159 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to admit I was terrified of making a prime rib because it is such an expensive piece of meat and did not want to screw it up but I'm so glad I did because THIS WAS AMAZING! So moist, delicious, and FULL of flavor!!! You never dissapoint, Kittencal!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cieradanielle November 18, 2010

I used this recipe for a small rib roast I bought. It was my first roast ever made! I used minced garlic and stuck it into about 7 different holes in the roast. I did not have a shallow roasting pan, so used a regular one. Also did not have a rack to place the roast up on. I added about 1/4 inch of water to the pan. I cooked the roast at 450 first then 350 for about 35 minutes, and the meat temp was at 150F. I was afraid I had over cooked the roast. But I let it sit like instructed and when I cut into it, it was PERFECT! Nice and rare, and tender. Excellent recipe!!! Will make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missgaga December 20, 2010

Excellent recipe. I have made this many times, and it has come out perfect each time. I love your recipes Kittencal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prairie girl in Canada February 28, 2010

Turned out perfect, moist and super delicious! This is the first time I'd ever made prime rib and I don't think I'll be ordering prime rib from a restaurant again since this was even better. I added an entire head of garlic to the prime rib and stabbing the roast to put the quarter prices of cloves into it. After it had been cooked it turned almost like butter inside the prime rib. I would for sure make this again especially since my husband requested it too. Fantastic recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trina A. December 29, 2014

This is a no fail recipe....turns out perfect everytime! I am not afraid to fix prime rib roast since I now have a perfect recipe! I usually fix this when I want to impress my dinner guests.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbradford April 25, 2011

This made for a perfect Christmas Day Dinner for my Daughter and myself, Kitten !! This was perfection on a plate. Oh so tender and juicy with such a delicious flavor. The roast had a perfect amount of fat that I loved. I was very generous with the garlic cloves, I am sure I used all 8 or perhaps 10. When I opened my fridge in the morning after it being in there overnight all I smelled was garlic, maybe I should of put it in a ziplock bag in the fridge. I was so impressed on how easy it was to prepare and cook. Although I realize now I need to buy a new meat thermometer.. I think it was off a little bit, but it still worked out great. The au jus was such a wonderful addition to this dish, which my DD loved over her mashed potatoes. Thanks so much for recommending this recipe Kitten, it was the best ... A definite keeper that I will make again soon..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny January 06, 2011

This turned out awesome............Can I come live at your house?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
josie.posteher_11232405 October 21, 2010

This is an excellent recipe for Prime Rib Recipe.. The flavours are amazing. I have made it a few times now and I always get rave reviews. I will continue to follow your recipe. I have to say that the salt an pepper seasoning is the best way to go. I have family who smother their prime rib with BBQ sauce though it is good the flavour of the meat is a little lost in the overpowering taste of the sauce. Thank you for another excellent recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom August 09, 2010

This is a fabulous yet fairly simple recipe. This was my first time cooking a ribeye roast. I used a meat thermometer and took it out when it read 130, but it kept cooking more than I wanted it to and was more done than I would have liked. That may be my thermometer, I need to test it, or take it out sooner next time. But the meat was tender and tasty and impressive, and the very middle of the roast was pink and perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynine April 07, 2010

The beef was very good, but I didn't care for the jus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 08, 2015
Kittencal's Perfect Prime Rib Roast Beef