Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Pea Soup With Ham Bone (Crock Pot or Stove Top) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Pea Soup With Ham Bone (Crock Pot or Stove Top)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2010

      I love pea soup and I've just made the best I've ever eaten. This stuff is stellar! I like dipping buttered bread and so left out the rice. I wanted to have some, thinly sliced carrots, in the finished product, and so did the following. Halved two carrots and threw them in for the two hour cooking process. They were removed and discarded with the bay leaf. I then sliced two fresh carrots and threw them in, with the shredded hock, for another 15 minutes of cooking. Perfect!

      I will be making this recipe for the rest of my life and only wish I could give it six stars. It's just that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This is so good! Everyone loved it, even if they were a bit hesitant to try pea soup! :) Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      who would have thought something so simple as pea soup could be so good! thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      This is the first soup I have ever made and it came out great! The left overs were a bit thick, I think I might have put in to much rice and probably could have added a little more water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Another winning recipe Kittencal. We loved this soup. Found adding the rice and peas was a nice touch. So very easy to make with an abundance of flavor. A soup we certainly enjoyed with these cold temperatures upon us. Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I have made split pea soup in the past but this surpassed them all, my husband doesnt take soup to work, well he took this 2 days in a row, need I say more.....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Really excellent. I added a tablespoon of whole peppercorns to simmer with the soup. They provide a nice bite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This is the best pea soup I have ever had! I have made this recipe about three times now. Whenever I bake a ham, I find myself starting to crave this pea soup. I don't bother pureeing the soup, as I like some texture to it. I also don't bother with the cream, but I do like to add lots of fresh black pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      I have tried a few recipes for this soup and was ready to give up. Kittencal, this stuff is fabulous! Its so easy and so very, very good. I may not put the rice in, my sampling tells me it is great as is. Love it, thx so much for sharing! Only change is I used yellow peas, just like the color better, haha :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Loved this soup!! It was easy but had a great depth of flavor. I loved it. The rest of the family was slightly less enthusiastic but all were happy. Thanks again for yet another winner Kittencal....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      was a hit in my family. I used veggie broth and ham bone threw in all ingredients except dried split peas and rice in to crock pot on rainy day...added peas the last hour, took out half and sized on vita mix and dumped back with left over rice. It was so good. I have never added rice to pea soup before, and will be doing it from now on. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      This is THE beat peas soup I have ever made! Thanks. To bad can't give more star

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      Excellent pea soup. I was lucky it lasted long enough to get a photo. I found the addition of rice a bit unusual but good nonetheless. Made for Kittencalskitchen Crock Pot and Rice Cooker Game.
      Just thought I'd add that DH told me he loved the addition of the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      I don't like pea soup. I would never think of making pea soup. I was looking for a bean soup recipe to cook with a ham shank I had left over from a dinner party. I came across this recipe and, seeing it was from Kittencal, I knew only she could help me to choke down pea soup and enjoy it. True to form, she came up with an outstanding recipe. My grandmother would be thrilled to know I am, once again, eating my peas...and even going back for seconds. DH loved it. My 3-year-old didn't want to touch it but I held her roll as ransom. Once she did try it, she ate the entire bowl. I never had to convince my six-year-old. This is a great recipe. I used the full three cups water (canned broth but I think it was low-sodium which I later made up for by adding salt, lol). I did puree the soup and ended up adding two cups of rice. It wasn't too thick as I was afraid it might be from some of the pictures. Just right for us! Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow. Thanks - AGAIN - Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Left mine in crock pot all day while I worked familiy loved it.Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Can I say THANK YOU!?!!?! I was so nervous b/c I have never made soup from a ham bone before but this recipe made it super easy and it was DELISH! Hubby and BOTH my kids LOVED it - and that is something to celebrate when all four of us enjoy one recipe! I only used 2 cups of water and did not puree. I had enough to freeze for another meal and added the extra brown rice that I had made. I cooked for about 3 hours and it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I've never had split pea soup before but I wanted to use up my Easter ham bone so decided to make this. Very easy recipe, but my soup came out so thick it was the consistency of mashed potatoes! I did puree when suggested, but I'm thinking I may skip that part next time. I ended up adding more chicken broth to make it creamy. It was very hearty, healthy(12g of fiber!) and I enjoyed it and plan on making it whenever i have a hambone to use up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      This is fabulous! I didn't add rice as I wanted to serve it with bread. I used boullion with water as I didn't have stock and it was still amazing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I loved this soup! Split Pea is a hearty favorite this time of the year and this soup is one of my new favorites. I chose to try this recipe because it had rice instead of potatoes and it sounded different (in a good way)-because I personally prefer rice over potatoes in soup and it added a nice element/texture to the soup. I didn't even use the whipped cream, it was so tasty without it. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as posted and found it easy and yummy. Thanks so much Kittencal! This is a winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      Wonderful recipe. I love split pea soup and this is one of the better ones I've tried. Used the frozen Easter hambone and added LOTS of black pepper. Perfect comfort food. Thanks Kitz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Pea Soup With Ham Bone (Crock Pot or Stove Top)

    Serving Size: 1 (3515 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.9
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    19%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 555.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites