Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Perfect Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Perfect Pesto

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2006

      I used this all summer long for pasta and chicken and crostini (with a little Parmesan shaved on top). I froze some of it because I knew I couldn't keep the plant alive very long, and we made pasta with it the other night. It was still great. This is the best pesto recipe ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Great recipe. I followed it exactly. We are big garlic lovers, but found this a just a little too garlicky. Next time I will use less garlic. But it was very fresh and vibrant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      This was so good. We made it with a quarter arugula and used walnuts instead of pine nuts. It was delicious on our thin spaghetti and green beans with steak. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      This was very good although much too salty for me. I will definitely continue to use this recipe but decrease the salt up to as much as half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      This recipe is absolutely delicious. If I had known how easy it is to make such great pesto, I would have planted more basil. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

    • on August 13, 2011

      Very good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      This was sublime with portabella stuffed ravioli!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This was my first time making pesto, due to the ridiculous amount of basil growing in my garden! I whipped up a batch tonight to freeze for later use. So simple and so tasty! Glad I found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Perfect! My search for a great pesto recipe ends here. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      It was ok. I followed the recipe except used half a tsp salt. It was still too salty but otherwise good. Would make it again but try it with no salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      Simple, straightforward and scrumptious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I had a whole bunch of basil that my sister had given me and didn't know what to do with it. I have never made pesto before. Like a lot of the other reviewers, I had walnuts, no pine nuts. Gave it a whirl (literally lol). I left out the salt and used whole peppercorns. Oh my word, this was delicious. I ate some of it with a spoon, used it on angel hair pasta and I even used it on my omelet in the morning!!!! My sister tried it and loved it. This beats store bought pesto hands down! Kittencal, you've done it again. I love love love your recipes. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      I just finished making three batches of this tasty pesto! It was so delicious I went out to the garden in the dark to pick more basil. I am taking it to my friends this weekend...they will love it! Thanks for sharing. I can always count on your recipe to be a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      Delicious!!! I am going to make a lot more of this to freeze, so I can enjoy it all winter long. Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Perfect Pesto. . .glad I found your recipe! I am going to put it atop some tomatoes for dinner tonight. THANKS! I will keep this one handy for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      A fantastic recipe that I usually make with walnuts instead of pine nuts. I make this all summer long, in the vain hope of freezing some of it for winter... it never works, as I can't get it to the refrigerator before the whole family swarms into the kitchen and devours it with crackers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Excellent, used walnuts and it worked well. I planted a bunch of basil so will be making this all summer. Good thing I've got more basil, because I'm afraid by nightfall, I will have eaten this all without using it in single recipe. Kittencal, I will try your recipes above others if given a choice and haven't been disappointed, thanks for doing all the trouble shooting for me! ps to anyone out there who wants to grow your own basil, it is probably the easiest herb to grow, and repleneshes itself if you are gentle on the plants while harvesting. It's not too late to have a batch by end of summer or sooner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Kitten, you are a legend! This pesto was delicious and a great addition to @Evelyn/Athens Italian Flag Salad! There was a bit left over which I spread on some garlic bread two days later. It was still as amazing as Day One! Thanks Kitten. You never let me down!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This was my first time making homemade pesto, so I only have the jarred kind to compare to. Served it over cheese tortellini for a nice, light dinner. I made it the night before and let the flavors blend overnight. Because we try to keep our sodium intake as low as possible, I did not add any salt at first, and when I taste-tested, it was bland. Kittencal sure knows her stuff! We added the salt cautiously, 1/2 tsp at first, but still a little too bland. The 1 tsp of salt it perked it up quite a bit, but it ended up being too salty for our tastes. Will make again and experiment with maybe adding more garlic or parmesan to add flavor and reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp. Thanks for a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Perfect Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1418.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1323
    93%
    Total Fat 147.0 g
    226%
    Saturated Fat 21.5 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 22.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 2137.8 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites