Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Perfect Cooked White Rice (Soft, Medium or Firm) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Perfect Cooked White Rice (Soft, Medium or Firm)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2013

      Okay, I doubled this recipe and got bad results. The rice didn't cook all the way through. I cooked 2 cups of raw rice with 3 1/2 c. water for firm rice. The rice, mainly on the top layer stayed partially hard. That made it so that I couldn't use it in my recipe. I cooked it on an electric flat surfaced stove. Has anyone doubled it with success? I actually made two pans at the same time knowing that more probably wouldn't have worked. Both failed. (I won't rate this since I strayed from the recipe and doubled it.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      I'm surprised this is so much different (and better!) than the usual way I make white rice. And I have never thought about doing it this way. My husband and I loved it and I'm sold- this was the best rice to have with my beef stir-fry spooned over, it was amazing, thank you so much! I'm going to share it and, of course, give you credit for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      This is perfection! I followed the directions exactly and was amazed at how simple it was. Geesh, all these years of clumped mushy rice, who knew??! I cooled this, bagged it, and froze it. I will never make rice any other way. Be sure to rinse the rice really good. I was still getting starchy water after 5 full minutes of rinsing. I just kept on until the water was clear. Thanks for a really great technique!...Gina :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Rice turned out fluffy, but still ended up browning on the bottom. Tastes like rice cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Kittencal, you have just stoped a 35 year battle over rice. I love stickey rice dh thinks min rice is the only good rice..yuk..last nite he told me I had finally learned how to make good rice, for me it taste just like sticky rice, but better. Can't wait to make my chinese rice, know it will be my best. Thanks Kittencal for stoping this battle, LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Kittencal - thanks so much for posting this recipe. I am an experienced cook, but I have never been able to master perfect rice. Even with a rice maker, I wasn't happy with the results (too gummy or not done). I had been reduced to running up to the local Chinese take out for my rice. No more! This makes lovely, fluffy rice every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      This is terrific. I always thought rice had to be covered the entire time it was cooking, but now I've learned something. DH just loved this. Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This worked great! I had never heard of rice being rinsed until my husband and I went to Haiti as missionaries. It sounds weird, but it makes the rice nice and fluffy. Gets rid of a bunch of the starch that makes rice clump. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Kit is there anything that you do not know how to make perfectly, I really don't think so, all of your recipes are right on and this rice was perfect, I went with the medium, thanks a million Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Made this rice to go with your Best Chinese Fried Rice with Eggs (350260). Really liked the way the rice was firm for the fried rice. Takes an extra 20 minutes from the usual way rice is cooked, but it was worth the extra time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      My rice cooker broke last week, and I'm thinking to myself, I'm screwed, I always burn (or undercook) jasmine rice. But as usual Kitten, you came to my rescue! This works like a charm, and is no more work than the rice cooker! Thanks for saving me $100 bucks to replace it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Perfect Cooked White Rice (Soft, Medium or Firm)

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    65%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites