22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love pea soup and I've just made the best I've ever eaten. This stuff is stellar! I like dipping buttered bread and so left out the rice. I wanted to have some, thinly sliced carrots, in the finished product, and so did the following. Halved two carrots and threw them in for the two hour cooking process. They were removed and discarded with the bay leaf. I then sliced two fresh carrots and threw them in, with the shredded hock, for another 15 minutes of cooking. Perfect!

I will be making this recipe for the rest of my life and only wish I could give it six stars. It's just that good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Craig1952 August 13, 2010

This is so good! Everyone loved it, even if they were a bit hesitant to try pea soup! :) Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanna K January 14, 2010

who would have thought something so simple as pea soup could be so good! thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Zan January 10, 2010

This is the first soup I have ever made and it came out great! The left overs were a bit thick, I think I might have put in to much rice and probably could have added a little more water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Ouellette April 15, 2009

Another winning recipe Kittencal. We loved this soup. Found adding the rice and peas was a nice touch. So very easy to make with an abundance of flavor. A soup we certainly enjoyed with these cold temperatures upon us. Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 March 19, 2009

I have made split pea soup in the past but this surpassed them all, my husband doesnt take soup to work, well he took this 2 days in a row, need I say more.....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pettylvr January 10, 2009

Really excellent. I added a tablespoon of whole peppercorns to simmer with the soup. They provide a nice bite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjista December 27, 2008

This is the best pea soup I have ever had! I have made this recipe about three times now. Whenever I bake a ham, I find myself starting to crave this pea soup. I don't bother pureeing the soup, as I like some texture to it. I also don't bother with the cream, but I do like to add lots of fresh black pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toohot4u August 09, 2008

I have tried a few recipes for this soup and was ready to give up. Kittencal, this stuff is fabulous! Its so easy and so very, very good. I may not put the rice in, my sampling tells me it is great as is. Love it, thx so much for sharing! Only change is I used yellow peas, just like the color better, haha :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riderfan October 17, 2013

Loved this soup!! It was easy but had a great depth of flavor. I loved it. The rest of the family was slightly less enthusiastic but all were happy. Thanks again for yet another winner Kittencal....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender January 11, 2013
Kittencal's Pea Soup With Ham Bone (Crock Pot or Stove Top)