21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I knew, without a doubt, that Kitten would guide me thru making poached eggs, for the first time I might add, without a hitch - I was not disappointed. I like poached eggs but have always been afraid of trying to prepare them, but with Kitten's help I was able to make an elegant breakfast for my DH and myself this morning - thank you so much, again, Kitten for your guidance.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo June 15, 2013

Buttering the pan makes cleanup easier (I use a stainless steel saucepan), hence the 4 stars. I've always just made poached eggs in plain water; not sure what the milk was supposed to add but I couldn't tell the difference. For certain, five minutes is exceptionally too long unless you're actually going for hard boiled consistency.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marylande November 24, 2012

OMG! Hadn't seen this "Kitten" recipe until Faux Chef Lael brought it up. Just tried this tonight with some biscuits and sausage gravy. Why have I been strugglinging with poached eggs all my life and this worked beatifully? I think "Kitten's" love comes with every recipe....yea, that's the tic. Thanks Kitten, another 5 pluser!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP December 01, 2010

Kit, you never disappoint! Poached eggs are my all time favorite but I can NEVER make them right. They always turn into something that looks more like eggdrop soup. I end up settling for soft-boiled eggs which are always either too runny or too hard, and I always end up crunching on a shell. YUCK! I went through your LONG recipe list the other day, and found this and your scrambled egg recipe. I tried both and both are winners! Perfect texture, perfect taste. You are a culinary genious. I wish I knew you so I could give you a big hug for all the amazing tips, tricks and tasty treats. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael November 30, 2010

Thank you for this recipe!!! I would have never dreamed to add the milk! I was a little nervous in not adding some vinegar -- but knew I could trust your recipe. My grandson was home from college for a few days and he likes his eggs with a soft yolk. I always end up breaking the yolks when I try and fry them -- so decided to give this a try. He was intrigued -- had never had a poached egg before and couldn't figure out how I did them. He kept saying, "but the whites are so soft". I'm so glad I could prepare his eggs the way he likes them!!! Thanks Carol for another great (but simple) recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie March 24, 2010

What and eggcellent recipe!! I only made 2 eggs but it worked. I'll play with the cooking time to get a softer yolk. But they were yummy on a english muffin. Thanks for an easy to use method for poached eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mt House mama August 03, 2009

These turned out great. I over cooked them slightly because I was messing around with Hollandaise Sauce, but my husband and I both agree that they were great. He commented that they were very fancy! Not the way I usually cook at all. LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 boys mom April 12, 2009

I really liked the consistency of these eggs! I cooked for 5 minutes. The eggs were nice and plump, and tender! I'll try just a little bit short cooking time, as I like a little softer yolk to dip my toast in!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgmonster April 07, 2009

This is the second time that we've had poached eggs using Kittencal' recipe. Fanastic results both times. We had poached eggs and processed cheese in English muffins with extra black pepper. Delicious! Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Furballfizz February 10, 2009
Kittencal's Perfect Poached Eggs