160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The beef was very good, but I didn't care for the jus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 08, 2015

Oh boy; this was very good! My husband nearly died from carnivorous pleasure :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle D. April 06, 2015

My first time making prime rib, and it turned out almost perfect! I took it out when the internal temp. read 135 degrees, and after resting for 30 minutes, it was just a little too cooked. But it still tasted fabulous. Next time I'll take it out at 130, because the temperature rises several degrees. Wonderful recipe--it really is foolproof! We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner. Thank you Kittencal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raquelmcfetridge January 01, 2015

Both my sweetheart and myself say this was the BEST prime rib roast we've EVER had. <br/><br/>Note: As another poster suggested, I added 1/2 inch of water to the bottom of the roasting pan (I used my turkey roaster w/rack) - the drippings were perfect and made the BEST Au Jus EVER.<br/><br/>I made one addition - I added cayenne pepper to the black pepper (and minimal salt). It was FREAKING AMAZING!!! Can't wait to make it again!!! DELICIOUS - 10 stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops December 28, 2014

Great! As the title says, it's a perfect prime rib roast. I only had time to let the roast sit for about 8 hours with the garlic inserted, instead of overnight, and it still had a great flavour. I had a small roast and did 20 min at 450, then 60 min at 350. It came out perfect! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzanneMac May 25, 2014

Yep another winner from Carol!<br/>This was our 1st time w/a prime rib roast...OMG we could eat this once a month. <br/>The price dropped after Christmas, so I purchased another one for the freezer.<br/>Funny thing is-my DH was surfing on the net for the perfect recipe.. and 'he' ended up at this site. After reviewing many recipes.. I did one of those fake coughs "Kittencal" cough "Kittencal" Yep it was my Dh's idea to choose your wonderful recipe...not!<br/>Thank You so much for sharing, yet again a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat December 28, 2013

and for your info, 130 is medium rare and 140 is medium well. 120 is rare

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biglostcreek December 27, 2013

This was the worst prime rib I've ever had. The taste was just plain weird!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anggamon December 26, 2013

I was using this recipe mainly as a guide for cooking times. I did not use the garlic cloves. I used salt, pepper, Lawry's seasoned salt, and a little garlic powder. Mine needed a little more cooking time to get to up to temperature. But it turned out perfect. Barely pink. Very tender. Melt in your mouth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Writermom who cooks December 26, 2013

Great recipe. I bought a great five pound prime rib (2 ribs serving 4 people) from my local butcher. Pretty pricey, but so worth it. Instead of inserting cloves of garlic into the meat the night before (I totally forgot), I heated up 2 tbsps of extra virgin olive oil along with six cloves of garlic (with skin), once the oil was infused with the garlic (you will smell the garlic/do not let it burn), I bumped up the heat, and seared three sides of the meat (couldn't do four since, it was all bone) and let all sides get crispy. Let it crisp up, do not move it too much, once you see a thin layer of shinniness on the seared side, you know its ready to flip. The rest of the recipe was followed to a T. Very flavorful, served it with Ina Garten's horseradish sauce (which I will be posting shortly). Thank you Kittencal for yet another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry December 25, 2013
Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef