Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2008

      Wow is all I can say! I was looking for an easy recipe since I hit a good sale on prime rib last week. Only $4.99/lb. I had a 5.5 pound roast and I let it get to room temp and used garlic salt and alot of fresh ground pepper. I didn't have time to let it sit overnight w/ the seasoning in the fridge so i'll have to try that next time. I loved blasting it at 450 degrees. It resulted in a nice crust on the outside of the roast. I'll be using this method often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

    • on December 26, 2008

      Had a 8.39# boneless rib roast - used this recipe and your 13 min/# for medium rare (whimpy guests!) and it was awesome! Had it just been me, rare would have been the way to go, but this is as good as it gets! Thank you thank you thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      What can one say when a recipe produces perfect results? My roast was perfect and I followed the recipe to a T. The timing was just right. I took the roast out of the oven at 130 degrees, tented it while I made the Yorkshire pudding and gravy - It was medium rare exactly like we like it. Thanks Kittencal for a perfect recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I cooked a 5.5 lb boneless prime rib. Followed recipe completely took 15 min at 450 and 57 min at 350. Removed at 125 as we like rare. Temp went to 140 while I made au jus and yorkshires. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I used a 4 lb roast and cooked it for approx. 15 min at 450° and then turned it down to 350° and cooked it for 60 min. Temp was on the thermometer was 135°F when I took it out of the oven. I covered it with foil while the Yorkshire Puddings were cooking (Fantastic Never-Fail Pan Yorkshire Pudding.) The roast was perfect, nice and pink. I made the au jus using a Sauvignon Blanc wine. I also took 1/2 of the au jus and added some flour and water to make a thicker gravy for some members of the family and left the other 1/2 au jus for the other members. A lot of comments were made regarding how great everything was from the roast beef, gravy and Yorkshire's. Thank You Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Easy instructions and turned out great! I had a smaller roast (3.75 pounds) and followed the instructions, roasting at 350 degrees until the meat thermometer read approx. 120 degrees. Upon resting, covered with foil, the temperature rose to 130 degrees and it was perfectly pink inside. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This was fabulous! I followed the directions precisely and this turned out exactly the way we like it. A nice flavour to the crust and done perfectly medium to rare inside. Everyone had a slice done just how they like it. I served this with Yorkies, roasted potatoes, and a Caesar salad. A terrific dinner. Thank you for an excellent recipe with good instructions. BB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Wonderful! I didn't make the Au Jus but your instructions on making the roast led to me make the best roast ever. It was my first time and I was intimidated and didn't want to ruin my $40 roast. It came out great. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      good clear directions. was a sucess!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Pretty standard recipe for decent Prime Rib roast. However advising the readers to leave meat out on the counter for anything over an hour, is a recipe for food poisoning or worse. I suggest that readers disregard this statement... " I leave my 4 bone out for about 4-1/2-5 hours -" for their own safety and the safety of others. and Yes, I do have a background in Food Safety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I'm not assigning stars because I have a feeling my oven is not properly temperature regulated. But here's my sad story. I had a 12 pound boneless prime rib roast flown in from Allen Brothers in Chicago (they supply most of the better steakhouses) for a special birthday party. I followed the directions exactly (it sat about 3 hours between cookings) and the roast turned out well done. I thought my DH was going to cry. Such a beautiful piece of meat incinerated! I am going to buy an oven thermometer and see if that was the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Okay, I am no great cook and my mom (who I called for help) had never done a standing rib roast, So I was LOST. But this recipe was so helpful and it turned out AWESOME. My fiance gnawed on the bone, so I knew it was great. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Absolutely incredible! I've never made prime rib before and have never had very good luck cooking red meat.........i just followed the instructions to every detail and it turned out better than our favorite restaurant that costs us $45 per person! I used a 4 pound roast with two bones and we cut it into 2 ridiculously thick servings. Most of mine is in the fridge for tomorrow, my husband just couldn't stop eating his. I can't express how amazing and how EASY this was to cook!! YEAH for Kittencal!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This was unbelievable! I followed the recipe exactly and I have never had better results. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge, it is so much appreciated!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Another wonderful recipe Kitten! I can't wait till you publish a cookbook so I can have all of your recipes :) Husband thought it was one of if not THE best prime rib he's had. I though the au jus was so flavorful and really made the meat tasy. Mmmm...oh yeah, I didn't read the recipe until today so I did a little adjusting. I placed the garlic in holes and let sit for about 4 hours and then proceeded to cook the meat. Still tasted AWSOME! So... if you are reading and realize you don't want to wait until tomorrow, you don't have to, it can be done in one day and has a wonderful flavor (I don't think this could have been better even had we waited).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I used this recipe to prepare a 4.75lb rib roast for Fathers Day. Our roast was excellent. DH had checked another source for the internal temp of medium rare meat and disagreed with this recipe about when to remove the roast from the oven. His guide said remove at 135º to reach med rare after resting, this one says 140º. His guide was wrong. The roast needs to get to an internal temp of 140º, as this recipe states, to be medium rare upon completion of resting. He cut into the roast at 135º to see how it appeard..it was very rare, almost raw, so we continued roasting it to 140º, removed it from the oven, tented the roast with foil while it rested 15 minutes, and it came out perfectly medium rare. So, as Kittencal advises in the recipe, let the roast it to 140ºF internally before removing it from the oven and let it rest, loosely covered with foil, until it reaches a minimum of 145º internally. The jus was wonderful prepared as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      I can't believe it, Everytime I make a roast it is over done, dry or tough, I have never had anything like it, All I have to say is thanks again kittencals for yet another great recipe. I advise everyone who reads this to make it! Simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I was a little nervous making my first rib roast. I was afraid I was going to ruin a very expensive piece of meat. But this recipe was fool proof! I followed the directions exactly and was amazed. My 5 lb roast needed a little extra time to get to almost 140 degrees, but the end result was perfect. My husband was cutting his prime rib with a fork! This was, by far, the easiest--and best!--holiday meal I have ever made. I made it for Easter, my my husband has already nominated it for our new Christmas dinner tradition. I served this with Twice Baked Potato Casserole and a Green Bean Casserole. You could make fancier sides to go with this, but the comofrt food was a perfect fit for us. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Kittencal...once again I don't know how to thank you for yet another absolutely to die for recipe!!! I've made prime rib for Easter for the past 4 years of my marriage. They were always cooked wrong or lacked something. My husband is SUPER picky about beef and really only tolerates a steak on the grill or ground beef. Nothing in between. No roasts, no roast beef, no prime rib. I usually cook to please him but I really love prime ribs and was determined to make the perfect one that would even wow him...the toughest of critics. Your recipe did it!!!! It was FABULOUS!!!! I used tons of fresh ground black pepper and probably used 20 cloves of garlic wedged into the prime rib. Your cooking time was spot on...and the meat thermometer was imperative. It came out AMAZiNG! I truly believe the au jus is mandatory to complete this recipe and don't believe you can fairly rate this recipe without making the au jus to accompany it. It was the absolute best gravy I've ever made. I also made a horseradish sauce to serve with this, which was also so wonderful that I ate the prime rib with both the au jus and the horseradish sauce on it. I have never eaten so much in one sitting in all my life. Kittencal....your recipes are works of art and I plan to make many more of them. Thank you for another home run!!!! It was truly FABULOUS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 934.8
     
    Calories from Fat 689
    73%
    Total Fat 76.6 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 31.7 g
    158%
    Cholesterol 192.7 mg
    64%
    Sodium 640.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 52.3 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes