (ETA: The first picture is as the roast is about to come out of the oven. The second is after sitting for 20 minutes, ready to be carved and devoured.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly, and was so pleased with the results. DH loved it too! I've moved your recipe to my permanent cookbook. Thanks KITTENCAL for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      What more can I say... awesome! Had this for Christmas 2007. Just me and my son... it was to die for! Easy and quick! I didn't use the garlic cloves because I didn't read this recipe until the day (today) I was cooking it. Used garlic powder on it... mouth watering... thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Delicious and wonderful directions! I used a bit less garlic than indicated and my roast was about 5 pounds. Thanks for sharing this can-not-fail recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      we intertain a group of anywhere from 12 to 25 peopel each thursday and for our holiday get together we cooked a 21 lb. Prime Rib Roast using this recipe, excluding the garlic, and all 25 guests were pleased. we also had the suggested Yorkshire pudding and it was a hit.each guest brings a side dish, appetizer or dessert. everyone was happy from end cuts to center cuts. ribs will be Minestrone soup next week. this recipe is now in our archives. thank you so very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This was the most PERFECT meal...EVER!!! I followed the recipe precisely and everything turned out wonderfully! I can now ask for anything that I want and get it! ;) DH is putty in my hands after eating this. I'm going to make this all the time. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Kittencal ... you've done it again. Clear instructions made the roast easy to make and the result was a huge success at our dinner party. Would I make any changes to the recipe -- emphatically no.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 934.8
     
    Calories from Fat 689
    73%
    Total Fat 76.6 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 31.7 g
    158%
    Cholesterol 192.7 mg
    64%
    Sodium 640.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 52.3 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites