161 Reviews

I made this recipe yesterday for Christmas Dinner, and it was the best Prime Rib we have ever had - thank you for an easy and amazing recipte!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GracieAnne7 December 26, 2011

Thank you Kittencal for another awesome recipe! My brother usually makes the prime rib dinner on Christmas eve, but this year he was unable to and the responsibility fell into my hands! (my first time- and he was out of town! So no help from him!) He is an excellent cook, so I was quite nervous!! I hate to say it but...... I think mine (well, your recipe, my oven ;) ) turned out better then his!! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I cooked it to 134 degrees for a bone in (with the thermometer not hitting bone, and in the perfect center) and it was PERFECT in the center- a touch over done on the ends (for my taste). Next time I will pull it at 130. The only variation I made was that I added 2 quartered onions and a clove of garlic to the bottom of the roasting pan before cooking. They got a bit chared on the first part of the cooking time- next time I will add them after the first 20 mins. And I used red wine instead of white- only because it is what my mom said my brother does and I had some opened already :). Thanks again.... YUMMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 December 25, 2011

I ment to put 5 stars on previous review. Please make sure they are there!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimmyingram December 20, 2011

Another Amazing recipe! It is foolproof and so delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmay311 July 11, 2011

Again Kittencal, another wonderful base recipe! There were a couple of changes that were necessary for my family. 1) I dry aged the roast myself for 3 days; 2) cut down the garlic by about 1/2 (a couple of my family members are not fond of garlic) 3) cooked only until thermometer read 127 degrees (carry over got it to medium on the ends of the roast but the center was a perfect medium rare) and 4) made gravy rather than au jus to pair with the Yorkshire pudding I served. Wonderful "crust" on the outside could not have been better. YUMMMM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewNerdMom January 04, 2011

Answered all my questions! Made a beautiful prime rib!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubyImage January 03, 2011

Delicious! Tender and flavorful. My first ever attempt at a roast, and it was guest-worthy! I put minced garlic in the holes I poked when I took the roast out of the fridge to rest (step 3), so there was no prep-work the day before, and I don't think the recipe suffered at all from it. We all enjoyed it. Thanks for the detailed steps so it took the guesswork out for a first-timer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cautious_cook December 27, 2010

I used this recipe and another for our 3 pound prime rib. We did the 8 garlic cloves, but we covered the fat/bone part of the rib with 1/4 Cup of salt & 1/4 Cup of Rosemary. After cooking, I dusted off the salt crust. The Prime Rib was the best we have ever had! Loved the garlic prep the night before.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeacherLaLa December 26, 2010

Our Christmas Prime Rib was perfect, all the way down to the Au Jus. Thanks Kittencal for a simple yet perfect recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedMinPinLover December 25, 2010

Thank you! I've finally found the perfect recipe for Prime Rib. It definitely a five star restuarant quality!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riggosdad February 26, 2010
Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef