Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2009

      I made three of these this weekend! Easter and Christmas seem to be the only times that Prime Rib is on sale. (I sent one off to my Dad). The Au Jus is wonderful. I used the beef stock, white wine and the drippings from the prime rib. The instructions were great. I found that after I lowered the temperature to 350 degrees that I only needed 50 minutes more for a 6 lb prime rib. Kitten is right that a meat thermometer is crucial. I took my prime rib out at 130 degrees, but it still rose a few degrees after I took it out of the oven. I will be using this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Our Easter dinner was perfect! Thanks for sharing. I will be using this recipe for my roasts from now on. My only problem was that my hands smelled of garlic at church, but the taste of the beef made that worth it! I always know I can trust a recipe from Kittencal to be flavorful and well written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This was the best roast I have ever eaten I made a 5 lb bone in, I cooked it at 450 for 25 minutes then cooked about 1 hour 25 minutes at 350, I took it out at a temp of 135 and let set 25 minutes next time I will take out at 130 perfect!! thank you for sharing your recipes of the great cook that you are!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      The only problem I had was purchasing a meat thermometer that should not be left in the oven which quickley melted. MY BAD. So I had to wing it on the internal temp based on the times listed at the bottom of this recipe. It turned out wonderful!!!! Thanks Kit, I can always count on your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      The best meal I've ever had. Christmas this year was extra special because of this post. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      EXCEPTIONAL! I wish i could give you 10 stars on this one. I made this recipe yesterday for my husband's over the hill birthday. I follow everything that is written and my roast came out unbelievably moist and very tasty. I used the whole head of garlic that i cut each in half then insert into the whole all the around the roast. I left it room temperature for 2 1/2 hours. Even my 6 years old gave me a thumbs up. The gravy, i just put little bit of flour just to thicken it. My husband was so satisfied after he had his birthday dinner. What a wonderful treat. He wanted me to thank you for posting this recipe. You are the best Kittencal, i love all your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      "Awesome", were the first words out of my husband's mouth when he tasted this amazing roast. I had made a prime rib years ago and it was not very good at all. Followed this recipe as written and the results were spectacular. The only changes I made were I used the whole bulb of garlic, about 12 cloves so 24 pieces and when I did the au jus I added a little Knorr's Veloutine (Gluten free Thickener) to make the au jus just a little thicker. Adding that made the au jus glaze on the meat!! A new staple in our home!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Outstanding! This is the quintessential prime rib recipe. I have never tasted its equal. My mother used this recipe for Christmas Dinner (after I sent it to her, of course). The 14 pound roast she bought wouldn't fit in the oven, so she cooked it in the grill over indirect heat. Otherwise she followed the recipe exactly. It came out perfectly, if a little rare due to its size. Another Kittencal triumph in our book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This was a delicious homemade prime rib! We had a 5 pound roast with 3 ribs to feed 6 of us. The tips are all well worth the time to read & follow as they all made a difference in the final result. This will be the recipe I continue to use in the future. Thanks for sharing your knowledge, Kitt! Made for the Cookathon in memory of John.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      forgot to give it stars it really deserves more, my husband must have told me 20 times how good it was

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Made this last night for dinner. It was pretty good but I made one for Christmas cooking it for a bit then letting it sit and I think I liked it somewhat better. Don't get me wrong this was good also and would have been better with the garlic but dh doesn't care for it so I omitted. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I made this for New Years Eve dinner with my in-laws and parents. I got great reviews for it. It was perfect just as the name says.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Not being a great cook by any means but this made me look really talented. I followed the directions as listed using a 3 1/2# roast. It cooked in about 90 minutes so you were very corrrect about different ovens cooking at different speeds. This will be a New Year's Day tradition for us. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I have used many recipes from RecipeZaar but this is the first I'm taking the time to review. EXQUISITE!!! The instructions were marvelous, I followed them exactly except I cooked the roast at 325 instead of 350 (just being a little cautious) Don't even think of making this without the Yorkshire Pudding! I used an 8+ lb. roast and there were 7 people for dinner. Everyone always looks forward to my meals (I'm a pretty good cook) but this time they were blown away. Thank you Kittencal, you're the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I used to have to go to an expensive steak house to get prime rib of this quality and magnitude. Instead, I made it at home thanks to Kittencal's wonderful recipe. I used a 7.5 boneless ribeye roast and followed the directions to a T. I put garlic cloves in the night before (that took a bit of skill to get them in the slits), took it out of the fridge about 5 hours before it went in the oven to get to room temp. Did the 450 degree searing in the juices thing and then reduced heat to 350. Mine took 2.5 hours, maybe a bit longer. The Au Jus after I skimmed the fat off (I made it wrong) was great and made for wonderful leftover. This prime roast was fabulous, the directions were exact and easy to follow and it had the right amount of seasoning. The key definitely is the temp probe. It turned out perfectly medium on the thinner end, medium rare in most of the center with a few bits of everything else, the vast majority being medium rare. YUM! I will feel confident in the future that I don't have to go to an expensive restaurant to make prime rib like this. I can do it at home! ETA: I took it out of the oven at 140 and I should have taken it out at 130ish. It was still MR and juicy, but we would have liked it rarer. The thermometer read over 150 degrees after resting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This is my favorite recipe to date that I have used from Recipezaar. Prime rib was beyond perfect, better than any expensive steakhouse, and I only spent $4.99/lb for the meat, not 13.99/lb at the expensive butcher shop. Followed instructions to a T, took meat out at 132°. Nice and red in the middle, well done on the perimeter. This will be the Christmas dinner for years to come. And I'm demanding the better half to cook me one for my birthday in April. Now that I've made the best thing on Earth, I don't think I'll be able to go 4 months+ without having it again. Thank you Kittencal, you're a Christmas Miracle!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      The meat came out fantastic. I took the roast out when it was 140 and the temp went up to 156 while resting. While I like my meat more well done, I should have listened to Kittencal and taken it out earlier. Even more done than it should have been, it was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I tried this for our 8 pound rib roast yesterday, and we couldn't believe how good it was. I never would have thought of putting garlic into a beef roast — lamb yes, of course, but it never would have occurred to me to use garlic with beef. I was a bit too timid with the garlic and will definitely use more next time. The only question/problem I had was with the amount of fat in the roaster. I have always begged the butcher to leave more fat on, so it just may be that I had a "fattier" roast than what we generally see in the market. I turned the au jus into a gravy, using some of the beef fat to make the roux, and it was out of this world. I'll never cook a rib roast any other way, and now I won't have to torture the butcher about how he trims his roasts! This is an absolutely spectacular recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I used this recipe for Christmas dinner. WOW. Perfect is right!! Easy to follow and cook. I also used the yorkshire pudding recipe. A big hit. We now have a new Christmas tradition. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      i can't comment on technique, cuz i used Prime Rib Roast's technique ("prime rib roast"), but i used this recipe's seasoning (steps #1-5) and au jus recipe (steps #12-15). i have to say i don't know if i stopped cooking the au jus to early or too late, but it didn't seem right. there was not a ton of drippings from the roast, so it turned out tasting a lot like beef stock. i simmered it for at least 20 mins after adding the stock, probably more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 934.8
     
    Calories from Fat 689
    73%
    Total Fat 76.6 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 31.7 g
    158%
    Cholesterol 192.7 mg
    64%
    Sodium 640.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 52.3 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites